Is there a More Consistent AFCON Team than Nigeria?

Re: Is there a More Consistent AFCON Team than Nigeria?

In 17 AFCONS this is Nigeria's record:

*16 quarter-finals (i.e. they get to the QF nearly 95% of the time).
*14 times they have finished in the top 3 places (i.e top three 82% of the time).
*7 times they have been in the final.
*They have not failed to qualify for the quarter-finals for over 30 years.

This is some amazing stuff. Reading previous posts on this forum, one would be tempted to think that Nigeria has the footballing record and pedigree of Madagascar.

Nigeria has now equaled Egypt's record of 14 times in the top 4.

Although Nigeria still leads in top 3 finishes.

Nigeria is lagging in top 2 finishes by 1 Final. 1 less than Ghana and Egypt.

If Nigeria defeats Ghana, Nigeria will have won more games at the AFCON than every country in Africa, except for Egypt.

At the conclusion of the ANC 2013, Nigeria will be 4 games away from having played as many games in the ANC as Egypt, although we have played in 5 less tournaments.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

wiseone wrote:In 17 AFCONS this is Nigeria's record:

*14 times they have finished in the top 3 places (i.e top three 82% of the time).

This is some amazing stuff. Reading previous posts on this forum, one would be tempted to think that Nigeria has the footballing record and pedigree of Madagascar.
And most important of all:

2 ACN titles (soon to be 3).

The fact of the matter is Nigeria has been Africa's biggest under-achiever and this is an indisputable fact. It has Africa's largest population, a wealth of talent in Africa and Europe and yet only 2 ACNs.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Tbite wrote:Nigeria has now equaled Egypt's record of 14 times in the top 4.

Although Nigeria still leads in top 3 finishes.

Nigeria is lagging in top 2 finishes by 1 Final. 1 less than Ghana and Egypt.

If Nigeria defeats Ghana, Nigeria will have won more games at the AFCON than every country in Africa, except for Egypt.

At the conclusion of the ANC 2013, Nigeria will be 4 games away from having played as many games in the ANC as Egypt, although we have played in 5 less tournaments.
Abeg, enough with the moral victories. You are better than that T-Biscuit. All that matters is ACN trophies.

If you are a Burkina Faso, Zambia, Mali, etc then semi-final/final appearances is a big deal. But when you are a perennial challenger like Nigeria, all that matters at the end of the day is one thing and one thing only. Trophies.

wiseone wrote:(apart from Egypt)

In their last 16 AFCON appearances, Nigeria have reached the semi-finals 13 times. They have not failed to qualify for the quarter-final for over 20 years.

Astonishing. :shock:
This is why I had to laugh at those who thought Naija was not going far at this tournament. I laughed so hard!! Betty fhoked up big time when we couldn't go past Quarters in 2008! There is no way an ANC will not feature Nigeria in at least the semis, unless we don't make the tournament or we willingly/unvoluntarily don't want to perform. Take this to the bank!

So does this mean that the AFCON's biggest chokers at the final hurdle are Nigeria? (and not Ivory Coast as everyone says?)
Heliopolis wrote:

The fact of the matter is Nigeria has been Africa's biggest under-achiever and this is an indisputable fact. It has Africa's largest population, a wealth of talent in Africa and Europe and yet only 2 ACNs.
K

Post by K »

The best thing about the 90s was the fear we instill in our opponents. Teams $#% in their pants when they need to face the Eagles in the cauldrons of Surulere.

And the best thing about this moment is that the FEAR of Naija is back. Imagine the Malian goalie saying he saw 15 green shirts bearing upon him, or the mixture of joy and FEAR reported in Ouagadougou.

All we need to do on SUnday is SPELL BURKINA -FASO (yes, 11 goals) like we spelt MALI and you will see teams hiding from us during the World Cup qualifiers. Ok lets just score about 5 on sunday
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

wiseone wrote:So does this mean that the AFCON's biggest chokers at the final hurdle are Nigeria? (and not Ivory Coast as everyone says?)
Heliopolis wrote:

Nigeria has 8 times the population of CIV and Nigeria has been an African footballing power for the better part of 30 years. CIV have enjoyed success the past 7 years and for a brief period in the early 90s. Given Nigeria's size, wealth, and footballing talent, it's safe to say they are the ACN's greatest underachiever.

Heliopolis wrote:
wiseone wrote:So does this mean that the AFCON's biggest chokers at the final hurdle are Nigeria? (and not Ivory Coast as everyone says?)
Heliopolis wrote:

Nigeria has 8 times the population of CIV and Nigeria has been an African footballing power for the better part of 30 years. CIV have enjoyed success the past 7 years and for a brief period in the early 90s. Given Nigeria's size, wealth, and footballing talent, it's safe to say they are the ACN's greatest underachiever.
That you have large population does not equal = more talent. That you have wealth does not equal talent. Other factors come into play.

Good to hear from a non-Nigerian on this forum. I like to see how Nigeria is perceived by others. I do wonder though - what would Nigeria have done in the 1996 and 1998 AFCONs had they been allowed to compete? The way they casually brushed aside previous two-time finalists South Africa (who were widely regarded as the best team in Nigeria's absence) in 2000, suggests that it would have taken horror refereeing or a massive injury crisis to stop Nigeria from winning the 96 and 98 tournaments.

Abacha really hurt Nigerian football and set it back several years. It is a tragedy that players like Okocha, Oliseh, George, Amokachi and Amunike have only 1 AFCON medal (Kanu, West, and Babangida have none!).
Heliopolis wrote:

K

Post by K »

Heliopolis wrote:

So what would you say about Ethiopia - the 2nd most populous country in Africa?
mmeny

Post by mmeny »

NIGERIA IS A FOOTBALLING POWERHOUSE IN AFRICA ENOUGH SAID. No team in Africa is as consistent has Nigeria.
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I

2019 Update:

*18 AFCONs
*15 semi-final appearances
*17 quarter-final appearances

Haba Naija has 3 ANC not 2,where did you guys get that from?1980,1994 and 2013.
Naija should have had like 7 ANC,3 is too small,i am more worried SE yet to win world cup or be in last 4 of world cup consistent.

kajifu wrote:Haba Naija has 3 ANC not 2,where did you guys get that from?1980,1994 and 2013.
Naija should have had like 7 ANC,3 is too small,i am more worried SE yet to win world cup or be in last 4 of world cup consistent.
See the date of the posts you are complaining about.

aruako1 wrote:
kajifu wrote:Haba Naija has 3 ANC not 2,where did you guys get that from?1980,1994 and 2013.

aruako1 wrote:

This is one of the reasons why Nigerians fail exams :woot: no critical observation!!! :biggrin:

Tbite ooooooo. Thank God for the ANC

When you also lump in all other age related and female football at every level, Nigeria is unrivalled in African football.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Senator WIRES wrote:
aruako1 wrote:

This is one of the reasons why Nigerians fail exams :woot: no critical observation!!! :biggrin:
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

pajimoh wrote:When you also lump in all other age related and female football at every level, Nigeria is unrivalled in African football.
Which is exactly the reason why w should be competing favourably on the world stage.

Senator WIRES wrote:
aruako1 wrote:

It might just mean that he has a job and didn't have time to spot the error.

We want more AFCON trophies, not consistency. If you've been that consistent it means you've been underachieving with only 3 trophies.