African teams will lag behind until..

Re: African teams will lag behind until..

Tobi17 wrote:So what's the way forward?
A whole lot, but a simple one is:

Change a system and find one that works..and stick to it.

Spain, Barca, Germany have re-invented their football from 25years ago.

You will only win get the chance to win the lottery if you play. You will only score a goal if you create chances.

Your team will only be successful if you do the right things/make right decisions at the right time all the time. The door will only open if you knock..or break it.

Successful teams keep knocking..and its a culture..sooner or later the door opens. You cannot cut corners, it will only get you temporary success.

From administration to academies and other institutions, players, coaches we need to get it right.

Keep up with latest trends, sport science etc
Last edited by Robotnik on Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:Yujam,

Your comment applies to all sector of human activities. Education,sports,business. This why african countries built universities and schools after independence.Obviously, the continent is not going to produce a Bill Gates tomorrow,in my opinion, unless extremmelly lucky.
True.
BTW, Africa had universities and quality schooling before independence.
how many?
You're seriously asking this in 2017? :woot:

That's obviously the only way forward but Africans don't know where to start due to years of unlearning!

joao wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:You should refer to Cameroon directly and not say african.some african teams have done ok against non African teas.camroon on the other hand have always opened their back side. as long as it isn't an african team they will open their back side. I cant recall when he last time they wona gaame against a non african side. May be since ringer milla retired? I never really saw roger mills so i cant verify
Let's be honest to ourselves. It is African teams in general. We simply aren't good enough to compete with the top tier and even the second tier.
:agree: :agree: :agree:
We like to rub shoulders with the top teams in our imagination, but refuse to see what is keeping us back.
Germany does not have better football talent than Cameroon or many other African teams. What lifts them
above Africans is 'team discipline' - being in chorus, like thinking and working together.
Germany v Algeria 2-1 AET
Germany v Ghana 2-2

we did rub shoulders

joao wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:You should refer to Cameroon directly and not say african.some african teams have done ok against non African teas.camroon on the other hand have always opened their back side. as long as it isn't an african team they will open their back side. I cant recall when he last time they wona gaame against a non african side. May be since ringer milla retired? I never really saw roger mills so i cant verify
Let's be honest to ourselves. It is African teams in general. We simply aren't good enough to compete with the top tier and even the second tier.
We like to rub shoulders with the top teams in our imagination, but refuse to see what is keeping us back.
Germany does not have better football talent than Cameroon or many other African teams. What lifts them
above Africans is 'team discipline' - being in chorus, like thinking and working together.
Germany v Ghana 2-2

After shamefully losing to USA and Portugal. Its 2017. We don't have time for moral victories.
we did rub shoulders

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Tobi17 wrote:Our players are always in a hurry to go to the next back water club or league in Europe at the developmental phase of their football when all the opportunities are there to harness their skills back home; but then can you really blame them? as you clearly stated the foundation of developing these players is generally weak in Africa, so players hop on the next plane to Serbia or Indonesia when money hungry agents come waving "better" offers to them than what they have...its truly an unending cycle thay keeps us lagging behind...in hindsight, it can definitely get better...but when?

That's the key needed addressing. What to make them stay locally & content. Bet u, many s. American players get shipped back home, they will have contentment & pride, skillwise...Goes to show we need to take care of ours better!!!! Something we don't do in many spheres..
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

One thing we lack is creativity & a will to change, so stuck we remain!!!!!!

Robotnik wrote:
Tobi17 wrote:So what's the way forward?
A whole lot, but a simple one is:

Change a system and find one that works..and stick to it.

Spain, Barca, Germany have re-invented their football from 25years ago.

You will only win get the chance to win the lottery if you play. You will only score a goal if you create chances.

Your team will only be successful if you do the right things/make right decisions at the right time all the time. The door will only open if you knock..or break it.

Successful teams keep knocking..and its a culture..sooner or later the door opens. You cannot cut corners, it will only get you temporary success.

From administration to academies and other institutions, players, coaches we need to get it right.

Keep up with latest trends, sport science etc

the problem with African teams is the same problem that they have suffered from for years.

They do not play with their heads. They do not play as a team, for the most part. Everything is way too one dimensional and that is why they will continue to be second best.

They play with their athleticism only and not their heads. Unfortunately football is like the perfect synthesis of physical and mental competition.

At a point in time they physical aspect of the African game was a shock to many teams and you would get the African surprise, but now teams know about the African physical game, and they use their smarts to beat them.

Look at the way Chile continuously opened up the Cameroon defence in the first half with off ball movement slicing them open at will. Now Chile failed to convert their chances and tired in the second half, and this made Cameroon look much better than they are. On another day it would have been 3-0 at halftime.

Now when Cameroon attacked it was so embarassing and frustrating, they could barely string together a few passes in the final third, and these were the aFrican champs. They had many good counter opportunities due to Chile's complacency at the back, but Cameroon never once looked like scoring. It was piss poor. A team like Chile if presented with such opportunity would likely take those chances.

Cameroon is the typical head down, play by myself African football in attack.

I have rarely seen African teams play a good technical passing game, not just utilizing speed and power, but also brains and intelligence and teamwork. Sorry but it is the truth. That is why Egypt won 3 straight ANC titles, because they mastered team work and the passing game you see from teams like CHile or Germany.

There have been few instances where African teams play like this, like I said Egypt, but editions from Nigeria, Ghana, CIV, Senegal have all played this kind of football at times.

This is why I cringe when you hear calls from so called experts for more physical gra gra players. They just never learn that football is not a game of gra gra. It never was.

There have been rare occasions.

YUJAM wrote:Local football infrastructures are developed. We cannot expect the Oyinbo to develop our players

The systems used by NTs are developed much earlier, when these guys are in academies. Players like Sanchez and Vidal are developed much earlier in their careers. By the time they play for the big sides they have all the tools they need to become great b
But Egypt, South Africa and China, Japan have relatively strong Leagues with solid infrastructure - let's not even mention Countries like England. Not saying that doesn't help but it might not be the biggest reason.

There's no cookie cutter solution for all. Each Country, region on the Continent have unique challenges.

I think in Nigeria and Cameroon our biggest problem is the corruption and ineptitude of our Football Federations. When you turn the NT into a personal money making venture nothing good can come of it.

For SA and Egypt that have strong Leagues, their players are just too comfortable. They could do with more players in Europe.

airwolex wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Local football infrastructures are developed. We cannot expect the Oyinbo to develop our players

The systems used by NTs are developed much earlier, when these guys are in academies. Players like Sanchez and Vidal are developed much earlier in their careers. By the time they play for the big sides they have all the tools they need to become great b
But Egypt, South Africa and China, Japan have relatively strong Leagues with solid infrastructure - let's not even mention Countries like England. Not saying that doesn't help but it might not be the biggest reason.

There's no cookie cutter solution for all. Each Country, region on the Continent have unique challenges.

I think in Nigeria and Cameroon our biggest problem is the corruption and ineptitude of our Football Federations. When you turn the NT into a personal money making venture nothing good can come of it.

For SA and Egypt that have strong Leagues, their players are just too comfortable. They could do with more players in Europe.
How will Africa progress with such a slave mindset?
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

vancity eagle wrote:the problem with African teams is the same problem that they have suffered from for years.

They do not play with their heads. They do not play as a team, for the most part. Everything is way too one dimensional and that is why they will continue to be second best.

They play with their athleticism only and not their heads. Unfortunately football is like the perfect synthesis of physical and mental competition.

At a point in time they physical aspect of the African game was a shock to many teams and you would get the African surprise, but now teams know about the African physical game, and they use their smarts to beat them.

Look at the way Chile continuously opened up the Cameroon defence in the first half with off ball movement slicing them open at will. Now Chile failed to convert their chances and tired in the second half, and this made Cameroon look much better than they are. On another day it would have been 3-0 at halftime.

Now when Cameroon attacked it was so embarassing and frustrating, they could barely string together a few passes in the final third, and these were the aFrican champs. They had many good counter opportunities due to Chile's complacency at the back, but Cameroon never once looked like scoring. It was piss poor. A team like Chile if presented with such opportunity would likely take those chances.

I have rarely seen African teams play a good technical passing game, not just utilizing speed and power, but also brains and intelligence and teamwork. Sorry but it is the truth. That is why Egypt won 3 straight ANC titles, because they mastered team work and the passing game you see from teams like CHile or Germany.

There have been few instances where African teams play like this, like I said Egypt, but editions from Nigeria, Ghana, CIV, Senegal have all played this kind of football at times.

This is why I cringe when you hear calls from so called experts for more physical gra gra players. They just never learn that football is not a game of gra gra. It never was.

Exactly. When West African teams can figure out playing as a team and playing technically vs hit and hope and trying to bully teams we can actually win things outside of Africa.

Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:

How is it Slavery when they are getting paid millions and broadening their horizons? For all the talk we have about infrastructure; it's teams like Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana that have done the most for African Soccer. Egypt and SA have done very little. Ironically, CIV, the West African Country with the best infrastructure has not done that much either.

If we decided to stay at home in our local Leagues like the rest of Africa, we'd still have two participants at the WC.

airwolex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:

How is it Slavery when they are getting paid millions and broadening their horizons? For all the talk we have about infrastructure; it's teams like Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana that have done the most for African Soccer. Egypt and SA have done very little. Ironically, CIV, the West African Country with the best infrastructure has not done that much either.

If we decided to stay at home in our local Leagues like the rest of Africa, we'd still have two participants at the WC.
KPOM.

What have South Africa, Egypt, Tunisia, even DR Congo with their superior leagues achieved on the world stage ?

Answer is nothing. South Africa as host couldn't even progress.

The best African performances have come from having quality players plying their trade in Europe.

Now does this mean we should not improve our leagues. No.

But YUJAM premise is completely off.

In addition Countries like Nigeria and Cameroon have never had better infrastructure. Fifa has pumped so much into African football and synthetic Stadiums are littered all over. It's reached a point that sandy pitch Cameroon can now even host the Nations cup yet they are producing worse and worse players in comparison to the likes of Etoo, Lauren, Mboma, Makanaky.

I saw the game yesterday and some of those guys could not get the basic things right. You cannot compare this team to even the one that got beat 6-0 by USSR years ago. Truly embarrassing and they are genuinely one of the best we have to offer.

African Football has real issues. Definitely infrastructure is one - but just one of many. For Nigeria, our number one problem is the NFF.

airwolex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:

KPOM.

What have South Africa, Egypt, Tunisia, even DR Congo with their superior leagues achieved on the world stage ?

The best African performances have come from having quality players plying their trade in Europe.

Think people!
Just because Egypt and South Africa leagues are historicaly insular does not make them a bad idea.
They could easily open the flood gates to outside influence and get better.

Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:

KPOM.

Think people!
Just because Egypt and South Africa leagues are historicaly insular does not make them a bad idea.
They could easily open the flood gates to outside influence and get better.

That's exactly what I said. But it's not only opening the floodgates - their players should be more adventurous as well. There are Brazilians everywhere from Ukraine to China; they could decide to spend 15 years in Rio being local Champions. Traveling, playing different types of football also helps. You should see the places some of our best players from Nigeria went before they finally landed in the big leagues. Seems folks down South don't like to hustle as much.
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

I think people need to understand that top nations in world football don't have players playing in their domestic leagues unless they are English, German, French, Spanish or Italian for obvious reasons. How many STARS of the Chilean, Brazilian, or Argentinian national teams for example play in their respective domestic leagues? NONE. They may be products but just something to understand is that Argentina made it to the World Cup final with a 23 man squad that all played outside of Argentina. It is important to have a good domestic league but it is more important to make sure that you have a game plan for development, a system and an identity. Everything else will follow.

If you want examples of teams with exclusively players from their domestic leagues that aren't that good outside of Africa, look at Russia. Ever since the USSR broke they only made it out of the group stage of an international competition once and that was making the semi-final of the 2008 Euros, other than that, it was a slew of group stage exits, many with no wins at all.

joao wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
Germany v Ghana 2-2

we did rub shoulders
'Rob shoulders', like being in the same profile is what I am referencing.
The scores you listed above is nothing to brag about, and the Germany v Ghana is a prime
example of what I am talking about. If Ayew had made that extra pass to the open player standing
alone in front of goal, instead of trying to make personal glory, Ghana would have been up 3-1, and
not heading home so quickly. That is the sort of discipline I'm referring to.
Yesterday, Cameroon had a breakaway that should result in a goal but Aboubakar decided to do it all
by himself instead of passing to a teammate in better position to score.

Africans love selfish 'ball jugglers' with minimal concern for team concept, and we end up lamenting
why we have not been successful at the senior level.

Don't mind them. Generalizing.

Cameroon has been piss-poor in competitive games against non-African opposition since 1990.

Prior to winning the AFCON, Cameroon were 12th in Africa. Their AFCON victory propelled them to 3rd in Africa. It is still a team under construction.

They are expected to lose to Chile.

If one was a fan of Cameroon, they will be encouraged at what they are seeing...

TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

joao wrote:
joao wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
Germany v Ghana 2-2

we did rub shoulders
'Rob shoulders', like being in the same profile is what I am referencing.
The scores you listed above is nothing to brag about, and the Germany v Ghana is a prime
example of what I am talking about. If Ayew had made that extra pass to the open player standing
alone in front of goal, instead of trying to make personal glory, Ghana would have been up 3-1, and
not heading home so quickly. That is the sort of discipline I'm referring to.
Yesterday, Cameroon had a breakaway that should result in a goal but Aboubakar decided to do it all
by himself instead of passing to a teammate in better position to score.

Africans love selfish 'ball jugglers' with minimal concern for team concept, and we end up lamenting
why we have not been successful at the senior level.
That Ghana Germany game frustrated me when I saw Jordan Ayew do such a boneheaded move. These guys did the same in 2010 World Cup with the penalty that was taken by Gyan.
Ahidjo

Post by Ahidjo »

It has been proved time and time that doing great things in football comes with natural abilities as a foundation. If one is not naturally gifted to do certain things, no amount of development will take him to the level of a naturally gifted and developed talent. Does England not have good developmental programs? It is a combination of natural talent and development...

vancity eagle wrote:the problem with African teams is the same problem that they have suffered from for years.

This is my biggest pet hate about African football. We need more technical players. Skill will always undo physique. Look at Argentina they produce these tiny forwards who score for fun eg Tevez, Aguero and Messi

airwolex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:

KPOM.

Cameroon 1990 is the best african ever in my opinion. How many of them were playing in top flight european leagues? I dont think many