Page 3 of 3

Re: Lyon 0 Bayern 2 (Gnabry X 2)

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:27 pm
by txj
txj wrote:I think in first half Lyon showed signs why Guardiola adjusted his tactics.

But for poor finishing, this here's a different game...

That said, Bayern is just too powerful...
Nope. Pep's change of tactics had less to do with Lyon and more to do with the profile of the players he had faith in for that game.

The bottomline is Pep's most relatable players are not the fastest sprinters so he had to adjust his formation to mitigate that weakness. when deploying the Rodrigo, Gundogan plus KDB, in a track meet, they will struggle especially with unreliable CBs behind them.
I think you should listen to his interview after the game...

“What we have done is try to cover our weak points,” Guardiola explained on BT Sport. “And also comparing to their strong points.

“They attack the channels really well and I didn’t want to leave them. That’s why.
“We then unblocked our respect a bit, we struggled initially, but in the same shape we attacked well.
... because he did not have players that could match them up in terms of physical attributes unlike Bayern Munich that doesn't have to adjust due to their superior quality physically and talent wise. Pep is not alone by the way but when another manager (like Lampard) did the same - switching to 343 - due to shortfall of players meeting the profile needed for the task, you turn a blind eye ... But if it's Pep, it makes a helluva sense :lol:
Bro, leave this Lampard issue...

You have agreed with me Pep had reason to adjust his tactics, contrary to popular media punditry...

That is all. You can continue your Lampard defence on the chelsea thread...

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:30 pm
by Coach
charlie wrote:
Coach wrote:
txj wrote:Ekambi not up to this level...
Fresh from the class of the 90s, all leg, no brain.
To be fair, Ekambi has had some inspiring moments in this years competition.
He just had a very rough game.
Interesting from a comically entertaining perspective perhaps. No goals in the contest, 2 goals all season. Shaun Goater, Jason Lee, Philomen Masinga. Same cloth.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:33 pm
by txj
why was that ruled out?

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:34 pm
by green4life
txj wrote:I think in first half Lyon showed signs why Guardiola adjusted his tactics.

Nope. Pep's change of tactics had less to do with Lyon and more to do with the profile of the players he had faith in for that game.

The bottomline is Pep's most relatable players are not the fastest sprinters so he had to adjust his formation to mitigate that weakness. when deploying the Rodrigo, Gundogan plus KDB, in a track meet, they will struggle especially with unreliable CBs behind them.

“What we have done is try to cover our weak points,” Guardiola explained on BT Sport. “And also comparing to their strong points.

“They attack the channels really well and I didn’t want to leave them. That’s why.
“We then unblocked our respect a bit, we struggled initially, but in the same shape we attacked well.
... because he did not have players that could match them up in terms of physical attributes unlike Bayern Munich that doesn't have to adjust due to their superior quality physically and talent wise. Pep is not alone by the way but when another manager (like Lampard) did the same - switching to 343 - due to shortfall of players meeting the profile needed for the task, you turn a blind eye ... But if it's Pep, it makes a helluva sense :lol:

You have agreed with me Pep had reason to adjust his tactics, contrary to popular media punditry...

Pep is your boy. I also understand you don't rate anything England. No wahala.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:35 pm
by green4life
VAR is useless. How they moved along like that Countinho goal wasn't well onside is straight up foul :lol:

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:36 pm
by Oguleftie
green4life wrote:VAR is useless. How they moved along like that Countinho goal wasn't well onside is straight up foul :lol:
It is offside. A 2nd Bayern player slightly touched the ball with extended shin.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:40 pm
by txj
3-0 Lewa

by Kako
Apere goalkeeper :lol: :lol:

by charlie
Game set match. Lyon just ran completely out of steam.

PSG v Bayern is setting up to be a real cracker between 2 great teams.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:41 pm
by charlie
Kako wrote:Apere goalkeeper :lol: :lol:
Hard to blame the keeper on a perfectly placed header like that..

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:41 pm
by txj

Pep is your boy. I also understand you don't rate anything England. No wahala.
I'm a Liverpool fan. wetin consign me with Pep

especially considering his mealy mouthed defence of City's cooking the books...

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:42 pm
by Oguleftie
His defenders are short and mounted no challenge to a 6ft+++.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:44 pm
by txj
In many ways, this game came down to finishing, duly recognizing the difference in quality of personnel.

Lyon's exposed a lot of things for Tuchel and PSG to chew on...

But you gotta admire the power of Munich. That might be what gives them the edge...

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:45 pm
by Oguleftie
All 1st XI players are tired.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:46 pm
by charlie
txj wrote:In many ways, this game came down to finishing, duly recognizing the difference in quality of personnel.

But you gotta admire the power of Munich. That might be what gives them the edge...
And their experience. They always looked like they had an extra gear to go to today and never looked flustered when under pressure.

Anything can happen on Sunday, but Bayern have to remain favorites to win it all.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:47 pm
by green4life

.. and also a Barca fan (for La Liga). This is well documented on this forum.

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:52 pm
by txj

.. and also a Barca fan (for La Liga). This is well documented on this forum.

Pep is not the Barcelona coach, but City's, a direct rival of Liverpool.

wetin consign me with Pep?

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:19 pm
by oloye
Oguleftie wrote:
His defenders are short and mounted no challenge to a 6ft+++.
One of the many threats Bayern posed, the kind of variety City did not have when they needed options.

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2020 11:31 pm
by Donzman
txj wrote:In many ways, this game came down to finishing, duly recognizing the difference in quality of personnel.

Power and pace.

Unlike English teams they can also play.