Penalty style is useless

Abba?

Wtf
Re: Penalty style is useless

It is a brilliant format. Long may it continue.

Stick with traditional...if its not broke don't try to fix it..

Cristao II wrote:It is a brilliant format. Long may it continue.

:clap: Only failures or losers complaint about this.

I just dont see why people love to change something that aint broke! Can someone explain to me what this ABBA is all about? The only ABBA i know were damn good singers with platinum releases...

It's believed there's an unfair advantage afforded the team going first with the latter constantly playing chase. ABBA supposedly levels that field. Irrespective of the timing of the kicks, one cannot legislate for the squander from 12 yards. Pathetic.

It isn't a good idea for the goalkeepers. Imagine a goalkeeper that just saved a kick and he has to get up and save another one immediately? No time to get himself together

It should be used to benefit the team that keeps 11 men on the field.

Coach wrote:It's believed there's an unfair advantage afforded the team going first with the latter constantly playing chase. ABBA supposedly levels that field. Irrespective of the timing of the kicks, one cannot legislate for the squander from 12 yards. Pathetic.
And when they discover that ABBA favors or is not a level playing ground what will they do again? Stupidity is on the rise in the world as idiots keep trying to ubravel nature and fate. There is a reason why they toss the coin and ask if the winner of the toss want to kick or defend first!

Coach wrote:It's believed there's an unfair advantage afforded the team going first with the latter constantly playing chase. ABBA supposedly levels that field. Irrespective of the timing of the kicks, one cannot legislate for the squander from 12 yards. Pathetic.
And when they discover that ABBA favors or is not a level playing ground what will they do again? Stupidity is on the rise in the world as idiots keep trying to ubravel nature and fate. There is a reason why they toss the coin and ask if the winner of the toss want to kick or defend first!

...what they need to look into and change is playing a man or more down. Penalize the offending player sent off with multiple games and some monetary fine depending on the gravity of the offense.
ABBA makes no difference, the onus of scoring and winning a pk shootout is on the players and goalies saving them.

I have figured out technique of saving a penalty.
When a player leans back to strike the ball, that means ball is going his right if a right footed taker, likewise a left footer.
But when the player's head is down and forward the ball is going to his left (across the body) likewise a left footer.
All this is a split second decision for the goalie to figure out, and decide where to dive to.
Just my take. Unfortunately I don't play anymore, I for practice am myself :biggrin:

mcal wrote:...what they need to look into and change is playing a man or more down. Penalize the offending player sent off with multiple games and some monetary fine depending on the gravity of the offense.
ABBA makes no difference, the onus of scoring and winning a pk shootout is on the players and goalies saving them.

When a player leans back to strike the ball, that means ball is going his right if a right footed taker, likewise a left footer.
But when the player's head is down and forward the ball is going to his left (across the body) likewise a left footer.
All this is a split second decision for the goalie to figure out, and decide where to dive to.
Just my take. Unfortunately I don't play anymore, I for practice am myself :biggrin:
:lol: :lol: :lol: I don't think you ever played this game.

Also, ABBA is based on solid evidence.

Keep practicing .... maybe you will learn how to use the two left feet to disprove your theories. :D:

oloye wrote:I just dont see why people love to change something that aint broke! Can someone explain to me what this ABBA is all about? The only ABBA i know were damn good singers with platinum releases...
:lol: Haba Oneh? :taunt:

You people hate change. I like the idea. :D

How doeS this ABBA work after the total of 4 players from each team has completed their kicks?
ABBA ABBA ...
Do they continue ABBAing till someone loses? Is it basically a game of ABBA until a team loses at a particular set of ABBA or do they revert to ABAB after a while?

I actually like this ABBA thing. Team A puts pressure on team B after scoring their first kick making team B chase them. After ABB, if team B scores both, the pressure is switched with A doing the chase now. And this emotional yoyo continues until one kicks a Thibaut and follow it with a Morata to end the game. :mrgreen:

Cito wrote:How doeS this ABBA work after the total of 4 players from each team has completed their kicks?
ABBA ABBA ...
Do they continue ABBAing till someone loses? Is it basically a game of ABBA until a team loses at a particular set of ABBA or do they revert to ABAB after a while?
They stick with ABBA, even in sudden death.

mcal wrote:...what they need to look into and change is playing a man or more down. Penalize the offending player sent off with multiple games and some monetary fine depending on the gravity of the offense.

Just my take. Unfortunately I don't play anymore, I for practice am myself :big grin:
mcal,

It matters, bro. This is all about psychology. It is similar to why there is a home advantage, it is similar to why constant protests by a coach and players affect officiating. It is all about psychological advantage.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
folem

Post by folem »

Cito wrote:How doeS this ABBA work after the total of 4 players from each team has compleABBA TALKir kicks?
ABBA ABBA ...

I actually like this ABBA thing. Team A puts pressure on team B after scoring their first kick making team B chase them. After ABB, if team B scores both, the pressure is switched with A doing the chase now. And this emotional yoyo continues until one kicks a Thibaut and follow it with a Morata to end the game. :mrgreen:
ABBA is the system used in Tennis for tie-breakers. It is a good innovation to the previous ABAB format to reduce the pressure of constanrly playing catch-up by sides playing second.

If this was to right a perceived wrong, then why not

ABBAAB?

Instead of letting one team take 4 shots, as opposed to the team supposedly going first, taking 2?
Last edited by balo on Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ABBA is good
The traditional African, whose way of thinking, have kept the continent in it's current precarious position (compared to the rest of the world) are the ones who don't like it

Long Live ABBA
If it does not work we can go with AAAAABBBBB

By the time B have taken their fourth, A will have taken 3.

Are there stats to back this up?