Page 5 of 5

Re: Fikayo Tomori, How Market?

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 3:05 pm
by ohsee
aruako1 wrote:
kalani JR wrote:How would them choosing Nigeria have changed their prospects? Iwobi became a Super Eagles and soon will be riding pine for Everton too.
But they can have an international career and win things. I tend to find that those that declare for other countries are often more willing to leave the Premier League bubble and move to other European leagues.

And don't expect Nigerian fans to be logical about this. Football support is fickle and emotional, not logical. Otherwise we would all support Brazil. I'm sure that most fans do not really wish him ill.
I doubt he grew up dreaming about the nations cup.
Probably grew up dreaming of the Concacaf Gold Cup.

Have no idea if his father watched Nations Cup though.
Chief, no Canadian boy dreams of Concacaf Small Pikin Gold Cup. They all dream of World Cup and Euro. They may hope to play for their papa country (the ones who watch footie immigrate from footie playing countries) when they are small (my son did), but I am sure if they have a chance to play for England or Spain, you know what they will do. Davies is probably regretting choosing Canada, the nowhere country in footie.

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:27 am
by aruako1
aruako1 wrote:
kalani JR wrote:How would them choosing Nigeria have changed their prospects? Iwobi became a Super Eagles and soon will be riding pine for Everton too.
But they can have an international career and win things. I tend to find that those that declare for other countries are often more willing to leave the Premier League bubble and move to other European leagues.

And don't expect Nigerian fans to be logical about this. Football support is fickle and emotional, not logical. Otherwise we would all support Brazil. I'm sure that most fans do not really wish him ill.
Fair enough but your question was about their prospects not their childhood dreams.

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 11:07 am
by kalani JR
aruako1 wrote:

Fair enough but your question was about their prospects not their childhood dreams.
My point was Tomori selecting the Super Eagles would not have given him more playing time for Chelsea and the appeal of winning the Nations Cup might not factor too heavily considering it's likely not a tournament he cares for.