Bye Bye Uyo? - Kickoff Chief

Re: Bye Bye Uyo? - Kickoff Chief

pajimoh wrote:Since The NFF started hawking our games all over Nigeria we've suffered from non qualification quite a bit. Decades of playing in Lagos meant there was an air of invincibility around the place. Teams hate coming to Lagos. Now other grounds just seem like a neutral venue to the SE.
I agree about the neutrality of the venue... or NFF intentionally selling our homefield advantage. But it is the economic situation that forces them to find who can host (pay) the Eagles. They pretty much sell their homefield. They might as well sell it to the away team and play two away games.
True! However, at the end, the whole nation suffers from the incompetence of the NFF

pajimoh wrote:Since The NFF started hawking our games all over Nigeria we've suffered from non qualification quite a bit. Decades of playing in Lagos meant there was an air of invincibility around the place. Teams hate coming to Lagos. Now other grounds just seem like a neutral venue to the SE.
I agree about the neutrality of the venue... or NFF intentionally selling our homefield advantage. But it is the economic situation that forces them to find who can host (pay) the Eagles. They pretty much sell their homefield. They might as well sell it to the away team and play two away games.
Their problem is they are not building a brand. That is why they are running around looking for state money.
They could have sold the TV rights for SE games and still maintain a home advantage. They will have to decide whether it's been worth it, missing a few AFCON's for their lazy effort of prostituting the SE all over the place
To their credit, they have gotten more sponsorship than previous administrations.

The truth is that State Governments are still the best at making cash readily available to pay for the venue, hotel, logistics for the team and officials.

The problem is not necessarily Uyo. They have been excellent hosts.

But if NFF has money to move it to somewhere else they should pay attention that they don't take it to somewhere where our players are at a disadvantage based on the playing surface.

folem

Post by folem »

joao wrote:Wow!, in 2017 Nigerians are still believing in superstitions about a football venue?
Reasonable folks need not keep propagating ideas that set us back. Can any of those
claiming the Uyo stadium is the reason we are not getting good results provide proof
of why any other location would certainly provide victory even when our SE play rubbish
football?
This argument is quite depressing, considering the claim that we are enlightened.
Are we enlightened?
folem

Post by folem »

Enugu II wrote:The fact is that results in games played at Uyo have been disappointing. That is a FACT. In March last year, I did an analysis of games played by SE in Nigerian venues. PH and Enugu are only venues where Nigeria has earned all three points at stake. Below is a link to that analysis:

http://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2016/03/q ... y-and.html

This is not to state that Uyo is cursed. However, it is simply to point out that results there have not been favorable.
Fix the total games played in Abuja , you listed 24 instead of 34
The sample size is small for Uyo to do critical comparison.

folem wrote:
Enugu II wrote:The fact is that results in games played at Uyo have been disappointing. That is a FACT. In March last year, I did an analysis of games played by SE in Nigerian venues. PH and Enugu are only venues where Nigeria has earned all three points at stake. Below is a link to that analysis:

This is not to state that Uyo is cursed. However, it is simply to point out that results there have not been favorable.

Folem

Actually, a sample is unnecessary since the population of the universe is small. Thus, the figures represent census rather than samples. Samples would only be necessary when the universe of interest is too large to investigate. If the word sample is used then it is used on error in this case.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Thanks for being eagle-eyed. Will correct.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Cmoke wrote:http://www.espnfc.com/nigeria/story/314 ... -qualifier

Nigeria are considering a change to both the date and venue for their 2019 World Cup qualifier against Cameroon, originally scheduled for the Godswill Akpabio Stadium Uyo in August.

Top NFF sources informed KweseESPN that the match could now be played on 1 September, rather than the initial scheduled date of 28 August.

One reason, according to multiple sources within the NFF, is to allow coach Gernot Rohr a little more training time with his squad.
ADVERTISEMENT

With the change in date also comes a change in venue, with Uyo on the verge of being discarded.

Officials say the Yakubu Gowon Stadium in Port Harcourt is top on the list of replacement venues, with the National Stadium Abuja as a fallback option.

The pitch in Abuja has fallen into disrepair, but repair work is already going on with Lansard Ltd doing clean up while waiting for major rejuvenation for the now patchwork grass.

FIFA and CAF can just go ahead and hand us the ticket now. Port Harcourt will surely deliver just like it has delivered classy babes, oil, world class football (Rivers United and Yobo) and everything else Nigeria has today to Nigeria.
I too like this my broda. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

joao wrote:Wow!, in 2017 Nigerians are still believing in superstitions about a football venue?
Reasonable folks need not keep propagating ideas that set us back. Can any of those
claiming the Uyo stadium is the reason we are not getting good results provide proof
of why any other location would certainly provide victory even when our SE play rubbish
football?
This argument is quite depressing, considering the claim that we are enlightened.
Abegi, where's the "superstition"? :blink:

Because I see it as no different from the "enlightened" Oyinbo folks that are saying that Spurs do not play well at Wembley Stadium.

folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:

Folem

Actually, a sample is unnecessary since the population of the universe is small. Thus, the figures represent census rather than samples. Samples would only be necessary when the universe of interest is too large to investigate. If the word sample is used then it is used on error in this case.
???

Taking the first three competitive games played in Lagos, the results may not be much different to Uyo.

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesn/nig-intres.html

football?
Abegi, where's the "superstition"? :blink:

Because I see it as no different from the "enlightened" Oyinbo folks that are saying that Spurs do not play well at Wembley Stadium.
Yea but unlike Spurs case, the sample size is waaaaaay to small to start calling it a cursed ground or what not.
F360

Post by F360 »

Cmoke wrote:http://www.espnfc.com/nigeria/story/314 ... -qualifier

Nigeria are considering a change to both the date and venue for their 2019 World Cup qualifier against Cameroon, originally scheduled for the Godswill Akpabio Stadium Uyo in August.

Top NFF sources informed KweseESPN that the match could now be played on 1 September, rather than the initial scheduled date of 28 August.

One reason, according to multiple sources within the NFF, is to allow coach Gernot Rohr a little more training time with his squad.
ADVERTISEMENT

With the change in date also comes a change in venue, with Uyo on the verge of being discarded.

Officials say the Yakubu Gowon Stadium in Port Harcourt is top on the list of replacement venues, with the National Stadium Abuja as a fallback option.

The pitch in Abuja has fallen into disrepair, but repair work is already going on with Lansard Ltd doing clean up while waiting for major rejuvenation for the now patchwork grass.

FIFA and CAF can just go ahead and hand us the ticket now. Port Harcourt will surely deliver just like it has delivered classy babes, oil, world class football (Rivers United and Yobo) and everything else Nigeria has today to Nigeria.

Uncle 1 just speaking the truth no bias lol!

--------------------------------------------
F360

Post by F360 »

Prof., the reason we have lost those crucial games in Uyo is because Vincent Enyeama has not been in goal.

We have the BEST Naijarian goalie of all time still active and he is sitting in the stands watching us fumble away home games.

BTW, we are not good enough not to have our better players playing.

Sssshhhhh. Stop making so much sense. Better to make other excuses for losing.

--------------------------------------------

Synopsis wrote:Backward mentality. First time in years that a SE match played in Nigeria possessed a decent pitch and we're ready to discard it because of a loss.

I don't want anyone blaming future losses on bumpy surfaces.
We finally have something close to a world class stadium and we want to ditch it for a cheap 15,000 capacity stadium.
Stupid stereotypes being thrown around about being docile and all types of nonsense as if it's the venue that causes the loss, Nigerians just have to find something or someone to blame. But I doubt this story is true anyway.
"Stupid stereotypes" or not, if the belief is "we will do better in Port-Harcourt" (placebo), then let's go there. We need to do anything and everything we can to - at least - beat Cameroon at home.
So the stupid, ignorant, superstitious and shallow minded people are now representative of Nigerian belief? :shock:

U don mumu finish if u no think say crowd fit make players play with their lives!

Lagos crowd no dey joke. Uyo people too docile.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D

Synopsis wrote:Backward mentality. First time in years that a SE match played in Nigeria possessed a decent pitch and we're ready to discard it because of a loss.

We finally have something close to a world class stadium and we want to ditch it for a cheap 15,000 capacity stadium.
Stupid stereotypes being thrown around about being docile and all types of nonsense as if it's the venue that causes the loss, Nigerians just have to find something or someone to blame. But I doubt this story is true anyway.

folem wrote:

Folem

???

Taking the first three competitive games played in Lagos, the results may not be much different to Uyo.

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesn/nig-intres.html

Folem

In that case it would be called a nonrandom sample of Games in Lagos compared to a census, not a sample, of games in Uyo. The point is your reference to a sample is a wrong use of the term and creates confusion. The Uyo data is not a sample. Samples are needed when the population or universe is too large.

That 'Lagos' crowd was one of the reasons SE games were moved away in the first place.
Fairweather fans, only good when the team is doing/playing well.

The moment the going gets tough, the crowd first falls silent and if nothing changes, they start cheering the opposition. I witnessed it several times.

The only reason Lagos has such a formidable record is because it hosted the SE in their golden era when African football was yet to catch up. Now things are different.

Cmoke wrote:U don mumu finish if u no think say crowd fit make players play with their lives!

Lagos crowd no dey joke.
Uyo people too docile.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D

Damunk,

I respectfully disagree.

The SE were not in their prime till 1994 to 2000. Just 6 years in their whole history.

If I were an opposing player I'd love to play in Uyo. It has a family carnival vibe to it that bodes well for the opposing team. It's even getting worse, when we were a goal down, they kept scanning the fans and there was no angst or urgency. Just sitting there as if they were in a museum.

Go and read the accounts of the SA 1994 team that went to the "Hell in Surulere" they lost that game in the Car Park.

You cannot discount this. Ask West Ham how they are adapting to playing in Wembley. Opposing teams love the Stadium; compared to Upton park it's a neutral venue.

airwolex wrote:Damunk,

I respectfully disagree.

The SE were not in their prime till 1994 to 2000. Just 6 years in their whole history.

If I were an opposing player I'd love to play in Uyo. It has a family carnival vibe to it that bodes well for the opposing team. It's even getting worse, when we were a goal down, they kept scanning the fans and there was no angst or urgency. Just sitting there as if they were in a museum.

Go and read the accounts of the SA 1994 team that went to the "Hell in Surulere" they lost that game in the Car Park.

You cannot discount this. Ask West Ham how they are adapting to playing in Wembley. Opposing teams love the Stadium; compared to Upton park it's a neutral venue.
So you wanted the Uyo fans to cheer for South Africa? :shock:
folem

Post by folem »

I respectfully disagree.

If I were an opposing player I'd love to play in Uyo. It has a family carnival vibe to it that bodes well for the opposing team. It's even getting worse, when we were a goal down, they kept scanning the fans and there was no angst or urgency. Just sitting there as if they were in a museum .

The SA game @ Surulere was in 1992.

West Ham play @ Olympic Stadium, not Wembley.

Synopsis wrote:

I respectfully disagree.

Nope - just stating my observations. Home advantage is a proven quantity in Sports especially as we don't have a good team. Uyo peeps shouldn't take this personal. I have also said that it might be time to stop the dry music the Supporters club makes, i thought I was the only one that hated it till a commentator years ago said how drab it was.

The atmosphere at our home games generally isn't great. Whatever happened to our great chants "Over the bar" "inside the net" "All we are saying give us one goal"? All the great songs? Those things matter.

Thanks for the corrections Folem.

When we lose in PH they will blame the design and the pillars in the stadium! Is it not the same Uyo that we beat Algeria a much stronger team than SA? Lazy people always have something to blame for their failures..never accepting responsibility. Awon were!

Take the same team that played against SA and put them on any pitch in any location in nigeria and they would have lost....

Old boy,

You just smoothly articulated why the Uyo fans are docile compared to pretty much other Naija fans especially Lagos!

Sometimes players need a 12th man!

airwolex wrote:
Synopsis wrote:

I respectfully disagree.

Nope - just stating my observations. Home advantage is a proven quantity in Sports especially as we don't have a good team. Uyo peeps shouldn't take this personal. I have also said that it might be time to stop the dry music the Supporters club makes, i thought I was the only one that hated it till a commentator years ago said how drab it was.

The atmosphere at our home games generally isn't great. Whatever happened to our great chants "Over the bar" "inside the net" "All we are saying give us one goal"? All the great songs? Those things matter.

Thanks for the corrections Folem.