Page 31 of 155

Re: CHELSEA FOOTBALL CLUB 2019/2020 SEASON THREAD

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:25 am
by Lager-back
Captain America is exquisite :thumbs:

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:07 pm
City next, I don't care about the results...as long as Chelsea keeps on competing. that's all that matters....26 more games to go..come on Chelsea

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 1:27 pm
by green4life
kolinzo wrote:The American (Pulisic) was on point today. Why was he benched to start the season?
If you watch Chelsea regular season games you’d know culminating with his performance against Grimbsy FC. You are aware that he started some games and came off the bench in others prior to being left out entirely?

Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 5:04 pm
by metalalloy
Hmm for Chelsea fans who have have been critical in the past when it comes to Naija, how is this different from Rohr's similar comments?
‘It’s nice to be above City, because I’ve got huge respect for them,’ Lampard said ahead of their drubbing against Liverpool at Anfield. ‘What a team. But I certainly won’t announce ourselves in a title race because we are relatively new, because we are in transition with younger players.
‘I don’t see beyond the next game,’ Lampard said. Fair enough, though next up for his young lads is a trip to the Etihad Stadium to face Manchester City. So we ask again: are you in a title race? No, says a smiling Lampard, who does not want to commit his kids, as good as they are, to such a challenge.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... -talk.html

Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:16 pm
by green4life
metalalloy wrote:Hmm for Chelsea fans who have have been critical in the past when it comes to Naija, how is this different from Rohr's similar comments?
‘It’s nice to be above City, because I’ve got huge respect for them,’ Lampard said ahead of their drubbing against Liverpool at Anfield. ‘What a team. But I certainly won’t announce ourselves in a title race because we are relatively new, because we are in transition with younger players.
‘I don’t see beyond the next game,’ Lampard said. Fair enough, though next up for his young lads is a trip to the Etihad Stadium to face Manchester City. So we ask again: are you in a title race? No, says a smiling Lampard, who does not want to commit his kids, as good as they are, to such a challenge.
The two situations aren't comparable. Lampard is a rookie manager in the EPL. He lost his best player (Hazard) and couldn't replace him due to transfer ban. Also, due to said ban, he's had to rely on a lot of young inexperienced players. Lastly, some of his key experienced players have been pretty much injured this season so far (Kante, Rudiger, RLC - Emerson just returned a week ago). The reality is this is a team that is punching above their weight coupled with the other contenders for top 4 falling apart. If you end up in a title chase, it's jara on top. Let's not lose sight of reality.

The SE's on the other hand have an experienced manager who has been in place for years and already been through qualifiers and tournaments, yet he's still talking about young players and 'playing to learn'. Night and day difference.

Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:24 pm
metalalloy wrote:Hmm for Chelsea fans who have have been critical in the past when it comes to Naija, how is this different from Rohr's similar comments?
The two situations aren't comparable. Lampard is a rookie manager in the EPL. He lost his best player (Hazard) and couldn't replace him due to transfer ban. Also, due to said ban, he's had to rely on a lot of young inexperienced players. Lastly, some of his key experienced players have been pretty much injured this season so far (Kante, Rudiger, RLC - Emerson just returned a week ago). The reality is this is a team that is punching above their weight coupled with the other contenders for top 4 falling apart. If you end up in a title chase, it's jara on top. Let's not lose sight of reality.

The SE's on the other hand have an experienced manager who has been in place for years and already been through qualifiers and tournaments, yet he's still talking about young players and 'playing to learn'. Night and day difference.
:clap: :clap: end of discussion G4L is on fire today

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:59 pm
by metalalloy

Is it really? The comments Rohr was pilloried from were made at the world cup where Nigeria paraded the youngest team in the tournament, many of whom were making their first tournament debut, where he was forced to start an 18 year old division 3 goal keeper! His leading gk was diagnosed with lukemia, one of his key players (Moses Simon) was equally hurt leading to an imbalance in the team. And this is under the setting of a national team set up where you have, at most a month of camping before the tournament, vs Lampard who had an entire summer to prep his team for the suspensions he was well aware of, and has his team with him every single day in practice. Even after the world cup, Nigeria continues to undergo a transition period with the team captain (and arguably the most important player of the past decade) Mikel retiring along, with another long serving player and top goal scorer in Ighalo.

The truth is that both of them are/were right in asserting that expectations should be realistic considering the circumstances that they face.

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:32 pm
by green4life

Is it really? The comments Rohr was pilloried from were made at the world cup where Nigeria paraded the youngest team in the tournament, many of whom were making their first tournament debut, where he was forced to start an 18 year old division 3 goal keeper! His leading gk was diagnosed with lukemia, one of his key players (Moses Simon) was equally hurt leading to an imbalance in the team. And this is under the setting of a national team set up where you have, at most a month of camping before the tournament, vs Lampard who had an entire summer to prep his team for the suspensions he was well aware of, and has his team with him every single day in practice. Even after the world cup, Nigeria continues to undergo a transition period with the team captain (and arguably the most important player of the past decade) Mikel retiring along, with another long serving player and top goal scorer in Ighalo.

The truth is that both of them are/were right in asserting that expectations should be realistic considering the circumstances that they face.
The problem with your response is Rohr is an experienced manager and has continually made the same comments after the WC even leading up to and during the ANC. And as he adds more new players, he will keep saying the same thing. The difference is clear. Lampard as a manager is a baby. He deserves to be cut some slack. That much is obvious to a blind person.

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:23 am
by Damunk

The problem with your response is Rohr is an experienced manager
and has continually made the same comments after the WC even leading up to and during the ANC. And as he adds more new players, he will keep saying the same thing. The difference is clear. Lampard as a manager is a baby. He deserves to be cut some slack. That much is obvious to a blind person.
The problem with YOUR reponse is that you imply that Lampard's comments were made because of his inexperience. What has manager's experience got to do with any of this?
So what about Klopp?
Is he inexperienced too? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
“City look like the best team in the world, that’s how it is,” said Klopp. “Barcelona struggled a little bit but still did the job. Juve look pretty impressive in Italy. With City, those are the three big Champions League favourites and you think, OK, City look a bit more stable than all of them.''
- Liverpool Manager Klopp, on his team's chances in the 2019 Champions League
You people too like to chop and paste to suit your agenda.
And you quietly avoided directly addressing metalalloy's excellent and very specific points. Lampard's "inexperience" is nowhere near a counterargument.
But issalright. :idea:

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 3:25 pm
i knew the leader of the Rohrbots would respond once his almighty king's name is mentioned :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:33 pm
by green4life

The problem with your response is Rohr is an experienced manager
and has continually made the same comments after the WC even leading up to and during the ANC. And as he adds more new players, he will keep saying the same thing. The difference is clear. Lampard as a manager is a baby. He deserves to be cut some slack. That much is obvious to a blind person.
The problem with YOUR reponse is that you imply that Lampard's comments were made because of his inexperience. What has manager's experience got to do with any of this?
So what about Klopp?
Is he inexperienced too? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
“City look like the best team in the world, that’s how it is,” said Klopp. “Barcelona struggled a little bit but still did the job. Juve look pretty impressive in Italy. With City, those are the three big Champions League favourites and you think, OK, City look a bit more stable than all of them.''
- Liverpool Manager Klopp, on his team's chances in the 2019 Champions League
You people too like to chop and paste to suit your agenda.
And you quietly avoided directly addressing metalalloy's excellent and very specific points. Lampard's "inexperience" is nowhere near a counterargument.
But issalright. :idea:
What's this nonsense? Abeg carry go. :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:25 am
Damunk is lost..he ain't far from a yes man...

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 6:04 pm
Valencia
13Cillessen
3Costa
24Garay
5Gabriel
14Gayá
20Torres
10Parejo
18Wass
8Soler
19Rodrigo
22Gómez
Substitutes
1Doménech
2Correia
4Mangala
9Gameiro
15Vallejo Galván
16Lee
17Coquelin
Chelsea
1Arrizabalaga
24James
4Christensen
15Zouma
28Azpilicueta
7Kanté
5Jorginho
17Kovacic
10Willian
9Abraham
22Pulisic

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 7:52 pm
by balo
Kovacic scores his first Chelsea goal. Well worth the wait.

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:10 pm
by balo
Puliscores.

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:22 pm
by balo
Kepa saves a penalty.

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:23 pm
by Oguleftie
All 4 teams playing now will be knocked out in the next round.
Not good enough.

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 9:06 pm
by balo
Didn't do enough to win the game.

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:31 pm
by balo

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 4:47 pm
Chelsea playing pure rubbish, dem go soon score Chelsea

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:39 pm
by Benedict Iroha
WTF is Lampard doing? So you sit Batman who has scored this season for Giroud who hasn't.

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:45 pm
by Cito
What is the score... asking for a friend.

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:46 pm
Chelsea has played crap for the last 3 weeks...losing to city was a horrible performance, castle tied city and losing to west ham today is the icing