ASAMOAH GYAN RETIRES AND UNRETIRES FROM BLACK STARS

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 5:57 am
by Obong

Re: ASAMOAH GYAN RETIRES FROM BLACK STARS

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 6:40 am
by Tobi17
Happy retirement Gyan, the one player that gave Nigeria some jitters when we faced Ghana...won't forget his epic header, goal, and dance against us in that AFCON 2010

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 4:44 pm
by Polly
Tobi17 wrote:Happy retirement Gyan, the one player that gave Nigeria some jitters when we faced Ghana...won't forget his epic header, goal, and dance against us in that AFCON 2010
I won't forget, either. But you are probably too young to remember Abedi Pele's header against Nigeria in 1992 Cup of Nations? Here it is:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOo0aDu_1ac

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 5:24 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Well he’s a selfish man,he retired because he wasn’t named captain despite playing in the Middle East and still being picked,so Playing for Ghana means nothing to him :rotf:

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 5:27 pm
See why African coaches no get respect. How do u call a player to Afcon only for him to retire 3 days later? He obviously didn’t talk to him before releasing the list.

Re: ASAMOAH GYAN RETIRES AND UNRETIRES FROM BLACK STARS

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 11:35 pm
by Obong
And the great Gyan rescinds his decision after a call from Ghana's President....Just laughing at the thought of Buhari calling any player that retires from the Super Eagles. E go wait tire! :lol:

https://mobile.ghanasoccernet.com/break ... e-at-afcon

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 12:06 am
by YUJAM
He needs to retire again. He will only embarrass himself further at the tourney as it is clear he has aged and is no longer the player he was. Didn’t he learn anything from the way Sammy Osei embarrassed himself at the 2006 WC?

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 4:23 am
by Rawlings
Obong wrote:And the great Gyan rescinds his decision after a call from Ghana's President....Just laughing at the thought of Buhari calling any player that retires from the Super Eagles. E go wait tire! :lol:

Remember how Naija taxpayers "refunded" Okocha after he was 419'ed?
who Ok'd the stupidity?
The PLesident of FedeLal Lepublic of Nigeria

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 4:37 am
by Eaglezbeak
Obong wrote:And the great Gyan rescinds his decision after a call from Ghana's President....Just laughing at the thought of Buhari calling any player that retires from the Super Eagles. E go wait tire! :lol:

That’s awful, his teammates surly won’t trust him and will probably see him as a bítçh type character and it’ll look even worse if he’s given the Captains armband :rotf: To think the manager has been undermined due to an emotional outburst from a guy who’s bound to miss a penalty when called upon!

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 4:38 am
by ANC
YUJAM wrote:He needs to retire again. He will only embarrass himself further at the tourney as it is clear he has aged and is no longer the player he was. Didn’t he learn anything from the way Sammy Osei embarrassed himself at the 2006 WC?

Dude, are you okay :lol:

:ohmy:

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 10:07 am
by Kabalega
I've never understood Ghana's lack of decent strikers.
The Ayew brothers are a pale shadow of their father.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 12:37 pm
by fabio
Kabalega wrote:I've never understood Ghana's lack of decent strikers.
At least, they are better than what the Cranes have....

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 2:32 pm
:lol: :lol: :lol: where is Oba yaa , to come and sing for gyan :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 2:53 pm
by oyek

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 2:58 pm
by Kabalega
Kabalega wrote:I've never understood Ghana's lack of decent strikers.
At least, they are better than what the Cranes have....
You don't know footie!
You are probably just another clueless EPL fanboy.

Even Abedi Pele said Phillip Omondi was his idol.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 5:35 pm
by olu
Knowing when to quit is hard for most players. It's hard to walk away from something you've been doing since you were a child. At Gyan's age it may not be in the best interest of the team for him to start games for Ghana. The president has to trust the coach will make the right call.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 6:08 pm
by Senator WIRES
:lol: :lol: The General Captain and the new Captain.
:sneaky: First round out :lol:

"A presidential request is one that cannot be disregarded. I have had the opportunity to speak with the father of the nation, the President of the Republic, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, who, though respecting my wishes as spelt in my letter of 20th May, 2019, has asked me to rescind my decision to retire permanently from the Black Stars.

"I have taken the request of His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in good faith, and will make myself available for selection by coach Kwasi Appiah.
:sneaky: "Gimme some love"

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 8:18 pm
by ANC
Ghana's Roger Miller :taunt:

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 10:11 pm
by Obong
The hierarchy is not quite clear. Is the General Captain above the Actual Captain? Who wears the band if both are fielded at the same time? If Ghana wins the AFCON (an impossibility in these parts) who steps up to the podium to receive the cup?

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 12:06 am
by Kabalega
Obong wrote:The hierarchy is not quite clear. Is the General Captain above the Actual Captain? Who wears the band if both are fielded at the same time? If Ghana wins the AFCON (an impossibility in these parts) who steps up to the podium to receive the cup?
Useless question.
They could win 9ja's trophy though ..... 3rd place, you know. :P

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:51 pm
by Aswani
Obong wrote:The hierarchy is not quite clear. Is the General Captain above the Actual Captain? Who wears the band if both are fielded at the same time? If Ghana wins the AFCON (an impossibility in these parts) who steps up to the podium to receive the cup?
Gyan has his own armband anyway that he doesn't handover to anyone when leaving the field.