The Lower Leagues

some of the sheit that goes on at those games...lol

Re: The Lower Leagues

Yorkshire derby
passion
grit

These are dangerous behaviors especially with the large crowd and emotional situation. I wish the security people a much better atmosphere to do their job. Ridiculous.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

They bleed for their colours,they travel around the country regardless of the result and that's how they get their kicks!

That Gary Monk "obstruction" was :rotf:

I love the fact that he starts a ruckus between 20-30 men then calmly walks away like an innocent man while the others are tearing at each other. Classic. :rotf:
Last edited by wiseone on Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kenmega

Post by kenmega »

Speaking of Lower League Football, Yakubu may sign with Coventry...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/38887978
League One bottom club Coventry City are weighing up the signing of much-travelled former Nigeria international striker Yakubu.

The 34-year-old is training with Russell Slade's Sky Blues with a view to being pitched into their fight for League One survival.

"He's had his first training session," Slade told BBC Coventry & Warwickshire.

"He's not played for a while. That's the only concern. But he's got a great pedigree," added the City manager.

"He's a one in every two games man, goals-wise, so if that's the sort of thing he can do for us we've got to be interested."

In a decade in English football, Yakubu scored 114 times in 250 league starts, plus 43 substitute appearances, mostly in the top flight, at Portsmouth, Middlesbrough, Everton, Leicester City, Blackburn Rovers and Reading.

He was a target for National League side Boreham Wood earlier in the season after returning to England following a spell in the Turkish top flight with Kayserispor.

Coventry made four loan signings in the January window, including strikers Michael Folivi (Watford) and Charles Vernam (Derby County).

Derby also loaned them defender Farren Rawson, while midfielder Callum Reilly came from Burton Albion and another forward, Stuart Beavon, arrived on an 18-month deal.

EFL Trophy tonic for Coventry

Coventry are currently bottom of League One, five points behind Chesterfield - and eight points adrift of safety.

They have 17 games left to avoid the prospect of being relegated to the fourth tier of English football for the first time since 1959

They are not helped by ongoing feelings of discontent among City supporters towards the club's owners.

But those feelings will be put to one side on Tuesday when Slade's team take on Wycombe Wanderers in the semi-finals of the EFL Trophy.

Victory would book only their third-ever visit to Wembley - and their first since their two visits in 1987, when they famously beat Spurs in the FA Cup final in May, then lost 1-0 to Everton in the Charity Shield in August.

But City boss Slade is more intent on ending the club's 13-game winless run in the league which goes back to 1 November, six weeks before his appointment as manager.

"We have to do something about it now," he said. "Not in three or four weeks' time. By then it could be too late. We have to address it now to give ourselves a chance."

If Coventry make it to Wembley, they would meet the winners of the semi-final between Oxford United and whoever wins Tuesday's quarter-final between Luton Town and Yeovil Town
papilo

Post by papilo »

wiseone wrote:That Gary Monk "obstruction" was :rotf:

I love the fight that he starts a ruckus between 20-30 men then calmly walks away like an innocent man while the others are tearing at each other. Classic. :rotf:
:lol: :lol: :lol: very uncharacteristic of the guy too
yes o

Thanks Tf, bitter disappointment that this is the first one has seen of this, the Yorkshire derby scenes encapsulate everything the game should epitomise. Pride. Passion. Honour. Absolutely nothing wrong with any of that and if the FA decide to wave their nonsensical political correctness around, they risk killing the beauty in the game. Wonderful scenes. Every man involved, both sides deserve a thumbs up. When Ramsey wad snapped in half at Stoke, how many went in and how many turned away and started crying? 12 points adrift and that is part of the reason. Acardiac, ascrotal haemaphrodites.

Keep the clips coming Tf.

...the lower leagues disturbances are equivalent to WEs upper leagues fights :sad:

There is something primal and aggressive about English football fans.

wiseone wrote:There is something primal and aggressive about English football fans.
European.

you must have missed the fights between ____ and ____during the Euros

wiseone wrote:There is something primal and aggressive about English football fans.

Maybe English football fans would be more civilized if they had a 2nd Amendment in Blighty :tic:

Would be really weird if an amendment to the American constitution had legal effect in a foreign country.

Anyway, I guess not having a second amendment is why you do not hear about English guys shooting dozens of schoolkids or using a machine gun to kill people inside a nightclub. Total gun deaths per year in the entire United Kingdom (4 countries): 30. Total gun deaths per year in USA: 30,000.

Yeah, the English lads need to get more "civilised".

Scipio Africanus wrote:

Maybe English football fans would be more civilized if they had a 2nd Amendment in Blighty :tic:
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote:Would be really weird if an amendment to the American constitution had legal effect in a foreign country.

Anyway, I guess not having a second amendment is why you do not hear about English guys shooting dozens of schoolkids or using a machine gun to kill people inside a nightclub. Total gun deaths per year in the entire United Kingdom (4 countries): 30. Total gun deaths per year in USA: 30.

Yeah, the English lads need to get more "civilised".

Scipio Africanus wrote:

Do you hear that whooshing sound?

I actually think your sardonic wit made a serious point. Football offers a non-lethal outlet for male aggression in England.
Scipio Africanus wrote: Do you hear that whooshing sound?

This thread dovetails nicely with this other one: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=257065&hilit=chants

goan my son

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

goan my son
8-) Aboa funu! is MLS a lower league? tufiakwa :lol:

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

goan my son
Interesting. I understand they want players to keep a certain standard. But that bast,ard in the stands can insult him and Tim is not allowed to insult back? :roll:

wiseone wrote:That Gary Monk "obstruction" was :rotf:

I love the fact that he starts a ruckus between 20-30 men then calmly walks away like an innocent man while the others are tearing at each other. Classic. :rotf:
Trump after he starts WW3.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

:shock:
Not sure what Howard did wrong there. Fans were abusing him. He gives them 4 words in return and he gets banned?...