Maracana Stadium to be named after Brazil legend Pele

LeonPhelps
Maracana Stadium to be named after Brazil legend Pele

Post by LeonPhelps »

Maracana stadium to be named after Brazil legend Pele

Last updated on13 hours ago13 hours ago.
From the sectionFootball
Maracana stadium

Club sides Flamengo and Fluminense use the stadium as their home

Brazil's iconic Maracana stadium is to be named in honour of the country's legendary footballer Pele.

The move follows a vote by the Rio de Janeiro state legislature to change the venue's name to the Edson Arantes do Nascimento - Rei Pele stadium.

Edson Arantes do Nascimento is the 80-year-old's full name, while Rei means king in Portuguese.

The Rio de Janeiro's state governor must approve the name change before it becomes official.

Pele, who won three World Cups as a player for Brazil, scored his 1,000th goal at the stadium in 1969 when playing for Santos against Vasco da Gama.

The Maracana held the 1950 and 2014 World Cup finals, as well as the opening ceremony of the 2016 Olympics.

More than 200,000 spectators are reported to have been in the stadium to watch Uruguay beat Brazil in the 1950 final, although its capacity is now 78,838.

It was named after Mario Filho, a journalist who lobbied for its construction in the 1940s, but was known as the Maracana after the area in which it is located.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/56343750
"In Japan a corrupt person kills himself. In China, they kill him. In Europe and America they jail him. In Africa, he will present himself for election." - Prof. PLO Lumumba
Re: Maracana Stadium to be named after Brazil legend Pele

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for Brazil for doing this.

Double :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for not waiting for the great man's death before doing this. In fact make I :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: again! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

LeonPhelps

Post by LeonPhelps »

Scipio Africanus wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for Brazil for doing this.

Double :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for not waiting for the great man's death before doing this. In fact make I :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: again! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Yes, I believe the shocking death of Maradona made them do this knowing Pele doesn't have much years left. I believe they should have done this before the 2014 World Cup because Garrincha another great player had a Stadium named after him.
"In Japan a corrupt person kills himself. In China, they kill him. In Europe and America they jail him. In Africa, he will present himself for election." - Prof. PLO Lumumba

They should name right now like friday 10/12/21.All this long story is for what.
Time we start do the same in naija

Pele played in Vila Belmiro, why give him Maracanã?

kalani JR wrote:Pele played in Vila Belmiro, why give him Maracanã?
?
Are you saying he didn't play in Maracana?
This is about Brasil not Santos.
Did Mane Garrincha play in Brasilia?

YemiBrazil wrote:
?
:laugh: no mind the ITK

YemiBrazil wrote:
?
I just thought that if they would name a Southern stadium after him it'll be in São Paulo and not Rio. His biggest game there he didn't score the goals, Coutinho did.

YemiBrazil wrote:
?
I just thought that if they would name a Southern stadium after him it'll be in São Paulo and not Rio. His biggest game there he didn't score the goals, Coutinho did.
dude why the heck are you digging and losing sleep over what some Brazilians are going to do for their own country man? What the heck has south or Coutinho gats to do with a Stadium being named after Pele? Maybe you should channel more energy towards Biya who has been ruling your country Cameroon for ages

This man put Brazil on the map without him there will no be overrated Neymar or that other Madrid player. Brazil benefits from Pele not Zico.
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

kajifu wrote:They should name right now like friday 10/12/21.All this long story is for what.
Exactly my thoughts. I think we should re-name Surulere after one of: JayJay, Kanu, Obagoal, Mikel or Makinwa.

Thelastoneleft wrote:
kajifu wrote:They should name right now like friday 10/12/21.All this long story is for what.
Exactly my thoughts. I think we should re-name Surulere after one of: JayJay, Kanu, Obagoal, Mikel or Makinwa.
how can you name Lagos Stadium after players like Mikel, Oba or Makinwa .... these players never repped the SE there

Thelastoneleft wrote:
Huh?
Only two contenders for that one: Christian Chukwu and Segun Odegbami and CCC wins that contest hands down.

Thelastoneleft wrote:
Huh?
Only two contenders for that one: Christian Chukwu and Segun Odegbami and CCC wins that contest hands down.
Some of our folks started watching ball since 2000. I bet you they never heard of the Green Eagles talk less of Stationery Stores or Bendel Insurance. The Surulele main bowl is our own maracana in more ways than one and should be revived. The place is steeped in so much history.

LeonPhelps wrote:Maracana stadium to be named after Brazil legend Pele

Last updated on13 hours ago13 hours ago.
From the sectionFootball
Maracana stadium

Club sides Flamengo and Fluminense use the stadium as their home

Brazil's iconic Maracana stadium is to be named in honour of the country's legendary footballer Pele.

The move follows a vote by the Rio de Janeiro state legislature to change the venue's name to the Edson Arantes do Nascimento - Rei Pele stadium.

Edson Arantes do Nascimento is the 80-year-old's full name, while Rei means king in Portuguese.

The Rio de Janeiro's state governor must approve the name change before it becomes official.

Pele, who won three World Cups as a player for Brazil, scored his 1,000th goal at the stadium in 1969 when playing for Santos against Vasco da Gama.

The Maracana held the 1950 and 2014 World Cup finals, as well as the opening ceremony of the 2016 Olympics.

More than 200,000 spectators are reported to have been in the stadium to watch Uruguay beat Brazil in the 1950 final, although its capacity is now 78,838.

It was named after Mario Filho, a journalist who lobbied for its construction in the 1940s, but was known as the Maracana after the area in which it is located.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/56343750
This long over due. I always knew Pele was a mega star but I didn’t appreciate the level until I watched the Pele documentary on Netflix. The significance of his playing career is off the charts and I doubt that it can be comparable to any past, current or future player. period.

kalani JR wrote:https://www.espn.com/soccer/brazil-bra/ ... r-backlash

Common sense prevailed.
because Pele is black

Common sense prevailed.
because Pele is black
Yeah sure, why not?

Common sense prevailed.
Why is that common sense? Why should there be backlash in naming a stadium after their most iconic and legendary footballer? Abeg clear us small since you seem to be in the know...
LeonPhelps

Post by LeonPhelps »

Common sense prevailed.
Why is that common sense? Why should there be backlash in naming a stadium after their most iconic and legendary footballer? Abeg clear us small since you seem to be in the know...
Brazil doesn't honor Pele like others.

Common sense prevailed.
You applauded the firing of Credit Suisse's black CEO and now you support not naming the Maracana after Pele. I am beginning to see a pattern ...

Are you related to Paul Biya by any chance? :|

Scipio Africanus wrote:

Common sense prevailed.
You applauded the firing of Credit Suisse's black CEO and now you support not naming the Maracana after Pele. I am beginning to see a pattern ...

:lol: :lol: :lol: yes he is, Kalani nah Cameroonian

Scipio Africanus wrote:

Common sense prevailed.

:lol: :lol: :lol: yes he is, Kalani nah Cameroonian