The Community Plate - How did Obi Play?

CMS
Re: The Community Plate - How did Obi Play?

Post by CMS »

John Obi Mikel 5: Also went Awol when Ivanovic was dismissed and was anonymous in the second half. Will be a surprise if he starts at Wigan next weekend. Another player to ponder for Di Matteo.
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
Re:

Post by Super Eagle »

Skylolo wrote:The quality is there...

But I don't see the initiative, desire and drive that makes the difference between Good and Great player...

And I detest the way Chelsea play short passes in midfield only to launch a 50 yard pass into the opposition defence moments later, its not the ideal way to develop a Complete midfielder.
Truer words have never been spoken!

I think Mikel is a lazy player who doesn't believe he can be better than average :(
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
Re: Re:

Super Eagle wrote:

But I don't see the initiative, desire and drive that makes the difference between Good and Great player...

And I detest the way Chelsea play short passes in midfield only to launch a 50 yard pass into the opposition defence moments later, its not the ideal way to develop a Complete midfielder.

I think Mikel is a lazy player who doesn't believe he can be better than average :(
The reason why I stopped supporting him...his apparent lack of desire to better his game.

Post by Super Eagle »

Super Eagle wrote:

The reason why I stopped supporting him...his apparent lack of desire to better his game.
Same here. I mean, we can only blame Jose Mourinho for so long
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer

ClubChelsea
Premier League (1): 2009–10
FA Cup (4): 2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2011–12
League Cup (1): 2006–07
FA Community Shield (1): 2009
UEFA Champions League (1): 2011–12
IndividualU-20 World Cup Silver football 2005
African Young Player of the Year: 2005, 2006
Chelsea Young Player of the Year: 2007, 2008
and just 25 .. Mikel laughing all the way to the podium

Re:

lagos777 wrote:
analyzer wrote:Questions from WYC 05 for una wey wan make Mikel be JJ..

1. How often did Mikel dribble the defence?

2. How often did Mikel take shots on goal?

3. How many goals did he score from open play?

and the biggest question
4. What were his strengths and weaknesses from that tournament????
My broda, the thing done tire me. I don't know which Mikel they watched win the silver boot in Holland'05. From the very first game I watched, I noticed he was not an attacking midfielder in the mold of JJ or nwosu or any of the past SE attacking midfielders (and mentioned this on a thread 2 yrs ago - i no get time for research). The kid likes to sit deep - just in front of the DM and string passes from that position. Every once in a while pushing forward to join the attack just outside the box. He never did a lot of running and certainly took like close to zero shots on goal the entire tournament. Yet, he was voted second best. What did the voters see? What did manU & chelsea see? What has Jose seen?
When I see learned folks like Enugu talk about Obi's skill set in the same context as JJ, I am befuddled. Did we watch the same WYC tournament. The same Obi that virtually lived beside Kaita, sending long balls down the flanks. Barely got into the opponents 18.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

soma

Post by soma »

paj wrote:Some players were Chelsea are guilty of playing that ball into the box as if half expecting Drogba to appear out of China to come head am... :evil:

When RDM is ready to play attacking football he will move his defence a bit higher up the pitch... You don't expect mata to get the ball just outside his own 18 yard and go on a mazy run same as hazard and Torres.

3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....

CMS wrote:
John Obi Mikel 5: Also went Awol when Ivanovic was dismissed and was anonymous in the second half. Will be a surprise if he starts at Wigan next weekend. Another player to ponder for Di Matteo.

Yes, I saw that. Kinda premature though. He did not have a great game, lost the ball three times at least but also made some tackles, passes and blocks and played 90 minutes. While it was a trophy match and should be taken seriously it is still early in the season. All told would never go by ratings to know how Mikel plays...I believe he plays much better than they rate him.

Not this revisionist history again :blush:

He did run at the opposing defnce in 2005 with the FE and later with Lyn Oslo.

More importantly he showed a passing range, even from deep, that directly influenced the attacking game.

lagos777 wrote:
analyzer wrote:Questions from WYC 05 for una wey wan make Mikel be JJ..

1. How often did Mikel dribble the defence?

2. How often did Mikel take shots on goal?

3. How many goals did he score from open play?

and the biggest question
4. What were his strengths and weaknesses from that tournament????
My broda, the thing done tire me. I don't know which Mikel they watched win the silver boot in Holland'05. From the very first game I watched, I noticed he was not an attacking midfielder in the mold of JJ or nwosu or any of the past SE attacking midfielders (and mentioned this on a thread 2 yrs ago - i no get time for research). The kid likes to sit deep - just in front of the DM and string passes from that position. Every once in a while pushing forward to join the attack just outside the box. He never did a lot of running and certainly took like close to zero shots on goal the entire tournament. Yet, he was voted second best. What did the voters see? What did manU & chelsea see? What has Jose seen?
When I see learned folks like Enugu talk about Obi's skill set in the same context as JJ, I am befuddled. Did we watch the same WYC tournament. The same Obi that virtually lived beside Kaita, sending long balls down the flanks. Barely got into the opponents 18.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

Bigpokey24 wrote:Image
ClubChelsea
Premier League (1): 2009–10
FA Cup (4): 2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2011–12
League Cup (1): 2006–07
FA Community Shield (1): 2009
UEFA Champions League (1): 2011–12
IndividualU-20 World Cup Silver football 2005
African Young Player of the Year: 2005, 2006
Chelsea Young Player of the Year: 2007, 2008
and just 25 .. Mikel laughing all the way to the podium
Kai.. Bp.. U really wan finis me 2day :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

paj wrote:Some players were Chelsea are guilty of playing that ball into the box as if half expecting Drogba to appear out of China to come head am... :evil:
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

How is our guy looking for this years Community Plate?

x

General Trousers wrote:How is our guy looking for this years Community Plate?

x
He will be "looking" through binoculars :dream:

General Trousers wrote:How is our guy looking for this years Community Plate?

x
He will be "looking" through binoculars :dream:
General Trousers

The Community Plate dey come again, and Chelsea no dey am this year. But Musa go dey. Wetin Musa go do for that day? Im go fit carry that plate and use am swallow eba, or Manchester United go send am to wash plate like house boy?

<<
General Trousers

Obi no dey, but Moses dey. Player ratings please.

<

General Trousers wrote:Obi no dey, but Moses dey. Player ratings please.

<
What of Iwobi? or its about Chelsea Naija boys?
General Trousers

The Community Plate ... Nah who follow chop eba today?