Monaco 3 vs 1 Man City (6-6)FT,City out

Re: UCL - March 15

anointed wrote:
Samora Machel wrote:And English pundits would have us think the french League is weak and rubbish. They certainly play very exciting and attacking football :thumbs:

Pep, genius my foot :rotf: :woot: All very well to step into a redy made outfit like Barcelona. At Bayern bayern regressed under him. Now at City he has reached a new low :lol:
Source?
Just about every one of them; including the EPL fans who follow them...
When you ask an impotent man how many children he has, he says many.
I apologize that I cannot respond to the above as I lack your experience in the matter heretofore...
When a candidate gets challenged or stuck with an examination question, the candidate begins to look upwards as if the answer is printed in the ceiling.

Agreed. I just simply do not have your experience in the matter heretofore....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: UCL - March 15

txj wrote: Agreed. I just simply do not have your experience in the matter heretofore....
A child couldn't identify voodoo and says it is vegetable; he couldn't decipher an adage, he concludes it must have literal interpretation. The more you read, the less you see, the less you understand. Experience ko, experiment ni.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Monaco 3 vs 1 Man City (6-6)FT,City out

Brah, I agree with you...

Just that I don't have your experience in such matters....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

benteke wrote:
okidoki wrote:Pep plays only one way, been really disappointed with him.
i noticed that Pep's City doesn't like being attacked.
The teams that have attacked City fearlessly this season have caused them lots of problems and got lots of joy, starting with Celtic in the group stages that was the first sign.

The game against Liverpool this Sunday should be fun to watch.
true.

if you sit back, City will destroy you. 2H against Monaco showed that perfectly.

Mbappe was anonymous the entire 2H until he got subbed

metalalloy wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: no Nacho, no City!

another houseboy feigning pain

p.s - nacho did play.
The token 2 minutes they give you house negroes to pacify you? :rotf: wake me up when he is a meaningful part of the team. Till then, NO NACHO, NO CITY!!!!

PS. wouldn't I be feigning joy? :rotf:
Yaya Toure is from which part of Europe?

Is Yaya Toure Nigerian? The fok i care about Yaya Toure?

NO NACHO, NO CITY!.

Peperempe sugar sugar ... baby

Pepe le pew

Pepeye

Peperoni

Pepsi Pepsi Cola

The malnourished one....

which name sweet pass :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
kofi86
Re: Monaco 3 vs 1 Man City (5-5)FT,City out

Post by kofi86 »

green4life wrote:Anyway, this loss is squarely on naive Pep tactics. Defending is part of the game. You take a 2 goal lead to France yet you start only one recognized central midfielder while allowing Yaya to rot on the bench. Wharraheck. He could've helped to shore up the midfield and also help defend aerial set plays. Na wa.
I don't know that defending or lack thereof was necessarily the key issue in the loss. For me it was clearly the inability to convert the chances created. And there were a legion of them...
The presumption is had they scored one of the missed chances, they would've kept scoring but that's theory and not reality. In reality, when they did score, Monaco took over the initiative and eventually scored the winning goal. What could've happened is not bankable. What's bankable though, is what you already have or had on the score board like the 5 goals from leg 1 and the 1 goal last night before they scored the third. In both of those bankable situations, City was in the driver's seat and in control of their destiny.

This is CL. There are no easy opponents at this level of the competition. Yaya played well in the first leg and even though Pep initially started with an attacking plan - which I understand because its his philosophy, and even though I disagree with his approach, Yaya wasn't an option when they were down and chasing the game at 0-2 but he could and should have brought on Yaya after they had finally managed to battle back and edge ahead on away goals rule with less than 20 mins left. Generally, when teams are holding onto a slim lead with less than 20mins left against a difficult opponent (especially away from home), the manager tightens up the remaining midfield gaps with subs with further consideration on defending set pieces and obvious desperate aerial balls that are lumped in the box with the clock winding down. All the winning manger do this including many that have an attacking philosophy. This one is mostly on Pep and I'm far from his biggest critic but he & City didn't have to go out like this. They should be in the QF.

I understand your point but I'm analyzing the game as it played out, not how it SHOULD HAVE.

And based on how it played out, the key issue was the missed chances.
ManCity conceded 6 goals and scored 6 over 2 games, they conceded 3 in the return leg and the problem was not scoring more?

edit: Couldn't Monaco have score more goals in both legs as well (including a missed penalty)?
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"

If Iheanacho was playing instead of Aguero, Manchester City would be playing vs Borussia Dortmund in the 1/4 final.

He is to Manchester City what Mbappe is to Monaco.

kofi86 wrote:
green4life wrote:Anyway, this loss is squarely on naive Pep tactics. Defending is part of the game. You take a 2 goal lead to France yet you start only one recognized central midfielder while allowing Yaya to rot on the bench. Wharraheck. He could've helped to shore up the midfield and also help defend aerial set plays. Na wa.
I don't know that defending or lack thereof was necessarily the key issue in the loss. For me it was clearly the inability to convert the chances created. And there were a legion of them...
The presumption is had they scored one of the missed chances, they would've kept scoring but that's theory and not reality. In reality, when they did score, Monaco took over the initiative and eventually scored the winning goal. What could've happened is not bankable. What's bankable though, is what you already have or had on the score board like the 5 goals from leg 1 and the 1 goal last night before they scored the third. In both of those bankable situations, City was in the driver's seat and in control of their destiny.

This is CL. There are no easy opponents at this level of the competition. Yaya played well in the first leg and even though Pep initially started with an attacking plan - which I understand because its his philosophy, and even though I disagree with his approach, Yaya wasn't an option when they were down and chasing the game at 0-2 but he could and should have brought on Yaya after they had finally managed to battle back and edge ahead on away goals rule with less than 20 mins left. Generally, when teams are holding onto a slim lead with less than 20mins left against a difficult opponent (especially away from home), the manager tightens up the remaining midfield gaps with subs with further consideration on defending set pieces and obvious desperate aerial balls that are lumped in the box with the clock winding down. All the winning manger do this including many that have an attacking philosophy. This one is mostly on Pep and I'm far from his biggest critic but he & City didn't have to go out like this. They should be in the QF.

I understand your point but I'm analyzing the game as it played out, not how it SHOULD HAVE.

ManCity conceded 6 goals and scored 6 over 2 games, they conceded 3 in the return leg and the problem was not scoring more?

edit: Couldn't Monaco have score more goals in both legs as well (including a missed penalty)?
The beauty of reviewing a football match that has been played is that u have data. Its not what they could've or should've done. Its about how the game actually played out, and what were the key factors in it.

The PRIMARY problem on the day was not taking their chances.

The primary problem on the day was going to France on a 2 goal lead and not starting Yaya.

20 mins from qualifying and you have scored an away goal, and you're STILL not shoring up your defence?

kofi86 wrote:

The beauty of reviewing a football match that has been played is that u have data. Its not what they could've or should've done. Its about how the game actually played out, and what were the key factors in it.

Why do you like doing this to yourself? Even in ATF, where you are a specialist, you failed woefully.

1st Leg
Man City vs Monaco
5 Goals 3
8 Total attempts 15
6 On target 6
0 Off target 7

2nd Leg
Monaco vs Man City
3 Goals 1
12 Total attempts 9
8 On target 6
4 Off target 3
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

kofi86 wrote:

The game played out in a way that Monaco beat City and one would think that the number of goals Monaco scored over 90/180 minutes might have been a key factor in it :idea:

The primary problem of that day was defending like school boys. Take a look at the second Monaco goal:
https://www.clippituser.tv/c/bpmvp

Lemar has the ball on the wing and is facing a city defender. Left-back Mendy makes a run, Lemar passes the ball to him, he crosses the ball and that cross results in a goal. That kind of defending cannot be excused, where was City's second player to offer support?

Fun fact: City has conceded 3, 4 and 1 goals in their away games against Celtic, Barca and Gladbach (failing to win a single game).
Fun fact 2: Guardiola has only won away knock out match in the CL in 10 attempts with City and Bayern.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"

In a tie where MCFC scored 5 goals (and conceded 3) in the first leg, was it really necessary to start the game with KDB, Sterling, Silva, Sane in midfield, Kolarov (an attacking LB) at CD and only one DM? They basically played as if they were losing 0-4 from the first leg. There was no need to play such an attacking line up.

anointed wrote:
kofi86 wrote:

Why do you like doing this to yourself? Even in ATF, where you are a specialist, you failed woefully.

1st Leg
Man City vs Monaco
5 Goals 3
8 Total attempts 15
6 On target 6
0 Off target 7

2nd Leg
Monaco vs Man City
3 Goals 1
12 Total attempts 9
8 On target 6
4 Off target 3
And the stats on.chances created?

txj wrote:And the stats on.chances created?
I bet those chances of yours were created in the midfield.

You've been backed into a tight corner and you think spinning is the way to go. Abeg define "chances created" because you sound like one Naija commentator of yore who said, "...this is Ademola Adesina moving dangerously into the centre circle..."

I have a feeling I can get those stats on chances created on your blogspot or who else keeps stats on chances created. name 'em and shame the devil bro. That makes two outstanding links you are to provide now.

anointed wrote:

You've been backed into a tight corner and you think spinning is the way to go. Abeg define "chances created" because you sound like one Naija commentator of yore who said, "...this is Ademola Adesina moving dangerously into the centre circle..."

I have a feeling I can get those stats on chances created on your blogspot or who else keeps stats on chances created. name 'em and shame the devil bro. That makes two outstanding links you are to provide now.
If you don't know how to look up the stats for that say so, or just watch the game again, specifically the second half.

Fact remains City created enough chances to negate its failures in defence.

anointed wrote:

If you don't know how to look up the stats for that say so, or just watch the game again, specifically the second half.

You are dishonest and it's not your first time.

If you made a claim and you are challenged to back it up with evidence, the burden of proof is on you. If you cannot back up your phony claims (2 of them now), then you are obviously trumped up wiretap-liar.

Again if you don't know how, ask for help. Read up on all the match reports. Funny enough, even Klopp was talking about it. The evidence of the game is there. Use it and learn.

anointed wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: So Monaco just came on the field to suck air. And I guess Monaco didn't create "enough chances to negate its failures in defence" or is that nonsensical reasoning only reserved for the team you support??????

theDunamis wrote:
anointed wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: So Monaco just came on the field to suck air. And I guess Monaco didn't create "enough chances to negate its failures in defence" or is that nonsensical reasoning only reserved for the team you support??????
Try and follow the issue properly. The debate centers on the primary reason City lost, based on how the game played out; not how we think it should have...City created the majority of chances, esp in 2hf.

“City could have won the game easily in the second half but because they are human beings they missed a few chances.
.....Jurgen Klopp

kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

anointed wrote:

that is what we wanted to hear. If they have go into a game with a 2 goal lead and still need to score 2 more goals to negate their failures in defence, then the PRIMARY issue is the bad defending. That's why they needed to score those goals in the first place.

kofi86 wrote:
anointed wrote:

that is what we wanted to hear. If they have go into a game with a 2 goal lead and still need to score 2 more goals to negate their failures in defence, then the PRIMARY issue is the bad defending. That's why they needed to score those goals in the first place.

You're not thinking.

First we don't know that he opted to attack to negate weaknesses in the defence. But we do know his philosophy is to stay on front foot always.

The primary issue in.the game as it actually played out was that having created those chances, they failed to take them. That's what Klopp was referring to, as was Pep.
Last edited by txj on Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kofi86 wrote:
anointed wrote:

:clap: :clap: