CCC battles Wenger over Kanu, threaten 2 take Arsenal 2 FIFA

VINDAVE
CCC battles Wenger over Kanu, threaten 2 take Arsenal 2 FIFA

Post by VINDAVE »

Chukwu battles Wenger

Obafemi Obadare, Faro, Portugal

Super Eagles coach, Christian Chukwu, is locked in a bitter battle with Arsenal Manager, Mr. Arsene Wenger, for the release of Nwanwko Kanu for the 24th Nations Cup finals which get under way on January 24 in Tunisia.

Chukwu told reporters here on Thursday in Faro that Nigeria might take the case to FIFA for arbitration.

“We understand that the club pay Kanu and other players but there are FIFA rules over major competitions,” Chukwu said.

Chukwu said that he would like to have all the remaining players by Jan 11, so “that we can get down to serious business.”

“(John) Utaka is having the same problems with his team in France,” Chukwu said. “He would have loved to be here, but the president of Lens would not releas him. The president said there are 13 African players and nine regulars in his team and he cannot afford to release them.”

Apart from the lads in the Premiership and Utaka, it is only Julius Aghahowa and Victor Agali who are yet to report to the Faro camp at the time training ended on Thursday morning.

MORE: http://www.punchng.com/sports/article04
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

THIS IS BIG PROBLEM FOR LENS o! 13 African players and 9 Regular? Club done pari be that....

African players are usually much less expensive to hire than their European or South American counterparts.

So these Selfish Team Managers cannot say they havent already profited from having African players in their squads.

The only reason they play these stupid games with African players and squads, is because we Africans have been too accomodating when it comes to applying Fifa rules on the release of players for major competition.

It is time we made an example for other short sighted, bigot coaches and Team Owners who wish to sabotage African football with their selfishness.

I support CCC 100% on his refusal to allow JJ or Kanu to spend a day past the 14 day fifa limit.
StoneKold

Post by StoneKold »

charlie wrote:African players are usually much less expensive to hire than their European or South American counterparts.

So these Selfish Team Managers cannot say they havent already profited from having African players in their squads.

The only reason they play these stupid games with African players and squads, is because we Africans have been too accomodating when it comes to applying Fifa rules on the release of players for major competition.

It is time we made an example for other short sighted, bigot coaches and Team Owners who wish to sabotage African football with their selfishness.

I support CCC 100% on his refusal to allow JJ or Kanu to spend a day past the 14 day fifa limit.
Don't mind these oyinbo people
Fulk, Ur Gabage suck.

Now I notice that the CCC bashers association are not rushing to this thread to pat the man on the back for at least appearing to be putting his foot down.

He is 100% right, and I dont think we should allow these clubs ride riod shod over us. There are FIFA rules and we need to insist that they be adhered to.

Look at Wenger for example, at the beginning of the season he did everything to frustrate Papillo, now that the brother has hit form (by getting regular playing time) and most of his other strikers are sick or injured, he now wants to hold on for longer than the stipulated FIFA time. We must say no, if we are not to set this as a precedent for future disputes.