Klopp admits Premier League tougher, deeper than he thought

Re: Klopp admits Premier League tougher, deeper than he thou

suddenly one swallow maketh a summer lol

A top top coach (Klopp) saying what WE all know but WEpocrites refusing to acknowledge
:lol: :lol: One swallow could maketh a season when you are ready to swallow any old rubbish. WE used Leicester to suggest OUR league was "competitive" last season. OUR champs lost just 3 times last season. Spanish champs Barca lost 5 times. WE are still waiting to "welcome" Pep to OUR league with his 100% record in 6 games. It's looking more competitive in Spain - Alaves, Villareal, Las Palmas, all taking points away from the big boys.

...conveniently ignores the 16-game winning streak
Good thing you called it a "streak" - suggests a run of good luck (ish that doesn't happen often). In fact, they just equalled a record with that run.

suddenly one swallow maketh a summer lol

A top top coach (Klopp) saying what WE all know but WEpocrites refusing to acknowledge
:lol: :lol: One swallow could maketh a season when you are ready to swallow any old rubbish. WE used Leicester to suggest OUR league was "competitive" last season. OUR champs lost just 3 times last season. Spanish champs Barca lost 5 times. WE are still waiting to "welcome" Pep to OUR league with his 100% record in 6 games. It's looking more competitive in Spain - Alaves, Villareal, Las Palmas, all taking points away from the big boys.
haha, stats using THIS season - statistical sampling at it's best!!!

WEpocrites are still not happy with Klopp's quote - perhaps WEpocrites realize Klopp was not using ONE season for his statistical sampling

...conveniently ignores the 16-game winning streak
Good thing you called it a "streak" - suggests a run of good luck (ish that doesn't happen often). In fact, they just equalled a record with that run.
and what difference would it make calling it:
1. a winning 'run'
2. won 16 on the bounce
3. won 16 games in succession...

stop getting all sine-quanonsense. A run of good luck indeed lol.

tfco wrote: haha, stats using THIS season - statistical sampling at it's best!!!

WEpocrites are still not happy with Klopp's quote - perhaps WEpocrites realize Klopp was not using ONE season for his statistical sampling
How about last season's stats for OUR champs and theirs - 3 losses against 5!

tfco wrote: and what difference would it make calling it:
1. a winning 'run'
2. won 16 on the bounce

All suggest unusual occurrence.

tfco wrote: haha, stats using THIS season - statistical sampling at it's best!!!

How about last season's stats for OUR champs and theirs - 3 losses against 5!

also remember The Invincibles.

one swallow.

tfco wrote: and what difference would it make calling it:
1. a winning 'run'
2. won 16 on the bounce

All suggest unusual occurrence.
same as an Alaves victory against an 8-player changed Bartha

the next 2 Bartha league games were not unusual.

also remember The Invincibles.

one swallow.
What about the season b/4 last? Chelski champs - 3 losses like Leicester after them. Barca champs - 4 losses. You'd swallow anything but the facts! :lol: :lol:

same as an Alaves victory against an 8-player changed Bartha

the next 2 Bartha league games were not unusual.
It's not unusual for the big boys in Spain to lose after CL matches or the international break b/c of long South American travel and squad rotation, and the smaller teams do not have as many internationals/do not play midweek and are more rested.

Remember the Klopp quote that you agreed with and now contradicting:
“The big difference to Spain is that Barcelona can play 50 per cent of their games with Team B; or there are games where Lionel Messi runs 4.3 kilometres but scores five goals. That’s a recovery session. England has no recovery session, in absolutely any game.”
Barca's next 2 games - win away to Leganes and draw at home to Atleti (not unusual).

WEpocrites read this article but would not post it on CE.

Anyway let me help una out

da link
Jürgen Klopp hails Pep Guardiola for choosing ‘difficult’ Premier League

Jürgen Klopp has said Pep Guardiola deserves credit for testing a “fantastic career” in the Premier League when easier options were available to the former Bayern Munich manager.

The two Bundesliga-winning coaches face each other for the first time in English football on New Year’s Eve when second-placed Liverpool welcome third-placed Manchester City to Anfield. In February, when it was announced Guardiola was to succeed Manuel Pellegrini at City, Klopp said the Premier League would provide a sterner challenge to the former Barcelona and Bayern coach than he experienced in Spain or Germany.

But while the warning has been justified
, with City seven points behind league leaders Chelsea, the Liverpool manager insists Guardiola’s decision to come to the Premier League merits only respect. Klopp, who confirmed he expects to be without Philippe Coutinho and Joël Matip for Saturday’s game, said: “He came here with open eyes. He could have had easier jobs in easier leagues, that is for sure. He could have gone anywhere but he wanted to come here. He was probably 100% aware of the big challenge.

“He knew he had a wonderful squad at Barcelona and a wonderful squad at Bayern but he had big influence on the way they played football. If you go to Barcelona as a new manager they will tell you: ‘By the way, don’t forget, we play like Pep Guardiola played.’ That’s the biggest influence you can have. Bayern loved the years he was there. He is a fantastic manager.”

The Liverpool manager added: “Guardiola has a clear philosophy and it is a pretty good idea. He has had a fantastic career until now. You always have to adapt to your players and that is what he is doing and it is what we do.”

Klopp won four and lost four of his encounters with Guardiola in Germany and, despite praising his opponent’s “clear philosophy”, he says Bayern were not averse to adopting a more direct approach against his Borussia Dortmund team. Liverpool, he insists, must be prepared for all possibilities at Anfield.

“Bayern changed their style of play against us a few times, not always, but a few times,” said the former Dortmund coach. “A clear philosophy does not mean that you stick to it in every moment. If you have to adapt to your opponent then that is what we all do.

“The public view on it was that they were pretty direct, that’s true, Manuel Neuer is good with the ball so the first ball was long but after winning second ball they played football and didn’t shoot the second ball immediately in the same direction again. The style of the game isn’t everything. It is kind of important but in the end you only want to get your players looking forward with the ball. How you do it is not important. It is not about having 20 passes. If you have to play a long ball that is good and fighting for a second ball is good too. Then you want to have influence with the ball.

“It is not a big difference between the ideas but when you look from the outside there is an image that Pep is kind of possession and I am kind of counter-pressing. I don’t need names for things. We play the football we think that makes sense and Pep does the same with his team and his ideas. I never thought too much about the ideas of other managers – only until before the game when we played them.”

Liverpool’s possession statistics are not too dissimilar to City’s this season – averaging 54.4% per game to City’s 57% – and Klopp admits that was an area he sought to improve in order to break down defensive opponents.

“We knew about the problems, we knew about the name of Liverpool and the influence it has when we go to other stadiums and play another opponent,” he said. “Even when you are only ninth in the table it is enough for other teams to play Liverpool so that means sitting back. That means we have to have an idea for it, and a lot of time people said there is no plan against deep defending teams.

“First of all you have to bring through your strengths and when you are a very young team starting on your way you cannot have all the things in the same moment. You have to concentrate on making one thing stronger and if you have time and an opportunity to widen your possibilities then that is how it works. This team is a really good possession team and we have to use that.”

Et tu Wenger?? A man who needs no welcome or introduction to OUR league. Has Le Voyeur been peeping into my CE posts? I said all the big name managers don't mean a damn thing with poor quality players.
LONDON -- Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has criticised the quality of the Premier League this season, saying it has not lived up to the hype surrounding the arrival of several big-name managers. :lol: :lol:

Wenger had said in August that the Premier League had become a "world championship of managers" given the presence of top names like Pep Guardiola, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp and Antonio Conte, but he feels the first half of the campaign has not met expectations and called on teams -- including his own -- to produce more spectacular games in the second half.

"Overall it was a very promising Premiership with the best managers in the world who are competing, and it promised to be an exceptional year, and until now I think it was disappointing on all levels," Wenger said on Friday at his news conference ahead of Sunday's game against Crystal Palace.

"Because the Premier League has not produced the games that I remembered, and I'm convinced that in the second part of the season, the level and the spectacularity of the league will go up."

The comments, which came without prompting from the journalists in attendance, could possibly be interpreted as a challenge to league leaders Chelsea to turn on the style more in 2017.

Chelsea are on a 12-game winning streak that has seen them concede just two goals, with four of the victories coming by a 1-0 margin. Mourinho, now with Manchester United, recently said his former club will be hard to catch because "they score one goal and they win ... They don't care what people say, what people think. They just want to win."

Wenger's comments could also be a reaction to Monday's game against West Brom, when Arsenal struggled to break down an ultra-defensive Tony Pulis side before Olivier Giroud netted a late winner.

Asked to explain why he thought the league has not produced the quality expected, Wenger said: "Maybe as well because there is a difference between the favourite teams and the smaller teams [that means] they just defend, some teams.

"I just feel there is more in the league than we've produced. I include myself in that, and you always feel that a Premier League year is always remembered by two or three games that were absolutely spectacular, and at the moment we have not produced that as a league. And I include myself.

"I just feel that we have the best managers in the world in this league and I'm sure in the second part of the season when everybody is ready to go for it -- it's not anymore 'wait and see,' it's 'go and take now' -- we will see spectacular games that we have not completely produced.

"It's a very good league, every game is absolutely super difficult, but the spectacular side that everybody expected until now has not come out of this league yet."

Arsenal trail Chelsea by nine points in fourth place, and could also see Conte's side match their Premier League record of 13 straight wins in a single season if they beat Stoke on Saturday. They could then break the record against Tottenham on Wednesday, in which case Wenger said he would congratulate them on eclipsing his own mark from 2001-02.

"If they do it, it's absolutely marvelous, because nobody expected that at the start of the season, they had quite a dodgy start," Wenger said. "If they do it, you can only say well done. Records are there to be beaten. And if somebody does better than you, you have to acknowledge it and say well done."

Wenger also called Chelsea, who are currently six points clear, "super favourites" for the title but said they could still slip up.

"It's theirs to lose as we say here in England. They can still lose it. At the moment they have won it, but they can still lose it because it's still a long way to go and very difficult for everybody," Wenger said.
http://www.espnfc.com/arsenal/story/302 ... his-season

Wenger, when one considers Arsenal piss poor outings against Man Utd and Man City, then Wenger should be the change he wants.
If Arsenal vs Liverpool is not memorable enough for him, he should watch some of games involving Crystal Palace.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Facts not feelings

1st season in The Bundesliga - after 19 games

1) TOTL
2) 13 points ahead of 2nd place
3) +42 GD :shock: :shock:

anointed wrote:Wenger, when one considers Arsenal piss poor outings against Man Utd and Man City, then Wenger should be the change he wants.
If Arsenal vs Liverpool is not memorable enough for him, he should watch some of games involving Crystal Palace.
No mind that failure,i can't wait for him to leave if he does not win the league this year.

tfco wrote: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

WE-pocrites will ignore the words of Klopp (a top 10 global coach) and focus on Scholes (who is looking to go the way of Gary Neville and Thierry Henry
WE ignore Klopp b/c we know that he knows which side his bread is buttered. If he gets a coaching gig in Spain, guess what he'd say. Oh, you don't have to guess, I can remind you of what Borinho said when he was at Madrid.
WE agree with Klopp after the recent battering. Do WE?

tfco wrote: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

WE-pocrites will ignore the words of Klopp (a top 10 global coach) and focus on Scholes (who is looking to go the way of Gary Neville and Thierry Henry
WE ignore Klopp b/c we know that he knows which side his bread is buttered. .
Whose bread got buttered today?

Or was it a pasting?

I wonder which side Opta's bread is buttered....

femibyte wrote: Klopp admits Premier League tougher, deeper than he thought
:thumbs: :thumbs:

His bread has been buttered by The Swans

:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

tfco wrote::taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
:clap: :clap: That is EPL.

He is missing Mane. Mane's agent has a perfect opportunity to get more pay.

@Tx, nno! Biko, clean sheet na-abi? Concession ogini!