An Interesting Article on Club Vs Country debate

realtrouble
An Interesting Article on Club Vs Country debate

Post by realtrouble »

Kasey Keller has leapt to the defence of under-fire Tottenham striker Freddie Kanoute, saying Fifa are to blame for the whole saga.
Frenchman Kanoute is to jet off to Tunisia to compete for Mali in the African Cup of Nations at the end of the month and will be sorely missed by Spurs as they gear themselves up for a relegation battle after a disastrous start to the season.

The ex-West Ham man showed the club exactly what they would be missing at the weekend as he scored a superb hat-trick to book Spurs a place in the fourth round of the FA Cup at the expense of Crystal Palace, although his efforts were not enough to earn him the fans' choice for the man of the match award.

Kanoute's decision has, rightly so, infuriated acting manager David Pleat who knows he can ill-afford to be without his prolific star for up to six weeks.

Pleat points to the fact that Spurs signed Kanoute in the summer with no thinking in mind that they would lose him for a lengthy period in the New Year because of the tournament after he had previously represented France at Under-21 level.

He added he had once tried to sign Iran international Mehdi Mahdavikia but, with the intrusion of the Asian Games and other aspects of Mahdavikia's life, acknowledged that a deal would not have been beneficial.

Pleat said: "I wanted to sign an Iranian here called Mahdavikia – he ended up in Germany now and has done well.

"But it was clear when we started talking to him that with the Asian Games, national service and all sorts of other cultural problems, it wasn't going to be easy to sign him.

"It's like buying an intimidating player who misses 12 games a year because he keeps getting sent off. You would think twice about signing him."

But US international Keller says the blame should be laid at the feet of football's governing body for the whole fiasco.

"It's Fifa who should get the blame. There's nothing we can do apart from hope someone else steps up and takes their chance and makes it difficult for Freddie to get back into the team," opined Keller.

The former Millwall custodian knows all about badly-timed tournaments with the US after North America's Concacaf moved their Gold Cup tournament to the summer; adding: "Africa need to sort it out otherwise people will stop buying their players.

"When I signed for Tottenham, I had a gentleman's agreement with Glenn Hoddle that I wouldn't leave for national team games if I was in the first team.

"But Fifa sets the mandate and it's unfair to make players choose. Try telling David Beckham to choose between England and Real Madrid. It's totally unfair.

"It's a big honour to play for your country in a major tournament. Maybe Freddie feels he won't get that opportunity with France."

In other news, United Arab Emirates boss Roy Hodgson has thrown his hat into the ring to become new manager at White Hart Lane.

The former Internazionale and Blackburn coach is currently in Kuwait with his side to take part in the Gulf Cup and was even on The Football Association's short-list to succeed Kevin Keegan as England boss.

Dude;
Get off your trip.

The people of Africa have spoken out against what they see as blatant disrespect! You can either join us or bleach your skin white! :roll:
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

YUJAM wrote:Dude;
Get off your trip.

The people of Africa have spoken out against what they see as blatant disrespect! You can either join us or bleach your skin white! :roll:
I tire for this KELLER man o! Does he know that Europe so much love our players and find it cheaper to even acquire. We don't care if Europe we say they will not buy our player cus of ANC, they are the ones that will loose out cus the fun of the game will be missing in the EPL if like of Jay Jay, Kanoute, Kolo, Diouf et al are not there.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Yujam,

I would rather commit sucide than join your ignorant fight for self determination in football.

charity begins at home.

You are the ignorant one here - catering to the whims of those who do not respect us.

Go and bleach your skin white, man! :lol:
Yujam,

I would rather commit sucide than join your ignorant fight for self determination in football.

charity begins at home.
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

realtrouble wrote:Yujam,

charity begins at home.

Kai!!! Na so e be?? :shock: :o :shock: :o :shock: Sofry Sofry my broda!!

FYI, there will be a record no of scouts at this year's ANC!

Sale, sale! Get players for cheap. :wink:
The former Millwall custodian knows all about badly-timed tournaments with the US after North America's Concacaf moved their Gold Cup tournament to the summer; adding: "Africa need to sort it out otherwise people will stop buying their players.
Thought

Post by Thought »

Africa this, Africa that...... They get our players on the cheap and they still complain about the call of duty.
Real Madrid - The Greatest Club on Earth!
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

Pleat,

Under you Mehdi Mahdavikia would have not done well because you are crap, pleat is looking for an excuse when he gets relegated a good manager can manage without Kanoute.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

David Pleat is an ignoramus cow and you guys should ignore the prat. He has a made such a big fool of himself and really shown himself as someone who is incapable of managing a football team. Ironically, everyone I have spoken to English and non –english people and they just can’t understand the moronic stance of the man.

Is this not the same Pleat who was caught kerb crawling a few years ago? The same failure at Spurs, Sheffield Wednesday, Luton etc?
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
PaJimoh

Post by PaJimoh »

Here we go again. Who ever decides to speak an iota of sense is ridiculed.

You have every right to spend your money on any player you want. If African players are cheap, so what? If an African player costs the same as Beckham, who do you think they'll buy. Africa, as a continent as benefited from selling their players cheap. Players have definately benefited.

What Keller is saying is,you thought you were buying a player that fits your clubs needs. That suddenly changes. Those are the facts. Whether he happens to be answering the call of motherland is of no consolation to Spurs. Kanoute has FIFA regulations on his side, but what is also a fact is when Kanoute was bought, his papers shows him as a French national. His details will now be amended as a Malian, That means Spurs will have to start looking at different dates of when they are likely to lose their players instead of the ones they'd factored in before paying 4m.
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

Hey we all knew about this whole Mali-Kanoute connection BEFORE Spurs siged him. He played a friendly for Mali BEFORE Spurs signed him.

If you want to know why football teams are going bankrupt left and right, don't belive that line about players wages. The real problem is: management ie the David Pleats of the word. These guys throw money like water with minimal due diligence. If we knew about Kanute and Mali, you would EXPECT the guy spending £4.5 MM on a player to know not only that, but hell they should even know Kanoute's mamas life history.

You wouldn't buy a house for £4.5MM without doing a history, a deed/ title search on it, would you? You would want to make sure you know who has or has had actual or potential claim on this propery before you fork over your hard-earned cash.

Well apparently that's what David Pleat did - buy an asset without doing basic due diligence check on it. He, a supposed business manager in football, didn't even know what we amateur football fans knew as common fact regarding Kanoute's intl career. All this noise is just David Pleat looking for someone to cover his #$% for his own failings.

If football was actually run like real business, guys like David Pleat would not have a job, frankly.
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

David Pleat didn't buy Kanoute, Glenn Hoddle did