PINNICK MUST SETUP A PROGRAM TO ATTRACT FOREIGN BORN PLAYERS

JACKAL
PINNICK MUST SETUP A PROGRAM TO ATTRACT FOREIGN BORN PLAYERS

Post by JACKAL »

Nigeria should have a program where we are already talking to all these foreign born players even before they make the grade at top level European teams. We need to try and win their hearts and minds and convince them early to consider playing for Nigeria because it would enhance their careers.

Don't wait till they make Chelsea or any of the top teams. Make contact with them when they are 15 and they are starlets of their respective youth team. Wine and dine their parents and remind them of their roots. Gives them trips to come home or go meet and see big Nigerian star like Mikel so that they feel like they belong.

This is why we missed out on the likes of a Young Fashanu, Amoebi, Sidney Sam etc etc.

Chelsea debut excites Nigerian starlet Solanke

Dominic Solanke - Chelsea debut on Tuesday night

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Oct 22, 2014. 09:50

Nigeria-born teenager Dominic Solanke was delighted to make his first-team debut for Chelsea at a bigger stage when he was thrown into the fray against Maribor in the Champions League.

At age 17, the midfielder lasted for 18 minutes. He was first named in the first team last weekend against Crystal Palace where he was an unused substitute.

"Wow. What a moment. Making my debut for Chelsea in the champions league! Thank you so much for all the messages and support! #CFC," Dominic Solanke tweeted.
http://africanfootball.com/news/470829/ ... et-Solanke
Re: PINNICK MUST SETUP A PROGRAM TO ATTRACT FOREIGN BORN PLA

Nice to see that Bershire England has now been added as Nigerian Sovereign Territory. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Nigerian-born
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

What a stupid thread.

Solowe wrote:Nigeria should have a program where we are already talking to all these foreign born players even before they make the grade at top level European teams. We need to try and win their hearts and minds and convince them early to consider playing for Nigeria because it would enhance their careers.

Don't wait till they make Chelsea or any of the top teams. Make contact with them when they are 15 and they are starlets of their respective youth team. Wine and dine their parents and remind them of their roots. Gives them trips to come home or go meet and see big Nigerian star like Mikel so that they feel like they belong.

This is why we missed out on the likes of a Young Fashanu, Amoebi, Sidney Sam etc etc.

by Staff Reporter

Nigeria-born teenager Dominic Solanke was delighted to make his first-team debut for Chelsea at a bigger stage when he was thrown into the fray against Maribor in the Champions League.

At age 17, the midfielder lasted for 18 minutes. He was first named in the first team last weekend against Crystal Palace where he was an unused substitute.

"Wow. What a moment. Making my debut for Chelsea in the champions league! Thank you so much for all the messages and support! #CFC," Dominic Solanke tweeted.
I think you would find that Nigeria was not their first choice. Nigeria has had its share of foreign born internationals in the past so I don't know what you are on about apart from making a nuisance of yourself. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Because he is foreign born means he is better? Is he better than Iheanacho? Nwakali? Ezeh? or any of our homegrown youth talent?

We have a lot of talent at home. Talent is not our problem. Would rather setup a program to improve the level of youth coaching we get in Nigeria. We rely too much on individual talent. Our youngsters don't get the same level of tactical and technical training as their European counter parts get.

ohenhen1 wrote:We have a lot of talent at home. Talent is not our problem. Would rather setup a program to improve the level of youth coaching we get in Nigeria. We rely too much on individual talent. Our youngsters don't get the same level of tactical and technical training as their European counter parts get.
Discovering talent may not be our problem but when u have a problem developing talent, then talent is a big problem.
Last edited by txj on Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

bushboy wrote:Because he is foreign born means he is better? Is he better than Iheanacho? Nwakali? Ezeh? or any of our homegrown youth talent?
I'm not sure how one can make the leap in logic from the thread that suggests that foreign born is better.

2ndly, does Solanke necessarily have to be better than any of the homegrown players or just simply good enough for attention to be paid to him?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Solowe wrote:Nigeria should have a program where we are already talking to all these foreign born players even before they make the grade at top level European teams. We need to try and win their hearts and minds and convince them early to consider playing for Nigeria because it would enhance their careers.

by Staff Reporter

I think you would find that Nigeria was not their first choice. Nigeria has had its share of foreign born internationals in the past so I don't know what you are on about apart from making a nuisance of yourself. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
His choice atm is not important. Based on FIFA rules he doesn't have to make a definitive long term decision until he is 21, so what exactly is the problem?

JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Mr. Piffington wrote:What a stupid thread.
Whats "stupid" is your knee jerk reaction to this issue.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

bushboy wrote:Because he is foreign born means he is better? Is he better than Iheanacho? Nwakali? Ezeh? or any of our homegrown youth talent?

No one is saying one is better than the other, just that the best of these foreign born eligible players can compliment what we already have.... It gives us options so that we don't have to reply on "Hey-you's" of the world when there is dearth in home grown talent.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

ohenhen1 wrote:We have a lot of talent at home. Talent is not our problem. Would rather setup a program to improve the level of youth coaching we get in Nigeria. We rely too much on individual talent. Our youngsters don't get the same level of tactical and technical training as their European counter parts get.
A great player is a great player regardless of where he is groomed. We want great Nigerian players to represent us.

This program shouldn't in anyway affect the continued development of home grown players
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Solanke does not come across as someone who would play for Nigeria. He seems too "oyinbo" for me.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

ogasir wrote:Solanke does not come across as someone who would play for Nigeria. He seems too "oyinbo" for me.
And what does that mean exactly?

Solowe wrote:
A great player is a great player regardless of where he is groomed. We want great Nigerian players to represent us.

This program shouldn't in anyway affect the continued development of home grown players
We have great players in Nigeria. Players like the Nacho man were groomed in Nigeria. The number one priority should be to become better organized. I remember growing up playing on concrete paved roads, with no cleets. First time I played with cleets was when I was 14. We need to build good playing surfaces, get kids into training programs early. Get kids good shoes and etc. That is how we are going become really good at Football. Not by going for the foreign made product or relying on oyibos. Oyibo people only care about themselves, they don't care about Africa. Am not saying I am against going after foreign based players. I will like to have Aneke invited. But that is not a priority. We need to get better organized first.

I'm not sure how one can make the leap in logic from the thread that suggests that foreign born is better.

2ndly, does Solanke necessarily have to be better than any of the homegrown players or just simply good enough for attention to be paid to him?
It's a pretty obvious leap if you ask me. If the thread starter is suggesting setting up a program specifically designed to attract foreign born players, it suggest they are worth the special attention and expense of setting up the said program. Why would anyone go through that trouble if not to find something "better" than you have at home?

bushboy wrote:

It's a pretty obvious leap if you ask me. If the thread starter is suggesting setting a special program to attract foreign born players, it suggest they are worth the special attention and expense of setting up a program targeted specifically to them. Why would anyone go through that trouble if not to find something "better" than you have at home?
If they are good enough why shouldn't we set up a special program to attract them?

And even if they are better, which nobody suggests, how does that stop or constrain the current program by the NFF?

What exactly is wrong with adding more to what we already have at home?

JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

bushboy wrote:

It's a pretty obvious leap if you ask me. If the thread starter is suggesting setting a special program to attract foreign born players, it suggest they are worth the special attention and expense of setting up a program targeted specifically to them. Why would anyone go through that trouble if not to find something "better" than you have at home?
If they are good enough why shouldn't we set up a special program to attract them?

And even if they are better, which nobody suggests, how does that stop or constrain the current program by the NFF?

What exactly is wrong with adding more to what we already have at home?
And by the way TJX.. the NFA/NFF has been doing this for decades...

Tunji Banjo, John Chidozie, Sola Ameobi, Victor moses.. etc etc... So this isn't new.. all I am saying is we should formalize it now that its obvious that the European countries are now competing for all this players like never before... We could have gotten Alaba at Bayen if we had a program like this...England now has Welbeck, Sterling, Zuha .... .
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

ogasir wrote:Solanke does not come across as someone who would play for Nigeria. He seems too "oyinbo" for me.
He seems really assimilated into English culture. It also does look like his Nigerian dad is not in his life , so he has little or no exposure to Nigeria.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

ogasir wrote:
He seems really assimilated into English culture. It also does look like his Nigerian dad is not in his life , so he has little or no exposure to Nigeria.
U mean like Tunji Banjo?

Solowe wrote:
No, your thread is stupid.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Solowe wrote:
You are right, I was mistaken, Its not your Knee Jerk reaction. Its just you.

Solowe wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
Solowe wrote:
You are right, I was mistaken, Its not your Knee Jerk reaction. Its just you.
Your thread is still stupid.