bushboy wrote:
I was listening to talksport today, and Emile Hesky had a lot to say about the lack of opportunities available to black coaches. He went on to list at least 10 former top black players who have successfully earned their grade A coaching badges for several years only to see the likes of Gerrard and Lampard waltz into good jobs they never had the opportunity to compete for.
It got me thinking. Charity begins at home. I think the time has come for African teams to embrace the black coaches. I think ANY CAF national team who is interested in hiring a foreign coach should give the opportunity first and foremost to a QUALIFIED BLACK man.
I like what Cameroon did with with their Dutch coaching duo. I think it was a step in the righ direction, and it is time for other Africans to follow. Enough of these white journey men who come to Africa for the paycheck.
The likes of Sol Campbell. Andy Cole. Dwight Yorke. Les Ferdinand. JF Hasslebaink. And a host of others are all UEFA badges coaches! Let them all be hired by African teams. I want to one day see all CAF teams headed by a competent, deserving black man. They cannot be worse than the oyinbos brought in from 5th division teams!
It starts with ownership.
When you look at many boardrooms, how many people of color do you see?
And even us natives believe that White (oyibo) is better.