When you have a serious director of football

Re: When you have a serious director of football

danfo driver wrote:Dortmund opens the season with a 5-1 victory. When you prepare, you give yourself every chance of success. :clap: :clap:

If only many Nigerians will learn this basic lesson of life.
True talk,but free us biko,two tpugh games coming for my beloved.

danfo driver wrote:3 TOP signings for 77 million EUROS and announced within 20 hours. :clap: :clap: :clap: dont worryb some want to but ZAHA for 100 million :lol:
The difference though is that if it's Arsenal or any of the top six EPL clubs, the price will automatically be jacked up significantly.

Context is everything.

theYemster wrote: The difference though is that if it's Arsenal or any of the top six EPL clubs, the price will automatically be jacked up significantly.

Context is everything.

That is your opinion and a myth sold by lazy people who have no clue how to scout players and negotiate. Did you see Dortmund go after Pepe? how much did Lyon ask Napoli for when they wanted Pepe? Dortmund didnt waste their time with that, they sought for players who are affordable, but just as talented. Its a process that, sometimes takes more than 1 year or up to 2 years... they scout scout scout, pinpoint who they want and continue to work on their relationship with the selling club. EPL "top 6" (whatever the hell that is) are more interested in watching flashy names on tv and then go and offer 100 million when the window opens :rotf: :rotf:

There is an art to negotiation. Most, if not all, player transfers involve multiple clubs, during the negotiation phase. When you are involved in discussion with a player's representative, they keep you informed of other negotiation. If Dortmund agrees on a fee for 15 million and Arsenal comes in and "matches" it, what do you think will happen? The selling club will say "no no no! There is a different fee for you?" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: it doesnt work that way. And clubs do not just meet the day they want to negotiate. This is part of the reason you build relationships with fellow clubs.

When you have a serious DOF is when you are offered a Coutinho and, against the clamor of supporters and pundits, you resist the temptation because:

- terms are not right
- you don’t want to rescue the other team from their disastrous transfer strategy
- you’re cognizant of the fact your team has moved on already from the player
- and your real focus in taking advantage of the other teams failures is a different player anyway...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Luis Campos of Lille made the point that English teams will often pay for premium attacking talent but purchase mediocre midfielders and defenders.

theYemster wrote: The difference though is that if it's Arsenal or any of the top six EPL clubs, the price will automatically be jacked up significantly.

Context is everything.

That is your opinion and a myth sold by lazy people who have no clue how to scout players and negotiate. Did you see Dortmund go after Pepe? how much did Lyon ask Napoli for when they wanted Pepe? Dortmund didnt waste their time with that, they sought for players who are affordable, but just as talented. Its a process that, sometimes takes more than 1 year or up to 2 years... they scout scout scout, pinpoint who they want and continue to work on their relationship with the selling club. EPL "top 6" (whatever the hell that is) are more interested in watching flashy names on tv and then go and offer 100 million when the window opens :rotf: :rotf:

There is an art to negotiation. Most, if not all, player transfers involve multiple clubs, during the negotiation phase. When you are involved in discussion with a player's representative, they keep you informed of other negotiation. If Dortmund agrees on a fee for 15 million and Arsenal comes in and "matches" it, what do you think will happen? The selling club will say "no no no! There is a different fee for you?" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: it doesnt work that way. And clubs do not just meet the day they want to negotiate. This is part of the reason you build relationships with fellow clubs.
When a seller knows your budget they will adjust their price accordingly to reflect that.

Dortmund with a smaller budget only has to compete with Bayern whereas top EPL teams with much bigger tv revenue have stiffer competition to finish in top four hence will be willing to spend more so they will charge accordingly. The sellers aren't stupid. The price you quote Waffib for a rare item you possess is not the same price you will quote Tinubu or Dangote for the same item.

It's just basic logic.

It is what it is.

It’s “basic logic” to people who watch too many deadline days and read too many transfer blogs. thats not how it works in the real world. As a seller, first of all, you aren’t silly enough to destroy relationships with people, with whom you may need to do business in the future. And when I mean destroy relationships, if Dortmund is offering 15 and you have accepted it, another club can ether match it or offer a little bit above... as sweetener. To assume a club will accept 15 mil from Dortmund and then when Arsenal matches it, they reject and demand 80 million, is fantasy land. Doesn’t happen in the real world.

Context is everything.

When a seller knows your budget they will adjust their price accordingly to reflect that.

Dortmund with a smaller budget only has to compete with Bayern whereas top EPL teams with much bigger tv revenue have stiffer competition to finish in top four hence will be willing to spend more so they will charge accordingly. The sellers aren't stupid. The price you quote Waffib for a rare item you possess is not the same price you will quote Tinubu or Dangote for the same item.

It's just basic logic.

It is what it is.

txj wrote:When you have a serious DOF is when you are offered a Coutinho and, against the clamor of supporters and pundits, you resist the temptation because:

- terms are not right
- you don’t want to rescue the other team from their disastrous transfer strategy
- and your real focus in taking advantage of the other teams failures is a different player anyway...
There’s a part of me that believes these DoF help each other out rescue disastrous purchases all over Europe. No team should go near Coutinho, definitely not at that price

LUIS CAMPOS :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Les Dogues eventually parted with Nicolas Pépé and Rafael Leão while Thiago Mendes also moved on for a combined total €120million.

All three played a pivotal role in Lille stunning Ligue 1 last season to claim second spot. From the outside looking in, it appeared as though their squad had been dismantled and chances of a repeat seemed slim at best.
The French side replaced these key, match-winning players with unproven individuals at such a level.
https://www.footballwhispers.com/blog/v ... re-twitter

furiously frank wrote:
txj wrote:When you have a serious DOF is when you are offered a Coutinho and, against the clamor of supporters and pundits, you resist the temptation because:

- terms are not right
There’s a part of me that believes these DoF help each other out rescue disastrous purchases all over Europe. No team should go near Coutinho, definitely not at that price
Absolutely right.

There needs to be a strategy to counter the drivers that push up player valuations.

I think we saw push back from some of the major players in Europe the last transfer window.

MYMIND

Post by MYMIND »

danfo driver wrote:It’s “basic logic” to people who watch too many deadline days and read too many transfer blogs. thats not how it works in the real world. As a seller, first of all, you aren’t silly enough to destroy relationships with people, with whom you may need to do business in the future. And when I mean destroy relationships, if Dortmund is offering 15 and you have accepted it, another club can ether match it or offer a little bit above... as sweetener. To assume a club will accept 15 mil from Dortmund and then when Arsenal matches it, they reject and demand 80 million, is fantasy land. Doesn’t happen in the real world.

Context is everything.

It's just basic logic.

It is what it is.
Do not forget the Bordeaux: Roma and Barcelona fiasco over Malcolm that was still deemed surplus a year later. Barcelona increased his wages, paid Bordeaux 40m Euros which was more than the agreed fee of 32m Euros with Roma and turned his head last minute. A plane was even waiting to pick Malcolm up to Rome.

Sometimes the best preparation does not yet the anticipated result...

MYMIND wrote:
danfo driver wrote:It’s “basic logic” to people who watch too many deadline days and read too many transfer blogs. thats not how it works in the real world. As a seller, first of all, you aren’t silly enough to destroy relationships with people, with whom you may need to do business in the future. And when I mean destroy relationships, if Dortmund is offering 15 and you have accepted it, another club can ether match it or offer a little bit above... as sweetener. To assume a club will accept 15 mil from Dortmund and then when Arsenal matches it, they reject and demand 80 million, is fantasy land. Doesn’t happen in the real world.

Context is everything.

It's just basic logic.

It is what it is.
Do not forget the Bordeaux: Roma and Barcelona fiasco over Malcolm that was still deemed surplus a year later. Barcelona increased his wages, paid Bordeaux 40m Euros which was more than the agreed fee of 32m Euros with Roma and turned his head last minute. A plane was even waiting to pick Malcolm up to Rome.

Sometimes the best preparation does not yet the anticipated result...
Your example isnt the best.

1. thats an 8 million difference

2. Barca offered it! Bordeaux did NOT demand it. The issue in my discussion with Yemster is his claim that a club will accept 15 from one club and demand that another club pays 80. Thats just complete nonsense.

Hows Dortmund doing with their serious director of football, season still dey early but na midtable them dey ehn , but don't worry they won the off-season league :thumbs: