Coach Paul Hamilton reported dead.

Re: Coach Paul Hamilton reported dead.

RIP

RIP Coach....

Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

RIP Coach !
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/

RIP Coach. I knew his family very well as his wife had an eatery at Barracks Surulere. He had been ill for a while. May he rest in peace.
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Nigeria, a country that neglects heroes and celebrates thieves and sycophants!! Another sporting hero gone I bet with hardly any support or recognition from the country he served admirably well.

Rest in peace Coach Paul Hamilton. May God comfort your loved ones!
"Because of Jesus, it's a glorious life...."

RIP. :( :(

Lets be serious for a second here; fact is if only a quarter of you guys that went studies abroad give up your European/American/ Australian/ artificial state of well being and went home for temporary hardship or long term hardship in exchange for the good of follow-up generations we would not be where we are today. That's what Chinese students did in the 80's. Every Chinese student I finished bachelors degree with went home.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

RIP Coach!
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

RIP Coach - I remember the disrespect the FA showed the man by bringinga Mr Westerhof prior to the final Italia 90 qualifier. I also remember how a certain Manfred Horner was brought out of no where prior to Maroc 88 despite your prior work. I also remember your Flying Eagles team of Moscow 85
A gentle unassuming man but a patriot nonetheless. Sleep well.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.
jtosho

Post by jtosho »

RIP Coach

We've lost another great Nigerian soul.

RIP.

The Wonder Man Goes Home...
The passing of Coach Paul Hamilton is saddening. He died in bits, a leg was amputated to save him. He died. I wonder what passed his mind as he withered.
In Nigeria, fame is inadequate to cater for you. Patriotism is a myth. The pioneer coach of Nigeria's female football team in 1991, after the failed bid for a 1990 World Cup, Hamilton was unsung in his dying days.
A thorough look at the books would place him among the many coaches the Nigeria Football Association used, dumped, and refused to pay their entitlement. He served Nigeria, Nigeria shunned him.
On the night of 12 August 1989, I drove in a daze from the National Stadium to the mortuary of the General Hospital, Lagos, cutting through Apapa to the Durbar Hotel, in Festac, as it was known then to meet coach Hamilton in tears - Sam Okwaraji was dead. I knew more than two hours earlier, but I wanted to get as many sides of that story as possible.
Beside Hamilton was a meal he ordered, obviously before he heard, it was untouched. I didn't say a word to him, it was not a day for words. I saw enough to enter another confirmation to a sad day.
Weeks after, the determination to beat Cameroon was shattered in the most bizarre manner, not on the pitch. Hamilton was told Clemence Westerhof was the new coach.
I rode in the same bus with a nervous Westerhof who pelted drums of the supporters club to calm his nerves. It was a tense drive from L'Hotel de Meridien to the Stade d' Omnisport, where the Eagles lost.
When I ask Hamilton what happened, he told me, "Dianyi nmuo ereghi ihe enyere ya." Loosely translated, the spirit rejected our offering, our best wasn't good enough. His fluency in Igbo was first grade, some of his years were in Onitsha.
Many would not know that Hamilton was a key player, he scored, in the 1968 Olympic team that terrorised Brazil to a 3-3 draw in the tasking altitude of Mexico. Nigeria led 3-0 in the first half.
At what would have been a historic recap of the event, 20 years on, Nigeria was paired against Brazil at the Seoul Olympics in 1988. I had done a preview predicting a possible repeat.
You can only imagine the anticipations when the first half ended goalless. Mexico was on my mind, a win was even possible. Some of our foreign colleagues were lining up for our perspectives to the story. I was waving a story around Nigeria at the Olympian apex, apogee, peak, zenith.
In the next 45 minutes, Brazil made the score 4-0. The biggest story in the international media was how Nigerian journalists wanted to beat up Manfred Horner, the German coach who superintended the smashing of the Eagles.
Adieu Wonder Boy, generations of top Nigerian players owe their career to you. One of them Emeka Ezeugo has paid a tribute that many others owe you.
The Wonder Boy, the Wonder Man, goes home leaving us to ponder and wonder why our football is in a wander.
By Ikeddy Isiguzo.

oloye wrote:The Wonder Man Goes Home...
The passing of Coach Paul Hamilton is saddening. He died in bits, a leg was amputated to save him. He died. I wonder what passed his mind as he withered.
In Nigeria, fame is inadequate to cater for you. Patriotism is a myth. The pioneer coach of Nigeria's female football team in 1991, after the failed bid for a 1990 World Cup, Hamilton was unsung in his dying days.
A thorough look at the books would place him among the many coaches the Nigeria Football Association used, dumped, and refused to pay their entitlement. He served Nigeria, Nigeria shunned him.
On the night of 12 August 1989, I drove in a daze from the National Stadium to the mortuary of the General Hospital, Lagos, cutting through Apapa to the Durbar Hotel, in Festac, as it was known then to meet coach Hamilton in tears - Sam Okwaraji was dead. I knew more than two hours earlier, but I wanted to get as many sides of that story as possible.
Beside Hamilton was a meal he ordered, obviously before he heard, it was untouched. I didn't say a word to him, it was not a day for words. I saw enough to enter another confirmation to a sad day.
Weeks after, the determination to beat Cameroon was shattered in the most bizarre manner, not on the pitch. Hamilton was told Clemence Westerhof was the new coach.
I rode in the same bus with a nervous Westerhof who pelted drums of the supporters club to calm his nerves. It was a tense drive from L'Hotel de Meridien to the Stade d' Omnisport, where the Eagles lost.
When I ask Hamilton what happened, he told me, "Dianyi nmuo ereghi ihe enyere ya." Loosely translated, the spirit rejected our offering, our best wasn't good enough. His fluency in Igbo was first grade, some of his years were in Onitsha.
Many would not know that Hamilton was a key player, he scored, in the 1968 Olympic team that terrorised Brazil to a 3-3 draw in the tasking altitude of Mexico. Nigeria led 3-0 in the first half.
At what would have been a historic recap of the event, 20 years on, Nigeria was paired against Brazil at the Seoul Olympics in 1988. I had done a preview predicting a possible repeat.
You can only imagine the anticipations when the first half ended goalless. Mexico was on my mind, a win was even possible. Some of our foreign colleagues were lining up for our perspectives to the story. I was waving a story around Nigeria at the Olympian apex, apogee, peak, zenith.
In the next 45 minutes, Brazil made the score 4-0. The biggest story in the international media was how Nigerian journalists wanted to beat up Manfred Horner, the German coach who superintended the smashing of the Eagles.
Adieu Wonder Boy, generations of top Nigerian players owe their career to you. One of them Emeka Ezeugo has paid a tribute that many others owe you.
The Wonder Boy, the Wonder Man, goes home leaving us to ponder and wonder why our football is in a wander.
By Ikeddy Isiguzo.
What a wonderful tribute from Isiguzo. Oloye, the guy is right that Hamilton could speak Igbo. His career started with Onitsha whom he represented in the Challenge Cup before being recruited by ECN Lagos, I believe. I spent significant time with him at the National Stadium Surulere as I was writing a book. He spoke on the women NT and then about the 1968 Olympics where fondly told the story of his team mate Joe Aghoghovia (Police) who apparently could take violent shots and scored a hat trick or perhaps 4 goals in the walloping of Thailand during a preparatory game before the 1968 Olympics.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

By Ikeddy Isiguzo.
What a wonderful tribute from Isiguzo. Oloye, the guy is right that Hamilton could speak Igbo. His career started with Onitsha whom he represented in the Challenge Cup before being recruited by ECN Lagos, I believe. I spent significant time with him at the National Stadium Surulere as I was writing a book. He spoke on the women NT and then about the 1968 Olympics where fondly told the story of his team mate Joe Aghoghovia (Police) who apparently could take violent shots and scored a hat trick or perhaps 4 goals in the walloping of Thailand during a preparatory game before the 1968 Olympics.
Violent shots like Thunder Balogun :D :thumbs:

Oloye,

Na real shot oo! As Hamilton described it, the Nigerian guys were laughing as the Thai goalie yelled at his defenders whenever Aghoghovia set up for a shot.
By Ikeddy Isiguzo.
Violent shots like Thunder Balogun :D :thumbs:
Last edited by Enugu II on Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

RIP

RIP Gentleman Paul Hamilton. You left your imprint on Nigerian football as a great international player and coach.

RIP
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

May he rest in peace in the bosom of our Lord.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Whaaattt?????? Had been wondering about him over the yrs. Rip to a great man.

What a dangerous job.

R.I.P
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

RIP

RIP.