Nigeria vs China: 21:45 Tonight!!

Re: Nigeria vs China: 21:45 Tonight!!

Great to see Se back to our usual playing style, Garba Lawal wins the ball and passes 2 meters to Oga who finds Yak with a no look pass

Kai, football is definitely a young folks' game. See stomach everywhere.
I really miss the SE. Of old!!

ThE sixties highlights

NIGERIA 3 CHINA 2

papilo wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:Amo with his trademark goal celebration (head shake)....pure nostalgia watching :thumbs:
It was fun. Miss all those boys...those were the days
Watching the game yesterday brought back good memories. Especially when Taribo West, Uche Okechukwu and Celestine Babayaro were all on the pitch together at some point during the game as a back 3. Also, Garba Lawal seemed to play every position yesterday. Same ol same ol I guess. It was lovely.
No joke. Seeing all those boys, and their trademark habits. Who can forget how Taribo raises his hands like a chicken so the referee doesn't call a foul.....Uche on his own playing a stabilizing role in defense...still telling West how to position himself and all. Rufai...looking the same, and from the looks of that first Chinese goal, he brought the good and the bad Rufai we had grown used to seeing. The Bull being The Bull...Cele trying to rove up and down as usual. Jay Jay couldn't let a game go by without his trademark step over, and no look passes.

Chei, reminds me of a time the SE were downright fun to watch.

The only players that didn't really look themselves were Aghahowa and maybe Emma Okocha.

deanotito wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:Amo with his trademark goal celebration (head shake)....pure nostalgia watching :thumbs:
Amo was a beast whenever he put on the GWG. I am sure he must have shed a tear or two putting that shirt on again..

Mr Shows wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Amo was a beast whenever he put on the GWG. I am sure he must have shed a tear or two putting that shirt on again..

Yeah...wouldn't be surprising. There are a few players I can remember that treated that green jersey as a call to war. Amo ranks high up there. He played out of his skin for Nigeria
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

deanotito wrote:I'd suggest they start: Rufai, West, Uche, Cele, Jay Jay, Amo for Brazil, and see how it works...if things star breaking down, they can always change.
What of the formation? 3-2-0, 2-1-2 or 2-2-1? :)

Rufai will have more work to do than he had against China. Considering the squad (and the unlikelihood of Oloye storming the camp), we may need to deploy Amokachi as the main central defender .... his ruthless tackling would intimidate the retired Brazilians (and he seems fitter than our defenders).
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote:
deanotito wrote:I'd suggest they start: Rufai, West, Uche, Cele, Jay Jay, Amo for Brazil, and see how it works...if things star breaking down, they can always change.
What of the formation? 3-2-0, 2-1-2 or 2-2-1? :)

Rufai will have more work to do than he had against China. Considering the squad (and the unlikelihood of Oloye storming the camp), we may need to deploy Amokachi as the main central defender .... his ruthless tackling would intimidate the retired Brazilians (and he seems fitter than our defenders).

Unlike the Chinese, I expect the Italians and the Brazilians to take goal-bound shots from far and wide. I saw the lone Italian goal vs. Brazil yesterday, and I was in awe....so we better close them down quick. Both us and the Chinese were trying extremely pass happy with goal scoring...I'd like us to try start taking shots from near midfield and testing the keeper's concentration too.

On Amo...though I don't like to criticize The Bull...he was clearly at fault for the 2nd Chinese goal. So, lets not make him central D abeg.

Nigeria V Italy coming soon.
Brazil 7 V 0 China

eyan wrote:China playing half field with us. Our player no fit move.... lol. Rufai keeping us in the game so far.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Chief, moving is not easy. Try some little jogging and see for yourself how much you have changed if you have NOT been jogging for awhile.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Oga JJ leads the boys in...... :clap: :clap:

Time to take our revenge for 1994.... :mad:
To God be the glory
Re: ThE sixties highlights

Great seeing the legends again. They all still got it.

Obong wrote:Great seeing the legends again. They all still got it.
Nah, these guys still got it...

Obong wrote:Great seeing the legends again. They all still got it.
Nah, these guys still got it...

You are forgetting that Brazilians play futsal for fun. This is their bread and butter. Although, to be fair, we play "choosing" and yet, we still yeye. :lol: