USWNT AGITATION FOR EQUAL PAY WITH (OR GREATER PAY THAN) MEN

By now, most would have become aware of the USWNT members for an increase in their pay comparable to the men's. Now, because of superior tournament performance, some are even beginning to ask for higher pay. It's hard to get their specific reasons other than people should be paid equally for equal work.

Does this agitation have merit?

I think pay should be based on at least three factors based on tangible reasons and not social engineering:

1) Revenue contributed to the federation
2) Opportunity cost (what players give up to represent their country and potential loss in case of injury)
3) Performance bonus

Based on the above criteria, if it means women get paid more, or equal, so be it. If it means men continue to receive more, why should anyone disagree? I personally don't believe it should be about social engineering. I'm sure there are many who don't see a merit in the women's case but are too afraid to say so openly for resultant backlash.

There might even be an easier way: let there be two separate organizations, one for men and another for women. Each org gets to keep all their earnings and reward players as they see fit. The same may even be made at the FIFA level. That way, talk of gender discrimination and unfairness go away.
scholl
Re: USWNT AGITATION FOR EQUAL PAY WITH (OR GREATER PAY THAN)

Post by scholl »

This one na domestic dispute. I no get any koko for this matter.. No be today. WNBA no get that kain support.

...this is a US matter to deal with.
Now their senate have taken up on it demanding equal pay too.
he women team used the world cup stage orchestrate this.
Women football is big in the States only.
It will die down but won't go away.

Utter nonsense. They want to be paid for doing something every four years? During the non WC years do they sell out stadia?Do they attract as much crowds as the men etc. Do they sell as much merchandise? If so then yes

I know some misguided do gooders will come down on me like a tonne of bricks and so be it :taunt: :taunt: But how come men aren't rushing to set up a men's netball league? Hell there is actually a netball world cup going on in Liverpool right now :rotf: :rotf: Why do women feel this need to want to do whatever men do? If they want equal pay then then we must abolish women's teams and have unisex teams :rotf:Just like at work we operate under the same environment

Genuine debate not insults will be appreciated :D

Samora Machel wrote:Utter nonsense. They want to be paid for doing something every four years? During the non WC years do they sell out stadia?Do they attract as much crowds as the men etc. Do they sell as much merchandise? If so then yes

I know some misguided do gooders will come down on me like a tonne of bricks and so be it :taunt: :taunt: But how come men aren't rushing to set up a men's netball league? Hell there is actually a netball world cup going on in Liverpool right now :rotf: :rotf: Why do women feel this need to want to do whatever men do? If they want equal pay then then we must abolish women's teams and have unisex teams :rotf:Just like at work we operate under the same environment

Having played pick up soccer with some of these women, I can tell you that they workout hard (really hard) :shock: and are super competitive.
They deserve to be paid for what they do in the 3 years prior to a tournament.

If you don't pay them, they will be tempted to take bribes like Zimbabweans. :taunt: :taunt:
Nobody wants that! :twisted:

Samora Machel wrote:Utter nonsense. They want to be paid for doing something every four years? During the non WC years do they sell out stadia?Do they attract as much crowds as the men etc. Do they sell as much merchandise? If so then yes

In fairness to them, they have a bigger fan base than our mens team.

The gold cup final was 90 percent Mexican fans :)

I think they should get a pay raise, equal pay, not so sure.

I heard that they do make more percentage wise, that mens team gets 9% of the proceeds to the federation while women get 13%, so I'm not sure what they are arguing about...

King Futcha wrote:

Thanks chief for the explanation. Its good when we debate as adults :thumbs:

Just waiting for someone to call me a sexist. I haven't said they shoukdbe paid less because they are girls but simply from a business sense. 8 don't know about USA but in england the women's game is in it's infancy and doesn't attract large crowds save for the world cup so doesn't make sense for them to demand equal pay. Who will foot the bill, with what money?

maceo4 wrote:I heard that they do make more percentage wise, that mens team gets 9% of the proceeds to the federation while women get 13%, so I'm not sure what they are arguing about...
End of story

Kabalega wrote:

Having played pick up soccer with some of these women, I can tell you that they workout hard (really hard) :shock: and are super competitive.
They deserve to be paid for what they do in the 3 years prior to a tournament.

If you don't pay them, they will be tempted to take bribes like Zimbabweans. :taunt: :taunt:
Nobody wants that! :twisted:
I'm sure African musicians work just as hard as JayZ and them yet we know they have nowhere near 1% what he gets. Simple matter of the sales and market. Thanks

Mcal,

PAY YOUR WIVES THIER MONEY!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
folem

Post by folem »

There are Men & Mixed netball leagues in Australia.

Women play fewer games and earn equal pay at some Tennis tournaments including Slams.

A way out to get equal pay is to have both World Cups at the same time similar to Track & Field.

folem wrote:

There are Men & Mixed netball leagues in Australia.

Women play fewer games and earn equal pay at some Tennis tournaments including Slams.

A way out to get equal pay is to have both World Cups at the same time similar to Track & Field.
Precisely chief :clap:
Serena Williams is as big a draw as Roger Federer hence she deserves equal pay.

Right now women's teams are moaning in england because its been suggested that they play same day as the men and they are against it. Why? Because they know that after after watching a men's premiership game nobody will want to watch a women's game. Heck Rapinoe said two days ago she was angry the female world cup was held same day as Gold Cup final and Cope america final as she felt it took away focus on women's final that tells you everything. They don't want equality. I can guarantee you if Ueros were to be held same day as afconu, euro organises wouldn't too worried because they known their product will largely sell itself. Thanks :thumbs:

The USMNT should be paid less than the USWNT. The women team are more successful, have won more titles and draw just as much crowd. There is no justification for the men team earning more. None whatsoever.

1naija wrote:The USMNT should be paid less than the USWNT. The women team are more successful, have won more titles and draw just as much crowd. There is no justification for the men team earning more. None whatsoever.
OK, SUCCESSFUL AS THEY MIGHT BE...

…the real questions are do they generate more revenue? Are they giving up more to play for the NT? Are they getting lesser performance bonuses? If the answers are yes, then they deserve to be paid more. If no, then their complaints have little merit. If they disagree, would they consider having their own independent organization and keep all their revenues while distributing same as they see fit?

For me, if the women can generate revenues and sponsors, then so be it, if not , then where should the money come from?

King Futcha wrote:

Then that is an internal US soccer federation issue not FIFA. FIFA is not a socialist body. When it comes to FIFA competitions, they will get equal pay once they get equal revenue.

It should be based on the revenue their sport generates in ticket fees and advertising. If it's not on par with the men's team then they shouldn't be paid equally as that would be unfair.
Oba

Post by Oba »

maceo4 wrote:I heard that they do make more percentage wise, that mens team gets 9% of the proceeds to the federation while women get 13%, so I'm not sure what they are arguing about...
What proceeds? I suspect those proceeds may not reflect the full revenue brought in by respective teams.

Bell wrote:
1naija wrote:The USMNT should be paid less than the USWNT. The women team are more successful, have won more titles and draw just as much crowd. There is no justification for the men team earning more. None whatsoever.
OK, SUCCESSFUL AS THEY MIGHT BE...

…the real questions are do they generate more revenue? Are they giving up more to play for the NT? Are they getting lesser performance bonuses? If the answers are yes, then they deserve to be paid more. If no, then their complaints have little merit. If they disagree, would they consider having their own independent organization and keep all their revenues while distributing same as they see fit?

They generate 20 million dollars more than their useless male counterparts. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

MCAL!!!

PAY YOUR WIVES THEIR MONEY! PAY YOUR WIVES THEIR MONEY!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wicked and demonic husband! if its to give your side chick money now, you will sell your car! PAY YOUR WIVES THEIR MONEY! :lol:

Oba wrote:
What proceeds? I suspect those proceeds may not reflect the full revenue brought in by respective teams.
They get 13% of the money that FIFA gives the federation post World Cup compared to 9% the men get. I haven't done more than skim through the lawsuit and complaints, but I think they will have to upend their system to make it work. The men are paid on a match by match basis but the women are salaries employees.

Chief, I am not even sure what they are demanding. The national team is a collection of the best players, and they may be paid per diems, and bonuses for tournaments, and if that is the demand, then I say, by all means pay them as much as the men. But the men's game draws more crowds, is watched by more people, and generates far more revenue.

Are they demanding equal pay for playing for their regular clubs? Is Megan Rapinoe as the best female US player demanding the $90 million a year CRon makes in salary and endorsements? If this is the case, abeg, make she sharrap and go siddon for durty. When female soccer begins to draw the same crowds and television viewership as men, she can make that demand. :idea: