RSS feeds updated ... resubscribe if possible.

ikeo
RSS feeds updated ... resubscribe if possible.

Post by ikeo »

For those of you who know what that is here is the link
http://feeds.feedburner.com/Forumscyber ... EaglesNest [main index]
http://feeds.feedburner.com/Forumscyber ... antAndRave [rants & Raves]
http://feeds.feedburner.com/Forumscyber ... ogyHighway [Technology Highway]

For those who don't know what it is, RSS allows you get updates about a website as they happen ... without hitting refresh all the time. You just add the feed, set the number of times you'd like to poll for updates and when something new comes in (a new thread is posted) you should get an alert in your task bar.

Safari, IE 7, Firefox 2 and Opera have this capability built in.
A good free standalone RSS client is
Sharpreader

A good paid one, is Feed Demon

Feel free to move this if its in the wrong place, I've posted it in the Technology section but I also posted it here to get maximum exposure.

Post questions to this thread if you have any.
Last edited by ikeo on Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:09 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Good call Ikeo.

I think it is fine here - one of those rae non soccer related threads that has universal/soccer appeal.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

well done and good shouting out. I recommend the thread be stickied. It will be very useful for match days as well.

Good looking out. I will sticky the thread for the time being. I believe that this is a useful tool that we should consider incorporating into how we do business on Gamedays when posts are coming rapid fire. If we can use this or something like it on Gamedays to moniter game updates, it will help reduce the type of clutter that typically bogs down the site on such occasions.

Just a thought.
ikeo

Post by ikeo »

I can help out with those legendary gameday problems and I also have a couple of ideas of how to monetize the forum so that it can at least pay for its hosting and what not.
If this sounds interesting to you guys, please get in touch ... I'm full of ideas :]
CMS
Re: Cybereagles forum RSS feed!

Post by CMS »

ikeo wrote:For those of you who know what that is here is the link
http://concept47.com/cyber_eagles/cybereagles_rss.php

For those who don't know what it is, RSS allows you get updates about a website as they happen ... without hitting refresh all the time. You just add the feed, set the number of times you'd like to poll for updates and when something new comes in (a new thread is posted) you should get an alert in your task bar.

Sharpreader

Feel free to move this if its in the wrong place, I've posted it in the Technology section but I also posted it here to get maximum exposure.

I have added it. I just hope say e n go bring all these "Tapeworm, Ringworm, Trojan horse, TRojan 8 etc wey I just cleaned up from my Kopura" Old boy the thing tire man. Never had any virus b4, this time they had a bonanza on my computer..
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
bakana

Post by bakana »

Last edited by bakana on Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
bakana

Post by bakana »

CMS wrote: I have added it. I just hope say e n go bring all these "Tapeworm, Ringworm, Trojan horse, TRojan 8 etc wey I just cleaned up from my Kopura" Old boy the thing tire man. Never had any virus b4, this time they had a bonanza on my computer..
ya kompura na dan blocker? :twisted:
CMS

Post by CMS »

bakana wrote:
CMS wrote: I have added it. I just hope say e n go bring all these "Tapeworm, Ringworm, Trojan horse, TRojan 8 etc wey I just cleaned up from my Kopura" Old boy the thing tire man. Never had any virus b4, this time they had a bonanza on my computer..
ya kompura na dan blocker? :twisted:
Old by the kain blokage wey I get now for the thing na wah. E pass the man wey chop tuba yam wey no fit go toilet for two days. Even sef he dey block me if I no identify mysef properly.. :twisted: :twisted:

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

HELP!

All I see is an XML file.

When I didnt see the automatic RSS feed button on firefox, I went ahead and added the url to my live book mark folder. The button shows up in the toolbar but when I click on it, it takes me to a static page that displays XML with the following header message:

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

Okay, I stopped being lazy and researched and solved the problem myself (auto-add RSS don spoil me finish). For other people who might need a tutorial on how to add the RSS feed:

http://www.ncess.ac.uk/learning/user_RSS/firefox/

Nice and simple to follow

Thanks a lot IKeo - good job.

Lefak wrote:HELP!

When I didnt see the automatic RSS feed button on firefox, I went ahead and added the url to my live book mark folder. The button shows up in the toolbar but when I click on it, it takes me to a static page that displays XML with the following header message:

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.

Lefak wrote:HELP!

wut browser are u using .. all i had to do was bookmark it and that was all!! i am using firefox 2.0

Yiba

Post by Yiba »

Abeg,i need xml feeds for the rant &rave and technology section.
ofilis

Post by ofilis »

ikeo wrote:For those of you who know what that is here is the link
http://concept47.com/cyber_eagles/cybereagles_rss.php

Sharpreader

Chief,
Please tell me more about your signature "Mr. Ofili" Are you my namesake?
http://www.thetimesofnigeria.com

The Times of Nigeria.
Breaking the news as it happens!
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

ikeo wrote:I can help out with those legendary gameday problems and I also have a couple of ideas of how to monetize the forum so that it can at least pay for its hosting and what not.
If this sounds interesting to you guys, please get in touch ... I'm full of ideas :]
For starters, pease PM Suya, Rogba with those ideas you have.

Thanks once again.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
ikeo

Post by ikeo »

ofilis wrote:Chief,
Oga ... my last name is Ofili so yes we are probably namesakes.
Idi Oro

Post by Idi Oro »

ikeo wrote:
ofilis wrote:Chief,
Oga ... my last name is Ofili so yes we are probably namesakes.
We share the same last name. Are you from Delta state?
Oba

Post by Oba »

So there are 3 people on this site with Ofili as their last name... all not directly related. Hmm!
ikeo

Post by ikeo »

Hi Yiba,
I have added the feeds as you requested ... here they are.
http://www.concept47.com/cyber_eagles/c ... ch_rss.php
http://www.concept47.com/cyber_eagles/c ... ts_rss.php
(Check the OP for more details).
Yiba wrote:Abeg,i need xml feeds for the rant &rave and technology section.
ikeo

Post by ikeo »

Idi Oro wrote:We share the same last name. Are you from Delta state?
Yes sir, I am. Which part are you from?
Idi Oro

Post by Idi Oro »

ikeo wrote:

I am from Issele-Uku. Same as my cousin, Ofilis. What part are you from?
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

did you say isale eko? :D
Idi Oro wrote:
ikeo wrote:

CMS

Post by CMS »

Lefak wrote:did you say isale eko? :D
Idi Oro wrote:
ikeo wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: No mind the man na Mushin Olosha.. Just kidding.. Why you come carry Idi oro?