Qatari World Cup to remain 32 teams only.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 8:17 pm
by kalani JR
Fifa is set to ditch plans to expand the 2022 World Cup in Qatar to 48 teams and play some games in neighbouring countries.

Gianni Infantino, the Fifa president, had been pushing for the tournament to be expanded from 32 teams — with some matches being played elsewhere in the Middle East — but has reluctantly had to accept that it would be too challenging to do so.
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/spor ... -ztlq6bk9c

Re: Qatari World Cup to remain 32 teams only.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 8:47 pm
by Coach
Always was a ludicrous idea.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 9:10 pm
by Rawlings
smart folks, unlike CFA

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 9:18 pm
by Orion
It was silly to try to increase the number of teams after the bid was won for 32 teams.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 12:03 am
by The YeyeMan
Oga EII won't be happy. :D

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:08 am
Ghana just got knocked da f&;! Out 3 years before pioom :laugh:

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 2:26 am
by Rawlings
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Ghana just got knocked da f&;! Out 3 years before pioom :laugh:
stop wetting your bed

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 4:25 am
by Sir V
Kai! Ogolo won’t be happy. Opportunity for Kenya to play in the World Cup has been dashed away.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 11:10 am
by Enugu II
The YeyeMan wrote:Oga EII won't be happy. :D
You are correct on this. However, I did think it was a long shot given the time and the enormity in the region. It was a good effort by Infantino getting the FIFA votes for it but time failed him. No big deal and on to 48 team World Cup in 2026 as already approved.

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 6:04 pm
by Eaglezbeak
It’s as if some FIFA members (Non European) where pushing for this to happen earlier than needed, my guess is that the likes of China and the UAE wanted the expansion instantly!

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 8:09 pm
by Enugu II
Eaglezbeak wrote:It’s as if some FIFA members (Non European) where pushing for this to happen earlier than needed, my guess is that the likes of China and the UAE wanted the expansion instantly!
CAF members as well. It was passed by FIFA in its last meeting (I believe somewhere in S/America). However, logistics finally shut it down.

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 9:10 pm
by kalani JR
Look anything that keeps fake countries from playing in tournaments that they do not belong. I've never seen anyone in real life from Kenya, Mauritania or Uganda much less someone who can say they've been but somehow they are in the AFCON, the World Cup cannot suffer a similar disgrace.

Posted: Sat May 25, 2019 1:09 am
by Undertaker
kalani JR wrote:Look anything that keeps fake countries from playing in tournaments that they do not belong. I've never seen anyone in real life from Kenya, Mauritania or Uganda much less someone who can say they've been but somehow they are in the AFCON, the World Cup cannot suffer a similar disgrace.

I totally agreed. We don't need any more African teams at the World cup. The five we sent to Russia didn't get out of the group. I am not looking forward to Afcon because there are too many useless teams at the tournament. Uganda? Kenya? WTF? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: