Page 1 of 3

Zlatan: MLS IS A RETIREMENT LEAGUE

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:58 pm
MCAL, how body? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Re: Zlatan: MLS IS A RETIREMENT LEAGUE

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 1:19 am
by 1naija
He is 100% right. That's why the league has not grown. I go to the Dynamo games for cheap entertainment for me and my boys, not for football.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:47 am
by King Futcha
1naija wrote:He is 100% right. That's why the league has not grown. I go to the Dynamo games for cheap entertainment for me and my boys, not for football.
define growth?

gotta love Zlatan

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:33 am
To be honest the league is poor...it isn't competitive. The playoffs...no relegation or promotion....

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:26 pm
by Bell
Bigpokey24 wrote:To be honest the league is poor...it isn't competitive. The playoffs...no relegation or promotion....

THAT'S WHAT'S GREAT ABOUT IT

Relegation/promotion is a relic. American leagues have thrived without it. It works for the European leagues but I bet if they were starting all over, they wouldn't have it either. Meanwhile, Zlatan should be ready for a drubbing when they meet.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:52 pm
Bell wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:To be honest the league is poor...it isn't competitive. The playoffs...no relegation or promotion....

Relegation/promotion is a relic. American leagues have thrived without it. It works for the European leagues but I bet if they were starting all over, they wouldn't have it either. Meanwhile, Zlatan should be ready for a drubbing when they meet.
You know, people always say that when you attack your opponent or speak down in your opponent, it is a motivation for your opponent.

I always found this interesting. In psychology, this is not always the case. Many times, more often than not, when you boast, attack your opponent, speak down on your opponent, you put pressure on your opponent. You make your opponent second-guess his/her ability, you create a situation where your opponent now has to concentrate on multiple things. You include emotion into your opponent's decision-making. The likes of Muhammad Ali, Mourinho, Ferguson and Zlatan have done this for years!

Dont let Rohr deceive you people. Being a coward doesnt mean your opponent will take it easy on you. Look at how Algeria humiliated us. Being bigger than life is usually more effective. Sometimes, it may motivate your opponent, but most times will break your opponent before the game starts!

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:06 pm
by kalani JR
Bell wrote:

We have fallen into the trick of looking at football through a Western Eurocentric lens and believing that every football system should resemble it.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:11 pm
by ohenhen1
Atlanta team is entertaining. The MLS is growing, it is slowly becoming a non retirement league. But still a long ways to go.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:12 pm
Bell wrote:

We have fallen into the trick of looking at football through a Western Eurocentric lens and believing that every football system should resemble it.
you aren't sharp..relegation and promotion helps a league become very competitive ....

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:17 pm
by King Futcha
Bell wrote:

you aren't sharp..relegation and promotion helps a league become very competitive ....
what?

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:02 pm
by txj
In 10 years, I expect the MLS to be the best league in the American continent.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:11 pm
by Bell
txj wrote:In 10 years, I expect the MLS to be the best league in the American continent.

WITHIN THAT SAME PERIOD...

…European leagues will be saying we should have slain the beast before it became so big, with their top young players opting for the MLS over them. And there'll be an emergence of native players also.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:13 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Bell wrote:

I never got that either. Promotion/relegation works in Europe because they have a stronger footy culture there, it would kill the MLS in no time if implemented. Fans aren't going to follow relegated teams, Americans want to support teams that win or have a chance if winning the top trophies.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:13 pm
by Bell
ohenhen1 wrote:Atlanta team is entertaining. The MLS is growing, it is slowly becoming a non retirement league. But still a long ways to go.
FOR SOME...

..."long" could be five years; for others, it could be 20.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:22 pm
by Bell
Mr. Piffington wrote:
Bell wrote:

I never got that either. Promotion/relegation works in Europe because they have a stronger footy culture there, it would kill the MLS in no time if implemented. Fans aren't going to follow relegated teams, Americans want to support teams that win or have a chance if winning the top trophies.
LOOK AT IT FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF AN INVESTOR

You spend a fortune building a stadium and building up a solid roster. Then your financial people do a long-term financial projection. All of a sudden, due to, say, injuries to star players, your team is no longer competitive and is relegated. And you're not sure how long it will take you to return to top flight. How do you now meet your financial obligations? A lot of investors could look at this scenario and pass. Other sports leagues in the US are thriving and competitive without the relegation/promotion contraption and haven't seen a need for it.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:25 pm
by Bell
Bell wrote:

AN ASTUTE OBSERVATION, AND...

…unfortunately, in sports and other works of life. People just fail to think independently and simply copy whatever Europe is doing, whether it fits or not.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:29 pm
Bell wrote:
Bell wrote:

…unfortunately, in sports and other works of life. People just fail to think independently and simply copy whatever Europe is doing, whether it fits or not.
em, Europe started football, Europe runs football, you and your people are the ones who joined FIFA...so why don't you think for yourslef? Did yall create football? yall watch their leagues, your players all want to play there... so please do not make me laugh :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: most leagues in the world all have relegation/promotion.... this aint NFL, Bball, ICe Hockey or Baseball.... the saddest part yall pay cable bills to watch their football...your NBCs spends so much on the EPL, even BR/TNT just spent so much on their Champs league...smh none of you can list the starting 11 of the MLS team in your city etc..so get away with the unintelligent comments about everyone copying europe

Why did yall do away with shootouts after ET? oops you decided to copy Europe?

trying to turn football into ice hockey :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :scared: :scared: :scared: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:47 pm
by 1naija
1naija wrote:He is 100% right. That's why the league has not grown. I go to the Dynamo games for cheap entertainment for me and my boys, not for football.
Growth is having teams that can string two quality passes together.

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:51 pm
i have gone to about dynamo games, and they were so boring

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:33 pm
by john12
Algeria defeating us with an absolute QUALITY goal in the 94 minute is now branded as “humiliating us”? Nigerians keep deceiving yourself! There’s no harm in being humble especially as your team isn’t filled with World class players. There’s no harm in acknowledging that you lost to a better team and learning from your mistakes then eventually winning it. You used SAF, Mourinho and Ibrahimovich as a perfect example of arrogance but we can also use Pep, Ronaldinho, Messi as an epitome of Greatness that were respectful/humble

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:38 pm
by cchinukw
Ibra the football philospher :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:52 pm
by Bell
Bell wrote:
Bell wrote:

em, Europe started football, Europe runs football, you and your people are the ones who joined FIFA...so why don't you think for yourslef? Did yall create football? yall watch their leagues, your players all want to play there... so please do not make me laugh :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: most leagues in the world all have relegation/promotion.... this aint NFL, Bball, ICe Hockey or Baseball.... the saddest part yall pay cable bills to watch their football...your NBCs spends so much on the EPL, even BR/TNT just spent so much on their Champs league...smh none of you can list the starting 11 of the MLS team in your city etc..so get away with the unintelligent comments about everyone copying europe

Why did yall do away with shootouts after ET? oops you decided to copy Europe?

trying to turn football into ice hockey :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :scared: :scared: :scared: :rotf: :rotf:
YOUR POINT BEING THAT...

…since Europe started football, no one should think about making any improvements to it. Whatever happened to "thinking outside the box"?

Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:56 pm
by King Futcha
talking to yourself again?

someone would consider growth, beating alabama but i digress.