What did you do July 5th 1994 after Italy knocked Nigeria ??

Re: What did you do July 5th 1994 after Italy knocked Nigeri

felarey wrote:
marko wrote:Sorry to re-open old wounds, I must confess after the referee blew the final whistle, I went to wash my ford escort XR3i for nearly 4 hours, the neighbors thought I was crazy, that was the only day I came close to crying, on a lighter note the referee for the Nigeria Argentina game, Mikael Everstig, I worked with him in a recent SAP project, he told me FIFA are crooks but did not go into detail, wanted to slap him but reminded myself he was my work colleague :taunt:
You should have slapped him for allowing that goal Cannegia scored after the quickly taken freekick. That game was Maradona's last game if I recall, he got busted for drugs after that. We were 2 goals down by halftime....damn... the argies have been punishing us for a long time. For me it was a long walk to back to the room in boarding house, was very angry with Oliseh and wanted to wring Egu's neck. Had comfort in the fact that our football had come of age, we had become world beaters. Good thing we don't see tomorrow, could not have imagined 23 yrs later we'll be yet to see the SE surpass them at the WC. We didn't know how good we were, neither did our players. Abacha started the hatchet job.
Nigeria was never two goals down at any point in the match. We scored first and then proceeded to concede two quick goals which was hours the match ended so we were only down a goal (1-2).

I was pissed at Eguavoen...and the ref should've sent off Maldini for the professional foul on Yekini.

Not sure about the ref favouring Italy in that game cos if he did then he probably wouldn't have sent off Zola (when Italy was down a goal) especially since he didn't actually make contact with Eguavoen in that "foul".
There's two different games in context. The game against Argentina which Marko's friend refereed and the game against Italy. We were down 2 goals by halftime against Argentina.

We scored first against Argentina. Samson Siasia goal IIRC.

The Denmark one pain me pass..cause I had expectations...I reach airport begin catch baggage rage wiff pesin for my front
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

i cried... :atc:
YNWA

this is a very painful thread, my grandpa passed away on that day, so after the game( I was sick and ran home from boarding school so i could watch the match) I think that was when they also killed Pablo Escobar in Columbia ( the drug kingpin) saw the game, my uncle came in 2 mins after the game to tell us the message about my grandpa RIP( however that Italy match pain me pass anything else, the loss to Italy was too painful I just went to bed, the next day , i said i am heading back to school , because i no wan think if football anymore... that game was more painful compared to the 88 AFCON final( the 2 worst footballing experience that still hurts me to day 88 AFCON final and Italy vs Nigeria 1994

however just saw the bad touch by yekini..If Mikel was in that game, i repeat, there is no way we would lose such a game. look at the weak tackle by Oliseh..

felarey wrote:
marko wrote:Sorry to re-open old wounds, I must confess after the referee blew the final whistle, I went to wash my ford escort XR3i for nearly 4 hours, the neighbors thought I was crazy, that was the only day I came close to crying, on a lighter note the referee for the Nigeria Argentina game, Mikael Everstig, I worked with him in a recent SAP project, he told me FIFA are crooks but did not go into detail, wanted to slap him but reminded myself he was my work colleague :taunt:
You should have slapped him for allowing that goal Cannegia scored after the quickly taken freekick. That game was Maradona's last game if I recall, he got busted for drugs after that. We were 2 goals down by halftime....damn... the argies have been punishing us for a long time. For me it was a long walk to back to the room in boarding house, was very angry with Oliseh and wanted to wring Egu's neck. Had comfort in the fact that our football had come of age, we had become world beaters. Good thing we don't see tomorrow, could not have imagined 23 yrs later we'll be yet to see the SE surpass them at the WC. We didn't know how good we were, neither did our players. Abacha started the hatchet job.
Nigeria was never two goals down at any point in the match. We scored first and then proceeded to concede two quick goals which was hours the match ended so we were only down a goal (1-2).

I was pissed at Eguavoen...and the ref should've sent off Maldini for the professional foul on Yekini.

Not sure about the ref favouring Italy in that game cos if he did then he probably wouldn't have sent off Zola (when Italy was down a goal) especially since he didn't actually make contact with Eguavoen in that "foul".
There's two different games in context. The game against Argentina which Marko's friend refereed and the game against Italy. We were down 2 goals by halftime against Argentina.

We scored first against Argentina. Samson Siasia goal IIRC.
Older folks like us remember, while youngins like Felarey has already forgotten? Anywa, youtube and FIFA records dey...not like those stories 1Naija and Ohsee used to tell us about Odegbami and CCC :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

lukemana

Post by lukemana »

felarey wrote:
Are U sure you watched that game? We scored the first goal (Siasia). We were NEVER 2 goals down in that game.

Cheers!!!

lukemana wrote:
felarey wrote:
Are U sure you watched that game? We scored the first goal (Siasia). We were NEVER 2 goals down in that game.

Cheers!!!
The first half ended 2 1 in favor of Argentina, my colleague just blew that whistle at every touch by Argentine players, it's like they conned the referee but of course they were always going to favour the established sides, Nigeria should have unleashed okocha in that game, he came on late in the 2nd half

marko wrote:
lukemana wrote:
felarey wrote:

Cheers!!!
The first half ended 2 1 in favor of Argentina, my colleague just blew that whistle at every touch by Argentine players, it's like they conned the referee but of course they were always going to favour the established sides, Nigeria should have unleashed okocha in that game, he came on late in the 2nd half
You are right, it got to a stage where the Eagles led by Oliseh raised their hands in exasperation at the referee blowing for a foul when contact was made against any Argentinean.
Niro

Post by Niro »

Bigpokey24 wrote:this is a very painful thread, my grandpa passed away on that day, so after the game( I was sick and ran home from boarding school so i could watch the match) I think that was when they also killed Pablo Escobar in Columbia ( the drug kingpin) saw the game, my uncle came in 2 mins after the game to tell us the message about my grandpa RIP( however that Italy match pain me pass anything else, the loss to Italy was too painful I just went to bed, the next day , i said i am heading back to school , because i no wan think if football anymore... that game was more painful compared to the 88 AFCON final( the 2 worst footballing experience that still hurts me to day 88 AFCON final and Italy vs Nigeria 1994

however just saw the bad touch by yekini..If Mikel was in that game, i repeat, there is no way we would lose such a game. look at the weak tackle by Oliseh..
Andre Escobar (team captain) was killed because he scored an own against the US, which effectively eliminated Colombia in the first round of that World Cup. Colombia was favored to win it all. Pablo Escobar was killed before the 94 World Cup.

Aight, got it, you guys must be right, Siasia scored the first goal. I Just remember they scored 2 first half goals in quick succession with one from a quickly taken freekick our guys were not ready for. We protested but nothing came of it. Later on painfully realized there was nothing wrong with the goal. I think the commentator yabbed us for being naïve, but he later went gong ho after JJ came in.

felarey wrote:Aight, got it, you guys must be right, Siasia scored the first goal. I Just remember they scored 2 first half goals in quick succession with one from a quickly taken freekick our guys were not ready for. We protested but nothing came of it. Later on painfully realized there was nothing wrong with the goal. I think the commentator yabbed us for being naïve, but he later went gong ho after JJ came in.
be honest, how old were in in 94 , to actually mix such up

There were 18 fouls in the first half, Yekini was guilty of missing some clear cut chances, we should have been 2 goals up before they equalized, if okocha was unleashed in the first half, he would have frustrated the argentines with his trickery, as they say, the world is very small, how the referee ended up in SAP and on the same project like me, bizarre, he told me how they trained for the World Cup, away from home for 40 days, wife divorced him and all, remarried, think he refereed in the confederations cup as well in 1995

skillful

Post by skillful »

I played the match to the 88th min then switched it off
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle

Just looking at Yekini(RIP) what a CF,that was the only game he had some wonderful clear cut chances and should have had a brace.Italy was lucky but I must say they put in some big fight playing 10 men.SE sit back after went a goal up and a man advantage...

The night before, I dreamed that Nigeria lost 2:1. I am not a prophet; just a pessimistic sort of guy. Thus even when Nigeria was leading from Amunike's goal, I continued to have that sense of impending collapse. Of course, our defence did not help with its past history of mishaps, though it has to be said that our D played well that day until that desperate Italian dash down the left by the fullback Mussi.

Yes, I was down in the dumps after the game; but I was mentally prepared for it.

It really pained, the Italy game though, much worse than the Denmark game, if only we knew how to defend we would have locked that game down, memories, I had all the games on VHS, when it got to the 88 min, like someone else said, I turned it off as well

goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

I cried
Goldenera94
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

ohsee wrote:The night before, I dreamed that Nigeria lost 2:1. I am not a prophet; just a pessimistic sort of guy. Thus even when Nigeria was leading from Amunike's goal, I continued to have that sense of impending collapse. Of course, our defence did not help with its past history of mishaps, though it has to be said that our D played well that day until that desperate Italian dash down the left by the fullback Mussi.

Yes, I was down in the dumps after the game; but I was mentally prepared for it.
I actually thought we were going to surprise Italy. As the game went on, I could sense something was NOT right. Years later, after I watched the interview below (Keshi), I understood why we lost. We lost the game even before we got on the pitch! Clement Westerhoof sold us out!