Martins and Okocha listed for African Player of the Year

Who is YOUR African Player Of The Year?

Didier Drogba
3%
Samuel Eto'o
25%
Obafemi Martins
3%
Austin Okocha
69%

Total votes: 32

mister dolly

Post by mister dolly »

...somehow..I don't see a Nigerian player picking up an APOY award in Cameroon..
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

Personally, i'd love to see Obagoal win it even more than Okocha.
Yettycom

Post by Yettycom »

i wish and hope JJ would get it. deserves it. however Etoo is strong competition.
God is good to me and all who love and follow him.. Amazingly, he's also loving to all those who dont know him. What a mighty God he is!

Though JJ has played well but it is unthinkable that Samuel Etoo will not get it. He has played just as well as JJ at the club level. Far morev important he was the key player in Cameroon's improbabvle run at the Conferedation's Cup. That alone should give him the award. The other three players will finish behind those two.
Majed

Post by Majed »

Wow

Hi all , where's Trabelsi in the poll ??

How come he's not in the list especially he has been outclassing all his oppenent in the last Champions League (2003) and chosen for the 50's for the "Ballon d'Or" award

I would be happy to see Jay Jay Okocha win the award - and he would deserve it having done so much to lift Bolton from the doldrums.

That being said, if I were voting, my vote would go to Samuel Eto.

Majed:

I also noticed that Hatem Trabelsi was ommitted from this poll, which is ridiculous if this poll is meant to reflect the 5 AFOY nominees.

Okocha, Eto and Trabelsi are the top 3 guys in my opinion. I would not lose sleep if any of the 3 won, but again, my vote would go to Eto.
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

Egunje wrote:
Rogermilla wrote:Well La Liga is better than the EPL. Eto'o has made a tremendous impact this year for both club and country, he deserves to win it this time. Okocha has also done very well. Hats to him for savibg Bolton from relegation. But what did he do for Nigeria this year? I believe this is the criteria in which the voting comittee should take into consideration. Remember Diouf won it after a good season with Lens and taking Senegal to the world cup, ahead of Kuffour who also had a very good season with Bayern but nothing for Ghana.
Anyway may the best win, and if I were voting, I will definately give it to Eto'o. This is not about being patriotic, I am merely being objective.

Martins on the other hand, should win the young player of the year, since he hasn't really made enough impact to be considered for the grand prize. I was surprised to see his name there. I was expecting to see someone like Shabani Nonda, or Stephen Pienaar, as to me these two deserved to have been on the list.

Rogermilla, we all know this has little to do with objectivity but more of patriotism.
Egunje, this is not about patriotism, but objectivity. Eto'o and Okocha both had wonderfulo seasons with their clubs. But Eto'o took the edge over Jay Jay because of his performance at the Confederations Cup. Had Jay Jay showed some of his majic for Nigeria as well this year, then this would have been a very close race. But right now, Eto wins it.
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009
Hatem Trabelsi

Post by 27 »

Majed wrote:Wow

How come he's not in the list especially he has been outclassing all his oppenent in the last Champions League (2003) and chosen for the 50's for the "Ballon d'Or" award
I accidentally omitted him. I'd add him but the forum doesn't allow polls to be updated. Hopefully, this'll be fixed soon.
Majed

Post by Majed »

May i advice you to change from phpBB to Invision Power Board since it has much more options and is faster for active forums like urs.

You better change it now before users get used to the new forum

Post by 27 »

Majed wrote:Wow

You (and Mystic) will be pleased to know that the REAL poll with ALL the contenders is here viewtopic.php?t=44.
Majed

Post by Majed »

thank you

Post by 27 »

Majed wrote:May i advice you to change from phpBB to Invision Power Board since it has much more options and is faster for active forums like urs.

You better change it now before users get used to the new forum
I think this should be in the Problems and ideas forum
viewforum.php?f=3

Post by 27 »

I still await the legendary 1naija's input to this discussion.
Chima

Post by Chima »

Ha....this one wey Majed done show up...it must me Nations Cup time again
Graphic & Web Design Specialists
http://www.effectualdesigns.net
Tempora101

Post by Tempora101 »

Okocha all the way
ikpeba24

Post by ikpeba24 »

CAF sef, Okocha is a suprise....wonders shall never end
All Hail Former APOY ~~~Victor Nosa Ikpeba~~~ a truly gifted forward!!!!

Holla
Omoga

Post by Omoga »

Eto'o will take this home; I can’t see how Okocha can win this. But anything can happen that useless diouf won it 2 times.
Immortal Technique will destroy your religion you stupid *Nice Lady*/ You're faker than blue-eyed crackers nailed to a crucifix/
Ghost

Post by Ghost »

It is a sad state of affairs that a rookie is included for the most prestigious award in our continent.