Fans stampede at World Cup warm-up

goke313
Fans stampede at World Cup warm-up

Post by goke313 »

TEMBISA, South Africa -- Thousands of soccer fans stampeded the gates outside a stadium Sunday before a World Cup warm-up match between Nigeria and North Korea.

Several fans could be seen falling under the rush of people, many wearing Nigeria jerseys. The Makhulong Stadium in the Johannesburg suburb seats about 10,000 fans.

The first rush came when the gates opened to allow fans into the stadium. Police soon closed the gates, but when they were reopened, a second rush occurred, with more people falling and being run over.

Shortly after the second rush, the gates were closed again and much of the crowd dissipated.

A policeman was hurt in the crush and left bloodied. He was later taken away on a stretcher. Other fans who appeared to be lightly injured walked away from the scene as it calmed down.

The teams were lining up for the national anthems when the second surge happened. They had no idea what was going on outside.

Such incidents frequently happen in soccer. Last year, FIFA fined Ivory Coast's football federation $46,800 after 22 people died in a stampede at a World Cup qualifying match.

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/ ... 901&ver=us
okuns
Re: Fans stampede at World Cup warm-up

Post by okuns »

That is the mental lapse we were talking about...

okuns wrote:That is the mental lapse we were talking about...
Sharrap ya mouth dia! :evil:
Shey na our fault say dem no use Gboko cement build their stadium? Since dem born you how many times stadium collapse for Nigeria???? Nigerian fans must jollificate and gyrate anywhere anyday anytime!!!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Goke, it is more serious than I thought. Here are some pictures from a Brazilian website.

goke313

Post by goke313 »

from koc's twitter
# Getting into the Tembisa Stadium was...hell...had to run in front of the bus bringing some Koreans 34 minutes ago via UberTwitter

# Stampede I witnessed was scary. Counted at least seven people crushed. Only saved by police
goke313

Post by goke313 »

At least seven people, including one policeman and two children no more than 10 years old, were trampled upon and narrowly escaped being crushed to death in a stampede just before Nigeria's friendly against North Korea in Tembisa.

A massed crowd gathered outside the ground and forced the gates open before embarking on a mad scramble to gain entrance.

Shield-wielding police tried to stop the surge, and ended up creating a bottle-neck that left tens of people under 100s of feet.

One lady was left half conscious, and had to be revived by quick-acting police officers.

The match commissioner stopped the game minutes into the second half after receiving a belated report, but finally allowed play to continue after four minutes.

Colin Udoh
http://www.kickoff.com/news/15901/stamp ... a-game.php

YemiBrazil wrote:
Shey na our fault say dem no use Gboko cement build their stadium? Since dem born you how many times stadium collapse for Nigeria???? Nigerian fans must jollificate and gyrate anywhere anyday anytime!!!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
###

stampede was outside the stadium.....has nothing to do with cement :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: everything is a joke with u guys :boo: :boo: :boo:

Enyi wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
###

stampede was outside the stadium.....has nothing to do with cement :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: everything is a joke with u guys :boo: :boo: :boo:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Life is loaded with the good, the bad and the ugly - what is important is how you take what life throws at you.

I thought this match was supposed to have been played behind closed doors ? Cos there was no money for security?
goke313

Post by goke313 »

AreaDaddy wrote:I thought this match was supposed to have been played behind closed doors ? Cos there was no money for security?
that was vs columbia

our match vs north korea...limited to 5,000 spectators

goke313 wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:I thought this match was supposed to have been played behind closed doors ? Cos there was no money for security?
that was vs columbia

our match vs north korea...limited to 5,000 spectators
N Korea as well

I remember reading because the NFF had to foot the bill (£250,000K +) for the match against Colombia that only invited guests would watch the N.Korean match.

Anyhow not what we would like to see. South Africans need to ensure they quickly find out what went wrong...
ibraheem100
ESPN: Fans stampede gates at World Cup warm-up

Post by ibraheem100 »

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/ ... 901&ver=us

KoC mentioned in the report by the way.

Fingers are being pointed at the NFF
World Cup security was not in place at the match in Tembisa because it was a friendly. As the host team for the match, Nigeria was responsible for security and hired a private security firm.

AreaDaddy wrote:Fingers are being pointed at the NFF
World Cup security was not in place at the match in Tembisa because it was a friendly. As the host team for the match, Nigeria was responsible for security and hired a private security firm.
These guys can't seem to get anything right, they are embarassing us all over the plave, yet they want a second term!!!
Re: ESPN: Fans stampede gates at World Cup warm-up

ibraheem100 wrote:http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/ ... 901&ver=us

KoC mentioned in the report by the way.
Yea espn dey quote KOC twitter feed... unfortunate incident..

goke313

Post by goke313 »

see how we disgraced ourselves....a bunch of mugus disgracing the nation on espn hd

BBC news reported that portions of the stands were crumbling. That's why during the interruption, the police was shifting the supporters and tying some tape around a section of the stands.
Enyi wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
###