Why did Man United spend 18m on De Gea ?

Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

Young kid from spain.. inexperienced in the big stage, why did SAF sign him for that amount ? It sounds ridiculous to spend that much on a goalie of this calibre. Was Man U expecting some other club to poach him at that incredible price in a few years time that they had to go sign him up asap ?

kai.. this one na money miss road. If not for Torres and Carroll doing their waste-piping, this ex-atletico goalie would be under huge criticism.
Re: Why did Man United spend 18m on De Gea ?

Lager-back wrote:Young kid from spain.. inexperienced in the big stage, why did SAF sign him for that amount ? It sounds ridiculous to spend that much on a goalie of this calibre. Was Man U expecting some other club to poach him at that incredible price in a few years time that they had to go sign him up asap ?

kai.. this one na money miss road. If not for Torres and Carroll doing their waste-piping, this ex-atletico goalie would be under huge criticism.
Sir Alex a master of signing players.
This transaction need to be investigate.
De Gea for 18 million?Even a young striker will not cost that much.
City should be doing this not Sir Alex.

Hmmm didnt i say that De gea was an #$% keeper? see now!

kalani

Post by kalani »

De Gea was a pretty good keeper for Atleti for the past two seasons, had some absolute blinders. Just not working for him at Old Trafford.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

kalani wrote:De Gea was a pretty good keeper for Atleti for the past two seasons, had some absolute blinders. Just not working for him at Old Trafford.
How many keepers go for 18m??? There are many shady things going on in some of these transfers! On what basis was the valuation? How much better is De Gea as compared to the other available keepers!

There is no transparency in the shady world fo football transfers. Redknapp probably took a cut from this deal. De Gea has been a calamity and is fighting for his United career. The main problem is cultural, in Spain if a striker so much as sneezes in the box, its a foul on the keeper, a farcry form the rough and tumble of the premiership. Was it not Peter Cech, crumpled in a heap on the turf, expanding subdural haematoma, that was urged to 'get on with it' by an official? Then there was the colloquial Garvin Stomp and elbow by Kevin Davies to Jens Lehman. Its a contact sport here and no more than pret-a-porter en Espana. Dwe Geaisn't built for the battle, physically or mentally. There seems to a genetic readiness for the rigors innate to Eastern Europeans and Scandinavians, Aberdeen Windbag better put his paella in the shop window and get back to browsing Viking territory.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:

Do u work for or with that naija congress man known for big time grammar :???: :???: :???:

....i suspect when ever united manager want to lose and move on he use de hays, but when it comes to a must win long run he goes for the other guy liningaard.
TonyStarks

Post by TonyStarks »

Lager-back wrote:Young kid from spain.. inexperienced in the big stage, why did SAF sign him for that amount ? It sounds ridiculous to spend that much on a goalie of this calibre. Was Man U expecting some other club to poach him at that incredible price in a few years time that they had to go sign him up asap ?

You do realize that he's just 21 and has already played almost 100 games at the professional level? It's almost impossible to find a goalie that is even a regular at his age, let alone has that many gamse under his belt for clubs like Atletico and Manchester. SAF knows what he's doing, it's a long term investment. If he works out for them, it'll be a very small price to pay in the long run.
http://en.dzfoot.com

He's a good goalie but his youth is rearing it's ugly head due to the pressure of having to keep sir Alex and manu faithfuls happy - which is night and day different from the pressure of Athletico Madrid. This is not a lack of physicality issue: he is physically strong enough for his task; pretty athletic, agile and has good footballing/ distribution skills. His problem is mental not physical. Problem is Alex is not usually patient with goalies. Ask Tim Howard (a pretty good goalie). De Gea knows this hence the ever increasing pressure.

Long-term signing and after the initial hiccups will most likely end up being Man Utd's No.1 for a very long time. Utd will likely end up without a trophy this season and will surely up the pressure some notches next season. Won't rule out a loan move to nPower Championship or a smaller EPL team to ease the pressure on De Gea.

kalani

Post by kalani »

YemiBrazil wrote:Long-term signing and after the initial hiccups will most likely end up being Man Utd's No.1 for a very long time. Utd will likely end up without a trophy this season and will surely up the pressure some notches next season. Won't rule out a loan move to nPower Championship or a smaller EPL team to ease the pressure on De Gea.
I could see him going to Wigan or wherever Roberto Martinez is next year, he was interested in De Gea way before he became A. Madrid's number 1.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

He is top notch as he proved at Atleti. He did have a terrible game yesterday but I think he will come good. This is his first season at Utd after all. Sometimes the transition takes a while
kalani

Post by kalani »

Also him being unproven on the big stage is partly incorrect, he had not featured for an elite side prior to this season but he did win the Europa League in 2009.
megapro wrote:

kalani wrote:Also him being unproven on the big stage is partly incorrect, he had not featured for an elite side prior to this season but he did win the Europa League in 2009.
With all due respect, the pressure of winning Europa league is nothing close to the pressure of winning the EPL and CL (ManU's annual targets).

YUJAM wrote:He is top notch as he proved at Atleti. He did have a terrible game yesterday but I think he will come good. This is his first season at Utd after all. Sometimes the transition takes a while
Top notch for 18milla???? Any other keeper for that amount before?

Goalkeepers have a long lifespan. 18 million is a bargain for a kid who still has about 20 years of football in him.
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

bushboy wrote:Goalkeepers have a long lifespan. 18 million is a bargain for a kid who still has about 20 years of football in him.
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

kalani wrote:Also him being unproven on the big stage is partly incorrect, he had not featured for an elite side prior to this season but he did win the Europa League in 2009.
he played 57 matches over 2 years for the senior atletico team before his move to england.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

yes De Gea has time on his hands but one only hopes that his confidence is not shattered with all these dissapointments hence stunting his mental development..
After VDS left Ajax, he was almost a journey man at Juve prior to re-establishing himself at Fulham and then to Man U...

I can understand where a few posters are coming from with their argument. For 18M, you will expect a keeper that could perform on the job while still growing.. So far, De Gea has been sub par relative to the price paid. Now I don't even feel bad that Chelsea loaned out Curtois to continue his development in a less stressful/expectant environment.
A lot of these keepers also need to adjust to the new league with teams that have varying style of play. One weekend you are playing teams like Arsenal/Spurs that keep ball on the ground and the following weekend you have to readjust to the Stokes/Norwichs that just launch relentless hail mary's...

Only two keepers in the whole world that I can remember ever cost > 20M. Buffon to Juve and Nuener to Bayern...
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

i thought after the 2010 WC they were going for the Dutch goalie Stekelensberg (spelling)
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

The same reason they spent £7m on Bebe.. :blink:
To God be the glory
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Only time will tell, but I believe De Gea will be a great signing for that price. Even the best keepers make mistakes.
The kid is like 21 years old ... 21 ... come on now.