Page 2 of 2

Re: Baxter eye don see red

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:16 pm
by maceo4
deanotito wrote:Truth be told, if naija had lost the way SA lost today, I would have cried. That was awful. Such a cheap goal just completely killed them
Their goal was cheap too, they did not deserve to get anything out of the game, they never even tested Akpeyi all game...

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:29 pm
by green4life
achuzia-the-air-raid wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

biggest rivalry for whom? :roll:
Delusion of grandeur dey worry them. :dream:

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:50 pm
by mcal
green4life wrote:Ironically I felt that we controlled the game from start to end. And yes you can control a game without having more possession than your opponent.
We did.

None of the SA moves looked threatening. Dont' recall them forcing a save out of our keeper in the first half or even in the 2nd.

Just like the previous 2 games Rohr team played against SA, we didn't take our chances or else it would not have even been close.
...why? because on that day ( a given day) we have great defense and defensive midfield that stopped them or never gave them a window to shoot.

Granted the goal they scored is our goalies fault, but guy should have read the ball, at least make a diving attempt. Plus the match up of Ighalo and their big captain who challenged him for the corner kick was wrong. He was bullies into no concentrating hence the deflection.

Never let opponents dance around your 3rd of the field too long, defenders will get out of focus and nervous, and goal it is. Example, watch Barcelona, why do they win matches, because they camp on opponents half and 3rd of the field doing tiki taka magic until defenders get confuse, out of shape.

Our boys did well yesterday in defending, making Apkeyi to be on mini holiday.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:00 pm
by ohenhen1
Ghana and Cameroon are Nigeria rivals.

South Africa is not our rival.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:09 pm
by Cito
green4life wrote:Ironically I felt that we controlled the game from start to end. And yes you can control a game without having more possession than your opponent.
We did.

None of the SA moves looked threatening. Dont' recall them forcing a save out of our keeper in the first half or even in the 2nd.

Just like the previous 2 games Rohr team played against SA, we didn't take our chances or else it would not have even been close.
...why? because on that day ( a given day) we have great defense and defensive midfield that stopped them or never gave them a window to shoot.

Granted the goal they scored is our goalies fault, but guy should have read the ball, at least make a diving attempt. Plus the match up of Ighalo and their big captain who challenged him for the corner kick was wrong. He was bullies into no concentrating hence the deflection.

Never let opponents dance around your 3rd of the field too long, defenders will get out of focus and nervous, and goal it is. Example, watch Barcelona, why do they win matches, because they camp on opponents half and 3rd of the field doing tiki taka magic until defenders get confuse, out of shape.

I am wondering how that goal is keepers fault. He read by not coming for it and flapping knowing it’s beyond his reach and trusting Ighalo who was in better position to deal with it. Ighalo lost sight of the ball and the worst case scrnario happened. The resulting header followed a lobbed path which no keeper has the right to stop.
He has his faults and should be rightly criticized when he does. But, please don’t give a dog a bad name to kill em.

I will say I want the Akpeyi of yesterday to be present more often. His ball handling were assured. Most of his kicks were on point and he didn’t look like he needed a ‘brief’ change. I say kudos!

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:14 pm
by mcal
We did.

Granted the goal they scored is our goalie fault, but guy should have read the ball, at least make a diving attempt. Plus the match up of Ighalo and their big captain who challenged him for the corner kick was wrong. He was bullied into not concentrating hence the deflection.

I am wondering how that goal is keepers fault. He read by not coming for it and flapping knowing it’s beyond his reach and trusting Ighalo who was in better position to deal with it. Ighalo lost sight of the ball and the worst case scrnario happened. The resulting header followed a lobbed path which no keeper has the right to stop.
He has his faults and should be rightly criticized when he does. But, please don’t give a dog a bad name to kill em.

I will say I want the Akpeyi of yesterday to be present more often. His ball handling were assured. Most of his kicks were on point and he didn’t look like he needed a ‘brief’ change. I say kudos!
...I will not 100% attribute it to Apkeyi, many factors led to the goal, culminating to Ighalo mis-heading, and SA goal scorer not tracked to have clean header. He was good yesterday largely because the defense did their work superbly. Yes, I'll want the Apkeyi in the next match and matches.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:03 pm
by Agbako
Na since when SA and Naija be biggest African Rivalry? Make una see me see trouble oooo.. I dont blame them. Naija football I know growing up is Like Secondary School vs Primary School walahiii.