2014 WORLD CUP FINAL: GERMANY VS ARGENTINA 1-0 (FT) Gotze

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: 2014 WORLD CUP FINAL: GERMANY VS ARGENTINA 1-0 (FT) Gotz

What a game this was!

Remember my first WC final.

Listened as a kid as my Dad tuned to BBC World service in 1974, Germany v Holland.

Continue to RIP old man....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
asabe
Re: 2014 WORLD CUP FINAL: GERMANY VS ARGENTINA 0-0 (2ndE.T)

Post by asabe »

SylverEagles wrote:Schweinsteger my MAN OF MATCH!!!! Warrior!!!! :thumbs: :thumbs:

Boateng for me.
I think Boateng edges it on MOM.
“love the life you live. live the life you love.” Bob Marley

skillful wrote:if keshi had done the right thing President Goodluck could have been hugging our boys
Please!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: you don see?

Dem tink say di tin stopping Naija from winning WC na coaching... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Vincent. wrote:
txj wrote:Messi, FULLY deserved.

He is the one individual who most singularly defined the tournament...
Tell that to James Rodriguez.
What exactly did James Rodrigues do? He scored a great goal and his movement was superb, but he left the tournament three matches agp

Then why not give it to Meuller who scored more goals, had more assists and also had the small lil trophy to show for it?

tfco wrote:Image
:???: :???: :???: :???:

Looking at the ages of the German players, you can see they have the foundations to remain at the top for a few more years...with Spain BTW...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

skillful wrote:if keshi had done the right thing President Goodluck could have been hugging our boys
...no, if the thieves has done right.

Ekorian wrote:
tfco wrote:Image
:???: :???: :???: :???:
Just as dry as BS!

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: So serious pipul actually think he deserves it?

Kai...
Not just from winning 5 MOM awards from 7 games.

he singularly defined how other teams played against them...
Nna, when it comes to subjective awards, na you be Subject Matter Expert... :D :taunt: :taunt:

KB wrote:The tale of the two Boateng brothers.
One chose Ghana and ended up being kicked out of the tournament before the last game with the coach telling him to f&&k up!
The other chose Deutshland and is now World Champion.
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

So Schweinsteger fit smile and laugh...

Vincent. wrote:

Tell that to James Rodriguez.
What exactly did James Rodrigues do? He scored a great goal and his movement was superb, but he left the tournament three matches agp

Then why not give it to Meuller who scored more goals, had more assists and also had the small lil trophy to show for it?
Another good choice.

Watching the replays/highlights...

Boateng has got to be the MOM of this match.

txj wrote:Looking at the ages of the German players, you can see they have the foundations to remain at the top for a few more years...with Spain BTW...
....Only with the help of FIFA 'match fixers' :curse: .
Junk German team that failed against Ghana :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

One chose Ghana and ended up being kicked out of the tournament before the last game with the coach telling him to f&&k up!
...will always be that not excusing Ghana Boating fccukup. 1st world vs. 3rd world.

Togolese logic

Very similar to Naija logic... :taunt:

Cellular wrote:So Schweinsteger fit smile and laugh...
...if ur house dey burn and u win 100 mill a u no go laf
Bestplayer

Post by Bestplayer »

Bigpokey24 wrote:Fifa is too corrupt
Kpom :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Yes FIFA is currupt but you remain remorselessly stupid to see the crook that Keshi is. A man who simply traded a potential successful outing for dubious bonus sharing. What a clown. :idea:
KB

Post by KB »

Togolese logic
Bro, I am just stating the fact.
Last edited by KB on Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

It was only a matter of time before Argentina's anaemic attack came back to haunt them. None of Higuain, Aguero, Palacio, Lavezzi had a good tournament. At the end of the day Argentina scored only 1 goal in their last 320 minutes of action and just 2 goals in 450 minutes in the KO-stage.

They were set up to win today and had chance after chance but no one was in form. Higuain had been abysmal all tournament and his miss was just shocking. Palacio offered absolutely nothing all tournament and his miss was embarrassing.

Messi is my favorite player on the planet but he did not have a very good tournament. I had been questioning his work rate since the beginning of the tournament and today it was no different. Was he instructed by the manager to conserve his energy or did he decide that himself? Either way, his effectiveness was limited and while he helped Argentina get this far, he could have done more. Germany did not show him a lot of respect and gave him space to operate but he could not deliver. He wasted a golden chance in the 2nd half and had other good chances. I wonder if he put too much pressure on himself, or if he didnt adequately recover from his injuries this past season because he was not in top form in Brazil. I fear we may see a drop in form from him in the coming months and years. It'll be hard for him to maintain top fitness level with his busy schedule and I wonder if he'll have the motivation within him. He has Copa America duties the next 2 summers and then WCQ the 2 years after that so the guy is bound to slip up.

Props to the Germans. They deserved to win this WC and were logical winners in a WC where no team was really exceptional. They did well to overcome to the injuries to Khedira and Kramer and though they played with fire by giving the Argentines too much space to counter-attack, I gotta give them credit for coming out and playing attacking and risk-taking football from start to finish. Lets see if this is the start of a special run by the Germans where they win 2-3 major trophies in a row.