Page 4 of 7

Re: Why did MANU let Memphis go, and Arsenal let Gnabry go?

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:23 pm
by txj
benteke wrote:
ohsee wrote:By the way, van Dijk was not at fault in the last Liverpool game. The lumberjack Englander and fake captain James Milner sliced the ball so that it created an awkward situation for van Dijk. Even then, he did the best thing under the circumstances, heading it to Allison, who should have come out to get the ball with his hands, but inexplicably went for it with his feet, kicking it into Ryan Babel. In any case Milner accepted responsibility for it. Watch from .54

He could've headed it away from goal rather than centrally. He was at fault...
Do you also agree with CiC that Van Dijk is just an average defender.

No he is obviously not average. CIC also said Busquets is average...

However he is NOT the best CD in the world, just one of the best.

The best CDs are in Madrid, Catalonia and Turin...

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:11 pm
by tfco

this was great defending by VVD. i will assume he knew Son is a better scorer than Sissoko AND he was baiting sissoko to shoot (with his weaker foot)

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:17 pm
by The YeyeMan
tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:

this was great defending by VVD. i will assume he knew Son is a better scorer than Sissoko AND he was baiting sissoko to short (with his weaker foot)
Correct!

In that situation you want the primary attacker to have both options open for as long as possible - pass or go for goal; pass or go for goal. If VVD engages too early then Sissoko would take VVD out of the game with a pass to Son. He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 11:30 pm
by ohsee

this was great defending by VVD. i will assume he knew Son is a better scorer than Sissoko AND he was baiting sissoko to short (with his weaker foot)
Correct!

In that situation you want the primary attacker to have both options open for as long as possible - pass or go for goal; pass or go for goal. If VVD engages too early then Sissoko would take VVD out of the game with a pass to Son. He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.
This man. Shebi you know that God does not like wickedness. :D Anyway, our "average defender" was immense today. Again. :D :D

By the way, I watched bits of Real's game with Huesca, and Sergio Ramos looked "average" to me. :lol:

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:15 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe

Chale, we sabi say you be breda, but you form paaa

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:13 am
by cic old boy
The YeyeMan wrote:He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.
:lol: Did you see the ball he gave away to Dele Alli that ended with a poor Kane cross? Very average pass from the best defender in the world.

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:03 am
by elerineye

Chale, we sabi say you be breda, but you form paaa

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:27 am
by FATHER TIKO
The YeyeMan wrote:He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.
:lol: Did you see the ball he gave away to Dele Alli that ended with a poor Kane cross? Very average pass from the best defender in the world.
No tell us say, you no dey see all the 50m diagonal passes Van Dijk has been pinging all season to Liverpool forwards...
He even pinged one yesterday which 'missed' Mane by mere inches inside Spurs 6-yard box...
You no want admit am: the dude na baller...

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:48 pm
by The YeyeMan
Oga CIC. How now?

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 4:12 am
by maceo4
The YeyeMan wrote:Oga CIC. How now?
Abeg comot this made up average stat :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 4:48 am
by The real deal
The YeyeMan wrote:Oga CIC. How now?

EPL Sha!!!!

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:36 am
by ohsee
Wey cic? He don pick race? The EPL players who actually play against Van Dijk think he is the player of the year oh! :D :lol: :lol:

https://www.livesoccertv.com/news/30110 ... ar-record/

While questions still linger over Liverpool's chances of winning the title, Virgil Van Dijk's incredible season with the Reds has been recognized, winning the 2018-19 PFA Player of the Year award.

The Dutchman has been stellar this term for the Merseyside giant, none can deny that. However, the center-back had to fend off stiff competition from Raheem Sterling to win this title.

Van Dijk follows in the footsteps of Anfield team-mate Mohamed Salah, who won this prize last season, which means this accolade has gone to Liverpool players in back-to-back seasons. Van Dijk also ended a 14-year record, becoming the first defender to be named PFA Player of the Year since John Terry in 2005.
Only you-know-who can deny it. :D :D :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:50 am
by tfco
ohsee wrote:Wey cic? He don pick race? The EPL players who actually play against Van Dijk think he is the player of the year oh! :D :lol: :lol:

what do the players know about football?

visit naija rant for better gist on VVD

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:04 am
by cic old boy
Average defender wins award in an average league and it's time to dance awantilo.

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:33 pm
by maceo4
cic old boy wrote:Average defender wins award in an average league and it's time to dance awantilo.
Eh hen! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Its just the law of averages, he was bound to win it at some point :bump: :bump:

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 10:45 pm
by cic old boy
ohsee wrote: I feel like Van Dijk was asleep for the first two goals. He let Suarez get away, and left Messi open for the walk in.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=290654&start=920
:lol: I tried to warn una.

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 10:56 pm
by maceo4
ohsee wrote: I feel like Van Dijk was asleep for the first two goals. He let Suarez get away, and left Messi open for the walk in.
Imagine allowing average Messi to useless him :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 11:05 pm
Kai! he don come! Abeg take it easy on Pa Ohsee! Please... abeg, rankadede! all of them join!

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 1:05 am
by tfco
:D :D

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 1:34 am
tfco wrote::D :D

i saw that! best defender in the world begging for help :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 9:27 am
by cic old boy
tfco wrote: :D :D
Et tu, Turncoat Thicko from Takoradi, WE now question the players’ vote after last night but don’t question the vote for the best barber to barber midfielder in the world.

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 9:29 am
by cic old boy
maceo4 wrote: Eh hen! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Its just the law of averages, he was bound to win it at some point :bump: :bump:
:lol: Where's that stat on nobody dribbling Van Dijk? They don't dribble him b/c he lets them pass him. :lol:

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 7:01 pm
by tfco
cic old boy wrote:[
Et tu, Turncoat Thicko from Takoradi, WE now question the players’ vote after last night but don’t question the vote for the best barber to barber midfielder in the world.
dummy
Pool lost, i am yabbing them

Messi dribbled VVD, you're twerking to prove that VVD is no longer class?
Which top defender has never been turned over?