'THIS IS FOOTBALL' - AMAZON PRIME ORIGINAL SERIES

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:40 pm
by Damunk
Has anyone watched this new series on Amazon?
Just watched Ep1 which focuses on the key role football played on the reconciliation and healing process after the Rwandan genocide of 1994.
Absolutely brilliant.
Highly recommended viewing for any football fan.

"Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I don't like that attitude. I can assure them it is much more serious than that"
- Bill Shankley, Liverpool Manager 1959-1974

Re: 'THIS IS FOOTBALL' - AMAZON PRIME ORIGINAL SERIES

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:36 pm

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:27 pm
by kalani JR
Give me your login Damunk. please.

Posted: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:29 am
by green4life
Damunk wrote:Has anyone watched this new series on Amazon?
Just watched Ep1 which focuses on the key role football played on the reconciliation and healing process after the Rwandan genocide of 1994.
Absolutely brilliant.

"Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I don't like that attitude. I can assure them it is much more serious than that"
Ep 1 was brilliantly done especially concluding with the Rwanda Pool die hard fans who were opportune to watch a live game at Anefield. Perfectly produced. The other episodes are also good but not as intense as Episode 1 for me. :agree:

Posted: Thu Aug 29, 2019 7:52 pm
by Damunk
Absolutely brilliant.

Ep 1 was brilliantly done especially concluding with the Rwanda Pool die hard fans who were opportune to watch a live game at Anefield. Perfectly produced. The other episodes are also good but not as intense as Episode 1 for me. :agree:
Really intense.
It'll be hard to match Ep1, I'm sure.

Posted: Thu Aug 29, 2019 9:18 pm
by Waffiman
Thanks. I will check it out.

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 1:15 am
This was so touchy and emotional...it would have won an oscar if the fans were Chelsea.... :clap:one of my favorite part was when they eliminated ghana from qualifying to Afcon

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:02 am
by Damunk
I never knew or fully appreciated the lyrics of the Liverpool FC anthem 'You'll Never Walk Alone' until I watched this film.

"The words of the song is the story of our country, Rwanda"

It has taken on an almost spiritual significance.
I feel am for this film, nor be small. :thumb:

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:07 am
by Damunk
Bigpokey24 wrote:This was so touchy and emotional...it would have won an oscar if the fans were Chelsea.... :clap:one of my favorite part was when they eliminated ghana from qualifying to Afcon
If the other five eps are as good as the first, it will surely win multiple awards.

Come....you nor go thank me for bringing some much needed joy to your life? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:20 pm
by ohsee
Absolutely brilliant.

Oga Doctor, I watched it. You are 100% correct, it is brilliant. Not just that, it is very emotional in parts, and I found small-small water dey comot for my eye. Same thing happened in the second episode, which is about women's footie. Surprised the hell outta me. Very well done so far. Also saw the third, which is about Chelsea winning the Champs League with unheralded coach Roberto Matteo. I will watch the entire series, and then watch it again. It has been that good.

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:39 am
by Damunk
ohsee wrote:
Absolutely brilliant.

Oga Doctor, I watched it. You are 100% correct, it is brilliant. Not just that, it is very emotional in parts, and I found small-small water dey comot for my eye. Same thing happened in the second episode, which is about women's footie. Surprised the hell outta me. Very well done so far. Also saw the third, which is about Chelsea winning the Champs League with unheralded coach Roberto Matteo. I will watch the entire series, and then watch it again. It has been that good.
Oga Ohsee, you've just inspired me to find time to watch the other episodes.
I wasn't planning to just yet. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:21 am
by theDunamis
This is why I love this forum. I was just complaining this evening that I have nothing new to watch since GoT ended and hey presto. Thanks Damunk. I'll be all over this for the next couple of weeks.

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:17 pm
theDunamis wrote:This is why I love this forum. I was just complaining this evening that I have nothing new to watch since GoT ended and hey presto. Thanks Damunk. I'll be all over this for the next couple of weeks.
there are many shows to watch, go and watch the boys on prime