Page 2 of 2

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:35 pm
by mke1010
TG-When I was saying that Arsenal should be serious with Baptista and not play around some people were lecturing me on business negotiation. Sometimes you dont mess around. You walk in with your final offer-lets say 15 million pounds- and tell Baptista we want you. You can either come now or spend a year in Sevilla on loan to sort out your passport situation and then join us next year. You come to terms with him on his contract. You dont go in trying to haggle in this climate cos the likes of Chelsea will make you pay. Dont you see how Arsenal signed Helb? (See how Juve went after Viera? Thats how its done these days) Arsenal will continue to buy potential world class players on the cheap because of Wenger's wonderful eye for talent. But right now Arsenal need something else and it is in a different market.
By the way can you forget about Baptista, that ship has sailed. He will be a Barca player by next year.

Essien wants to leave Lyon this year and will do so. Lyon is just playing hardball. Let Wenger go in an offer 18 million pounds plus Bently/Hoyte. Even if we dont get him lets make Chelsea pay more. I know they have all the money to spend but lets engage them. If Mourinho will buy a player to prevent Arsenal from getting him then lets getting in to a bidding war we know we cannot win. Lets call their bluff and make them buy Essien for 35-40 million pounds. After that, move on to SWP and offer the same deal. A back up CD can be found with relative ease later but Essien and SWP should be targets right now, Chelsea or no Chelsea. I will never support paying 10 million for Diarra and that is what will happen should Essien go to Chelsea. Lyon would probably not sell him anyway with Essien gone. So the best thing is to go after Essien and if you are unsuccessful look else where maybe J. Jenas.

I want to see some aggresiveness. I think this is what is making some Gunners uncomfortable. Wenger is saying trust us. Ok. You have the track record so there is no shaking. But now we are saying show some energy, show some aggresiveness, show some flair. Spend that money you promised you would. During the January transfer window the board said Wenger had money but chose not to spend. Others said it is better to buy in the summer as people try to screw you during the transfer window. If plans were underway to phase out the likes of Viera why not bid for Essien, Baptista, Jenas, SWP etc in January? Shockingly some of them might have come cheaper then than now.

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:37 pm
by Football Manager
Waffiman wrote:Remember what they said when we sold Overmars, Petit and Anelka. I laugh at all of you who question the judgement of Wenger. Just seat back and watch his magic.
This is a good news for Arsenal.

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:33 pm
by Tunisian Gooner
mke1010 wrote:TG-When I was saying that Arsenal should be serious with Baptista and not play around some people were lecturing me on business negotiation. Sometimes you dont mess around. You walk in with your final offer-lets say 15 million pounds- and tell Baptista we want you. You can either come now or spend a year in Sevilla on loan to sort out your passport situation and then join us next year. You come to terms with him on his contract. You dont go in trying to haggle in this climate cos the likes of Chelsea will make you pay. Dont you see how Arsenal signed Helb? (See how Juve went after Viera? Thats how its done these days) Arsenal will continue to buy potential world class players on the cheap because of Wenger's wonderful eye for talent. But right now Arsenal need something else and it is in a different market.
By the way can you forget about Baptista, that ship has sailed. He will be a Barca player by next year.

Essien wants to leave Lyon this year and will do so. Lyon is just playing hardball. Let Wenger go in an offer 18 million pounds plus Bently/Hoyte. Even if we dont get him lets make Chelsea pay more. I know they have all the money to spend but lets engage them. If Mourinho will buy a player to prevent Arsenal from getting him then lets getting in to a bidding war we know we cannot win. Lets call their bluff and make them buy Essien for 35-40 million pounds. After that, move on to SWP and offer the same deal. A back up CD can be found with relative ease later but Essien and SWP should be targets right now, Chelsea or no Chelsea. I will never support paying 10 million for Diarra and that is what will happen should Essien go to Chelsea. Lyon would probably not sell him anyway with Essien gone. So the best thing is to go after Essien and if you are unsuccessful look else where maybe J. Jenas.

I want to see some aggresiveness. I think this is what is making some Gunners uncomfortable. Wenger is saying trust us. Ok. You have the track record so there is no shaking. But now we are saying show some energy, show some aggresiveness, show some flair. Spend that money you promised you would. During the January transfer window the board said Wenger had money but chose not to spend. Others said it is better to buy in the summer as people try to screw you during the transfer window. If plans were underway to phase out the likes of Viera why not bid for Essien, Baptista, Jenas, SWP etc in January? Shockingly some of them might have come cheaper then than now.

Great post all valid points mke1010

I will say this when it comes to Chelsea it's not just the transfer fee but the wages they can offer. Most club be they Juve, Milan or Barca have strict wage scale and we are no different. I agree we should chase any and all World class players but at the sametime we can not not send our club into financial disaster just to win a few trophies. I would love to sign Essien but even if we can mtach the transfer fee we can not come close in terms of wages, at best we could pay Essien 55k per week, Chelsea can easily double that.

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:43 pm
by mke1010
TG- I am in support of maintaining a strict wage scale otherwise you will run a business model like Arsenal in to the ground in no time. What I am advocating is targeting players that Chelsea want even if we cannot necessarily afford them and making them pay more. It may be a drop in the bucket but trust me over time it adds up to a full pail.
Make them pay the price for being exhorbitant. If we can get Chelsea to pay 40 million for Essien instead of 25 lets do it. Not all the clubs will follow Chelsea down this crazy path. If Chelsea is too busy signing 30 million pound players that will leave more room for us to go after our kind of player when the dust settles.

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:40 am
by Waffiman
Tunisian Gooner wrote:Baptista is no more the 10 MP and Diaraa really depends on what happens with Essiensas Lyon will not sale both.

As for SWP we have the money and it's up the Boss if he wants to use.
.. and what about Chelsea? Do you honestly think that Mourihno will sit back and let Arsenal buy all the players they want? Think again. Even Mourihno has said that he'll go after a player just to keep the player away from his competitor. It's one of his fundamental policies.
Yeah right! Just like Jose did with Kleb eh. :P :P :P :P :P

BTW! Wenger does not buy stars, he makes stars. The only star Wenger ever bought was Overmars.

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:16 am
by Coach
Tunisian Gooner wrote:Baptista is no more the 10 MP and Diaraa really depends on what happens with Essiensas Lyon will not sale both.

As for SWP we have the money and it's up the Boss if he wants to use.
.. and what about Chelsea? Do you honestly think that Mourihno will sit back and let Arsenal buy all the players they want? Think again. Even Mourihno has said that he'll go after a player just to keep the player away from his competitor. It's one of his fundamental policies.
Yeah right! Just like Jose did with Kleb eh. :P :P :P :P :P

BTW! Wenger does not buy stars, he makes stars. The only star Wenger ever bought was Overmars.
What u guys have to realise is the footballing calender, with the world cup daswning, has licked the sugar off Roman's chequebook, players on the fringe of international recognition, need to be playing regularly to be in contention for call-ups, Chelsea already have Joe Cole, and if Essien comes in, i cant see Sean smiling his way down to the bench at the Bridge, he's seen whats happened with Joe and Scott, and if he's got any chance of making it to Germany he's going to need to leapfrog a few stars in the queue. If Essien signs for the Blues, Wright-Phillip will be advised against making that move down west!!!

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 5:56 pm
by ikwerreman
i think selling PV was more for financial considerations.
values drop and that was the case here.
last year was it not £25m madrid offered for him?
this year all arsenal got was £13.75m.
he is twenty nine and very injury prone
by next season he may be worth only £2m.
Vieira has played his best football with Arsenal and they know he gave his best while there.
its time to move on and i think Arsenal will

PS
I support the best club in the world...certainly not Arsenal

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:23 pm
by K
All these Big-Shawn topics, na advil I dey take read am..

The rise and the falling :shock: ...abeg give me 2 more capsules

Re:

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 6:18 pm
by Cellular
Waffiman wrote:Remember what they said when we sold Overmars, Petit and Anelka. I laugh at all of you who question the judgement of Wenger. Just seat back and watch his magic.

Re:

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 6:45 pm
by Sleaky72
Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Exactly

It's not like this is the first time Wenger has silently retooled his squad.

Back when he first arrived in 96 the core was TA, Bould, Dixion, Seamo, Wright, Razor, DB 10 etc etc etc and he brought in the likes of PV4, Petit, Overmars and Anelka and we won the double and had a good run but around 1999 AW knew he needed to retool and he cashed in on the likes of Anelka, Petit, Silvinho and Overmars for various reasons.

In a six year span the likes of TA, Dixon, Bould, Wright, Petit, Overmars, Anelka, Seamo and co were replaced by Ashley Cole, Freddie Ljungberg, Pires, Henry, Kanu, Wiltord, Sol Campbell, Lauren, Edu, Gilberto and the remaining core was PV4, Razor, Seamo, DB 10 and Keown.

All total we had a great run i.e another double, a league and two more FA Cups.

Again could be the sleep deprivation talking but it seems under our very noises AW is rebuilding again

OUT: are Razor, Keown, Kanu, Seamo, Wiltord, Edu and soon to follow Ljungberg, PV4, Pires and DB 10.

IN: Reyes, RVP, Flamini, Fab, Kolo, Senderos, Hleb, Clichy, Eboue, Quincy and possible SWP and Diarra.

The new core of veterans will be Henry, Campbell, Gilberto, Ashley Cole, Lauren and Jens.

All the nonsense that Wenger has lost the plot is just envy, please just wait and see before making outrageous claims.

Re:

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:06 pm
by The YeyeMan

Re: Re:

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:47 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe

This was the point when Uncles Cellular, Oloye, Scip, and Ohsee abandoned ship :sad: :sad: :sad: :sad:

Re: THE RISE AND THE FALLING OF ARSENAL BEGINS.

Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:37 am
by Kabalega

This was the point when Uncles Cellular, Oloye, Scip, and Ohsee abandoned ship :sad: :sad: :sad: :sad:
So all these are fair-weather fans? :laugh:

That's generally unAfrican! But hey, it's a free world.... :twisted:

Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:48 pm
by Cellular

It takes some natives longer to get it... :D

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:58 am
by cchinukw

Plus Danfo and BigPork :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re:

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:11 pm
by green4life
I guess other coaches: from manU, chelsea, liverpool, etc will also sit back and watch his magic.
I know my football :agree: :clap:

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 8:51 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe

Plus Danfo and BigPork :lol: :lol: :lol:

Those ones are fans of Arsenal Fans

Re:

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 2:58 pm
by wanaj0
I guess other coaches: from manU, chelsea, liverpool, etc will also sit back and watch his magic.
Just like they did when we sold Overmars, Petit and Anelka. Arsenal will come back stronger and better. Of that, I have no doubt. You guys just watch.

:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 4:24 pm
I know my football :agree: :clap:
Ah! My brother! You are here! i am glad you are hail and hearty. I was a bit worried when you went missing after your mad man was beaten black and blue and humiliated in Italy. ke du ko di? :D