NIGERIAN GOALKEEPERS: WHAT I SAW SO FAR!

Post by GUEST »

First time in yrs, I was opportuned to watch more than a DOZEN Nigerian Domestic League matches on tapes; ENYIMBA, RANGERS, BENDEL INSURANCE, INWANYAHUN, KANO PILLARS, SHARKS-JULIUS BERGER--WIKKI TOURIST--etc-etc. Also I was opportunrd to watched THE CONTINENTAL MATCHES Played by ENYIMBA-RANGERS and JULIUS BERGER AND AAG MATCHES.
For the purpose of this discussion, I will focus my attention on 3GKS currently in camp. AGAIN THIS IS JUST MY OPINION BASED ON WHAT I SAW.
After watching all these tapes, I discovered that Nigerian GKS are very Good in one thing-- STOPPING SHOT. They are all shot stoppers and very Good at it. Now to the 3 in camp.

1. SAM OKOYE: In my opinion, this is the Best GK we have in Nigeria. This guy is both good on the ground and air. I liked his aggresiveness- His Williness to sacrifice his body to prevent ball going into the net. Set Piece--I liked the way he plucked the ball from opponents head.

2. ROTIMI SUNDAY: How tall is this guy? 6:2, 6:3! I saw him in 6 matches played. I liked this guy too. Rotimi Sunday got all the Qualities to be a VERY GOOD ONE for Nigeria. Also Good on the ground and air also. I can see why Coach Abdullahi used him instead of Dele Aiyenugba in the AAG Tournament.

3. VINCENT ENYEAMA: I watched him agaist ISMAIL-USMA-ASEC-SIMBA in their Continental Matches-Enyeama LACK NO CONFIDENCE BUT VERY RECKLESS SOMETIME. SHOT STOPPER--HE IS. He won't be my First choice in ANC-2004.

Again My observation was restricted to the Domestic League matches and Continental matches. Chukwu and his Crew will make the final Decision on whom the Goalkeepers will be.

NOW TO THE OTHER 2 IN CAMP

GREG ETTAFIA: I watched Him:

1. SUPER-EAGLES VS GHANA--LG CUP

2. JAPAN VS SUPER-EAGLES--FRIENDLY IN JAPAN.

Mr. Ettafia just doesn't caught it with me and I hope he prove me wrong.

AUSTIN EJIDE: After the debacle in Benin--Against Angola-I think Ejide got more to prove to the Coaches .

Again, chukwu, On the 16th of Jan, 2004 will come out with his list of 22 players.

This is just my OPINION.
Last edited by GUEST on Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:32 am, edited 3 times in total.
geminikoat

Post by geminikoat »

So who do u think should be #1 from your list? And where is Etafia playing? Good observation tho.
...but with God all things are possible...

Post by 27 »

geminikoat wrote:So who do u think should be #1 from your list? And where is Etafia playing? Good observation tho.
He says Sam Okoye is best.
Re: NIGERIAN GOALKEEPERS: WHAT I SAW SO FAR!

Post by 27 »

GUEST wrote:First time in yrs, I was opportuned to watch more than a DOZEN Nigerian Domestic League matches on tapes; ENYIMBA, RANGERS, BENDEL INSURANCE, INWANYAHUN, KANO PILLARS, SHARKS-JULIUS BERGER--WIKKI TOURIST--etc-etc. Also I was opportunrd to watched THE CONTINENTAL MATCHES Played by ENYIMBA-RANGERS and JULIUS BERGER AND AAG MATCHES.
For the purpose of this discussion, I will focus my attention on 3GKS currently in camp. AGAIN THIS IS JUST MY OPINION BASED ON WHAT I SAW.
After watching all these tapes, I discovered that Nigerian GKS are very Good in one thing-- STOPPING SHOT. They are all shot stoppers and very Good at it. Now to the 3 in camp.

1. SAM OKOYE: In my opinion, this is the Best GK we have in Nigeria. This guy is both good on the ground and air. I liked his aggresiveness-Willing to sacrifice his body to prevent ball going into the net. Set Piece--I liked the way he pluck the ball from opponents head.

2. ROTIMI SUNDAY: How tall is this guy? 6:2, 6:3! I saw him in 6 matches played. I liked this guy too. Rotimi Sunday got all the Qualities to be a VERY GOOD ONE for Nigeria. Also Good on the ground and air also. I can see why Coach Abdullahi used him instead of Dele Aiyenugba in the AAG Tournament.

3. VINCENT ENYEAMA: I watched him agaist ISMAIL-USMA-ASEC-SIMBA in their Continental Matches-Enyeama LACK NO CONFIDENCE BUT VERY RECKLESS SOMETIME. SHOT STOPPER--HE IS. He won't be my First choice in ANC-2004.

This is just my OPINION.
What?
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

27 wrote:
GUEST wrote:First time in yrs, I was opportuned to watch more than a DOZEN Nigerian Domestic League matches on tapes; ENYIMBA, RANGERS, BENDEL INSURANCE, INWANYAHUN, KANO PILLARS, SHARKS-JULIUS BERGER--WIKKI TOURIST--etc-etc. Also I was opportunrd to watched THE CONTINENTAL MATCHES Played by ENYIMBA-RANGERS and JULIUS BERGER AND AAG MATCHES.

1. SAM OKOYE: In my opinion, this is the Best GK we have in Nigeria. This guy is both good on the ground and air. I liked his aggresiveness-Willing to sacrifice his body to prevent ball going into the net. Set Piece--I liked the way he pluck the ball from opponents head.

This is just my OPINION.
What?
I was just thinking the same thing :mrgreen:

This same thing was posted in the old forum and somebody asked thesame question....."WHAT" :D.
Nawa EW u no dey sleep :D :D

Post by GUEST »

My observation was restricted to the Domestic League. Chukwu and his Crew will make the final Decision on whom the Goalkeeper will be.

AUSTIN EJIDE: After the debacle in Benin--Against Angola-I think Ejide got more to prove to the Coaches .

Again, chukwu, On the 16th of Jan, 2004 will come out with his list of 22 players.

geminikoat wrote:So who do u think should be #1 from your list? And where is Etafia playing? Good observation tho.
Greg Etafia plays for Swallows in the South Africa Premier League -- and Ayoakinfe loves him for that singular fact that he plays abroad. For those of us who have followed his career somewhat more closely from his days as Gk of the Sydney Olympics team (replacing an injured Rotimi Sunday) through his post-Olympic days as captain of Plateau United to his recent Eagles' appearances, the jury is still out.
geminikoat

Post by geminikoat »

Greg Etafia plays for Swallows in the South Africa Premier League -- and Ayoakinfe loves him for that singular fact that he plays abroad. For those of us who have followed his career somewhat more closely from his days as Gk of the Sydney Olympics team (replacing an injured Rotimi Sunday) through his post-Olympic days as captain of Plateau United to his recent Eagles' appearances, the jury is still out.
Thanks for the 411 on Etafia.
...but with God all things are possible...

Abeg, Wia BigShawn dey?? Im chieftaincy title dey under serious threat. Guest,how u go spell Iwuayanwu like that ehn?

How come Eyeamah gets picked ahead of those other keepers?

I like Sam Okoye from what i saw in Naija'99 where he gave a good solid performances in the games he kept in before losing to Mali in the quaterfinals. Haven't seen him since but he should have been in the SE long time ago and felt JB should have used him in Sydney when it became clear to all Greg Etafia was a complete joke and a disaster...

Haven't seen Etafia in 3-4yrs and i hope he has improved. If not i can live with Enyeama...
sunshinestar

Post by sunshinestar »

1. SAM OKOYE: In my opinion, this is the Best GK we have in Nigeria. This guy is both good on the ground and air. I liked his aggresiveness- His Williness to sacrifice his body to prevent ball going into the net. Set Piece--I liked the way he plucked the ball from opponents head.

Again My observation was restricted to the Domestic League matches and Continental matches. Chukwu and his Crew will make the final Decision on whom the Goalkeepers will be.

NOW TO THE OTHER 2 IN CAMP

This is just my OPINION.
I agree with you in all totality.
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

So why all the obsession with Enyeama if it is plainly obvious he ain't the best domestic keeper?
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Me I wonder too!!

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Don't even bring Enyeama's name into this. He is the worst GK I have ever seen play for Nigeria.

What about Murphy Akanji?

Well, you sorta highlighted the problems of Naija's goalkeeping. Goalkeeping is an ART, which we seemed to have lost after Okala. We now have shot-stoppers.

MYMIND

Post by MYMIND »

All because he stopped 1 nice shot in WC 2002 from the boot of Paul Scholes. I wonder when that one superlative save will wear off
Martin

Post by Martin »

In my view the primary benefit of this extended training camp in Faro is it will give the coaching staff the opportunity to look at all 5 goalkeepers in camp and select the three who are in best form at the time for the ANC squad. No sense in going into ANC with a goalie who is not in good form. It'll be interesting to see how this plays out. Etafia and Rotimi split playing tiem in Nigeria's first friendly in Portugal. We'll soon find out who plays today's match.

By the way thanks to Guest for his rundown of the various domestically based keepers. Since many of us don't get a chance to see them in action, his opinion of their strengths/weaknesses is appreciated. I have to agree with him that many Nigerian keepers are good shot stoppers but I always question their hands and their ability to control their penalty area.

I wish Okoye comes out on top. May the best man win!

lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:I wish Okoye comes out on top. May the best man win!
Oxymoron ?

Bump. Hindsight na real wahala. See how Vince dey for person eye.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics