kolinzo wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
anointed wrote:
kolinzo wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
kolinzo wrote:
Let's give it up for total football!!
Scolari taking responsibility for this loss. Now that's a coach!!
You mean tiki-taka is no longer dead?

Nothing tiki taka about what the Germans did. They were direct and on point. No need for 90% possession like the team we know. Tiki taka is dead.
U dey mind Vincent. Even if he were the resurrection and the life, he couldn't bring tiki taka back to life.
I think the problem with you guys is you misunderstand what tiki-taka is about. It is not about passing for the sake of passing.
It is about one-touch, pass-and-move football with players capable of interchanging position with ease. If there is no bus parked in front of the defense, there is no need for 100 passes or 70% posession.
Tiki taka is not total football, my guy.
What is the difference?
As I said before, a lot of people don't really understand what tiki-taka is. They think it is a game of passing and possession introduced by Guardiola. In reality, it was brought to Barca in the 1970s by one of the fathers of Dutch total football - Rinus Michels - from the Netherlands when he became the coach of Barca. He arrived at Barca with Johan Cruyff as a player and Cruyff later entrenched the style in all divisions at Barca when he became Barca coach and Guardiola was later a player under him.
Barca's tiki-taka is a form of total football that has evolved several times since the 1970s. Barca's tiki-taka was different under Michels, it evolved under Johan Cruyff in the early 1990s, evolved again under Luis van Gaal in the late 1990s, evolved under Frank Rijkard in the mid-2000s, and the latest evolution came in 2008 under Guardiola.
Even Bayern Munich was playing a form of tiki-taka before Guardiola arrived, as it was introduced under Luis van Gaal. Again, some people think Bayern began playing tiki-taka under Guardiola. Of course, Guardiola's tiki-taka is more extreme than Van Gaal's, but it is still tiki-taka. In fact, Van Gaal's tiki-taka at Barca was different from his tiki-taka at Bayern and different from his tiki-taka with the Ajax of Finidi and Kanu. That is a lot of different evolutions of tiki-taka and that evolution with continue.
By the way, some form of the "dead" tiki-taka it will be coming to Man United under Van Gaal (it won't be the Barca or Bayern or Ajax version because Man United has a different set of players).