Page 1 of 2

Sterling Axed From National Team After Training Ground Fight

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:54 am
by emjay
Raheem Sterling will miss England's upcoming Euro 2020 qualifier against Montenegro after a shocking training bust-up with rival Joe Gomez.

The 24-year-old Manchester City winger had a heated confrontation with Gomez in his side's 3-1 defeat to Liverpool at Anfield on Sunday.

And tensions have spilled over into international duty as Sterling has now been axed from the Euro 2020 qualifying match.

The English FA said in a statement on Monday evening: "We can confirm Raheem Sterling will not be considered for England's Euro 2020 qualifier against Montenegro as a result of a disturbance in a private team area at St George's Park today.

"He will remain with the squad."

England boss Gareth Southgate added: "We have taken the decision to not consider Raheem for the match against Montenegro on Thursday.

"One of the great challenges and strengths for us is that we've been able to separate club rivalries from the national team. Unfortunately the emotions of yesterday's game were still raw.

"My feeling is that the right thing for the team is the action we have taken.

"Now that the decision has been made with the agreement of the entire squad, it's important that we support the players and focus on Thursday night."

According to the Daily Mirror, City star Sterling allegedly provoked a reaction from his fellow England teammate and a witness reportedly heard him ask the 22-year-old if he was "still the big man."

https://www.footynaija.com.ng/2019/11/r ... gland.html

Re: Sterling Axed From National Team After Training Ground F

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:19 am
by Comrade Machel
Sterlings haters will be rubbin their hands in glee and will see this as fuel to hate on the little guy.

Who be this Gomez anyway, he should have respect for his superiors :taunt:

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:02 am
by cic old boy
At least it will show City fans that the cares about more than his fat pay cheque.

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:44 pm
by marko
just a bust up, cannot understand why this made the news, this should have been kept away from everyone

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:58 pm
by mcal
marko wrote:just a bust up, cannot understand why this made the news, this should have been kept away from everyone
...it made the news because Sterling is a starter in the squad. If he did not start or play there will be questions and rumors. Hence they decide to nip it in the bud asap.

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:21 pm
by green4life
marko wrote:just a bust up, cannot understand why this made the news, this should have been kept away from everyone
...it made the news because Sterling is a starter in the squad. If he did not start or play there will be questions and rumors. Hence they decide to nip it in the bud asap.
Obvious to everyone except marko.

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:16 pm
by Senator WIRES

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:30 pm
Obvious to everyone except marko.

I said Marko is one of the dumbest people in the history of CE and you people thought I was trying to insult him. Factually, and without malice, the man is dense! Tufiakwa.

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:57 pm
seems like Sterling waya the bobo sha...left eye get cut

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:15 pm
by jette1
so because he is black he gets suspended and the non blacks walks

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:45 pm
by Coach
It's out for public consumption because it lessens the scandal were it covered up. Besides, ''tis common knowledge there are many on the books of mainstream news outlets who sell inside intel. It would've gotten out regardless.

Good, clean left by Sterling mind you.

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:23 pm
by goke313

First Pep, now Southgate.....Raheem will constantly be undermined by his own managers....trust this has a lot to do with being outspoken on race

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:40 pm
jette1 wrote:so because he is black he gets suspended and the non blacks walks
Smh.. another CE with number on his name. Whats it with the number brothers? Bigshawn30, Jette1, Tobi17, Sleaky21 and Dimka76. :oops:

Whats the pigmentation of Joe Gomez's skin?

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:18 pm
by maceo4
So na the same fight from their previous game abi? I saw when Gomez pushed Sterling into the advert boards and he took offense, I guess it was not resolved there lol

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:20 pm
by metalalloy

Uncle Jettee, did you meet Joe Gomez when you went to CanCum a few years ago?

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:54 pm
maceo4 wrote:So na the same fight from their previous game abi? I saw when Gomez pushed Sterling into the advert boards and he took offense, I guess it was not resolved there lol
That was trent, Gomez had a different fight with Raheem in the 2nd half

Posted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:56 pm
by cchinukw
No complaints from me. Needs to take time out to cool off.

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:59 am
by jette1
Smh.. another CE with number on his name. Whats it with the number brothers? Bigshawn30, Jette1, Tobi17, Sleaky21 and Dimka76. :oops:

How many times do we have to tell you guys that race is but a social construct and has nothing to do with skin pigmentation

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 5:53 am
by john12
jette1 joe Gomez looks like a light complexion Black man sha.

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:36 am
by Damunk

I see you ommited the big elephant in the room, your friend Bigporkey24

Weytin happun? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 3:45 pm

you have profile pic of a monkey with a lipstick, that same monkey has a stethoscope, we all know your profession... is that how you view yourself when you see a patient ?

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:49 pm
maceo4 wrote:So na the same fight from their previous game abi? I saw when Gomez pushed Sterling into the advert boards and he took offense, I guess it was not resolved there lol
That was trent, Gomez had a different fight with Raheem in the 2nd half
Shey you see am? Maceo4, another number brother. tufiakwa! :oops: :oops:

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:50 pm

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Bigpokey na my paddy. E real name na "Bigpokey." it was the moderators who added "24' in order to frame him! :lol: