Mali vs Burkina Faso (2-1) FT

my two dark horses meet up in a few hours. I know go lie e dey pain me say AFCON go soon finish. I have enjoyed this tournament no be small. Anyway we got another one next year.

For me i will pick Mali as favorites here. We need another cracker Mali vs CIV . Like play like play CIV fit reach final
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Tue Jan 30, 2024 7:48 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Re: Mali vs Burkina Faso

Formation: 4-4-2
16 Djigui Diarra
2 Hamari Traoré
5 Boubakar Kouyaté
6 Sikou Niakaté
17 Falaye Sacko
12 Mohamed Camara
11 Lassana Coulibaly
4 Amadou Haidara
21 Adama Traoré
25 Lassine Sinayoko
26 Kamory Doumbia

Formation: 4-3-3
16 Hervé Koffi
9 Issa Kaboré
14 Issoufou Dayo
12 Edmond Tapsoba
25 Steeve Yago
18 Ismahila Ouédraogo
20 Gustavo Sangaré
22 Ibrahim Blati Toure
10 Bertrand Traoré
13 Mohamed Konate
15 Abdoul Tapsoba

Re: Mali vs Burkina Faso (1-0) own goal Tasoba

Mali is a solid team
Re: Mali vs Burkina Faso (1-0) own goal Tasoba

I am surprised that Yves Bissouma hasn't started the last few games
Re: Mali vs Burkina Faso (1-0) own goal Tapsoba

AFCON has indeed been a very good tournament. I was waiting until the end to make this post, but its quite amazing how great the marketing has been. I dont know if they hired a branding team, but the marketing has been on point. It seems to be available to watch in every continent and on social media, it has completely dominated in non-African circles. I remember reading a twitter post by a non-African guy who was shocked that the Asia Cup was on-going. He said he hadnt heard about it and his timeline is filled with AFCON talk.
Re: Mali vs Burkina Faso (2-1) own goal Tapsoba

var

Some names appear in a lot of places in Africa. Without knowing the teams, team list for these two teams could come from either country by player names. Maybe Africa is just too fractured geographically.

felarey wrote: Tue Jan 30, 2024 7:46 pm Some names appear in a lot of places in Africa. Without knowing the teams, team list for these two teams could come from either country by player names. Maybe Africa is just too fractured geographically.
That is the result of geographical borders that cut across ethnic lines which leave same people
in different countries. Take Nigeria for example. Around the borders, you will find same ethnic
groups on both sides. Also consider migration, which puts an Essien in Ghana.

joao wrote: Tue Jan 30, 2024 7:57 pm
felarey wrote: Tue Jan 30, 2024 7:46 pm Some names appear in a lot of places in Africa. Without knowing the teams, team list for these two teams :D could come from either country by player names :D . Maybe Africa is just too fractured geographically.
That is the result of geographical borders that cut across ethnic lines which leave same people
in different countries. Take Nigeria for example. Around the borders, you will find same ethnic
groups on both sides. Also consider migration, which puts an Essien in Ghana.
That’s true. Essien, Muntari and Adebayo are Nigerians (classic debate on CE). There’s a theory out there that African countries are too small and will be better of bigger and stronger if combined.

Re: Mali vs Burkina Faso (2-1) FT

It looks like Mali, Senegal & Gambians share similar names while Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast share similarly sounding names.