Afcon2019: Cameroon rights as good as gone...

CAF honcho Ahmad heads to Ethiopia
By Bonface Osano
http://www.soka25east.com/caf-honcho-ah ... -ethiopia/
onAugust 6, 20171SHARESHARE TWEET SHARE SHARE 0 COMMENTS

Confederation of African Football President Ahmad arrives in Ethiopia tonight from Burkina Faso for an official working visit.

Ahmad has been in the West African country since Thursday last week where he held talks with the Burkina Faso Football Federation Sita Sangare and the Head of State Roch Marc Christian Kabore.

He also graced the final of the Burkina Faso Women’s Cup on Friday.

The tour emphasized the importance of close working relationship between the federation and government.

“We cannot develop the game without a healthy working collaboration with political authorities,” Ahmad said.

Ahmad’s mission in Addis Ababa is still unclear at this point, however, it is widely expected that Ethiopian Football Federation will grab the opportunity to drum up support for their 2015 Afcon bid.

He is scheduled to meet and hold similar talks with Ethiopia President Mulatu Teshome.

The football mad horn of African nation has been on infrastructural overdrive – laying a formidable foundation for their quest to host of the continental showpiece for the second time.

Over five state of the art stadiums have already been built in the country of over 100 million people. Work on 60,000 capacity Addis Ababa Stadium is well on course.

With Cameroon’s preparedness for the staging of the 2019 Afcon doubtful, Ethiopia has become one of the hot favorites to step in as a fall back option.

Ethiopia could also land the hosting of the highly doubtful Guinea 2023 showpiece.

The recent expansion of the Afcon from 16 to 24, which Cameroon has since challenged at FIFA, means only a few countries with the required infrastructure or extra resources to invest can host the Africa’s prime tournament.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Afcon2019: Cameroon rights as good as gone...

This is not fair. You change the rules in the middle of the game. It is still 2017, two years away from the competition. Didn't even attempt to work with Cameroon to resolve the problems.

ohenhen1 wrote:This is not fair. You change the rules in the middle of the game. It is still 2017, two years away from the competition. Didn't even attempt to work with Cameroon to resolve the problems.
Ohenhen1,

It isn't official yet but all signs point to it. I believe the driving force is retribution for Madagascar being stripped by CAF (under Hayatou) from hosting the CAF U17. It was that stripping that brought COSAFA together and the 2019 Cameroon hosting right was in danger from that moment. CAF will go through the motions of planned inspections, etc but the results are already known. Only President Biya can save Cameroon's rights and he will have to work hard and at the higher political level to push back on this issue.

Forcing the 24-team tourney to start in 2019 is a way to point to Cameroon's unpreparedness. Moreover moving the tourney to June will be too risky to have Cameroon as host because of the rain forest belt issue. Why fail with your first attempt to host in June? Better to take it to Morocco or Ethiopia where the June climate is going to be far more favorable.
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

ohenhen1 wrote:This is not fair. You change the rules in the middle of the game. It is still 2017, two years away from the competition. Didn't even attempt to work with Cameroon to resolve the problems.
Ohenhen1,

It isn't official yet but all signs point to it. I believe the driving force is retribution for Madagascar being stripped by CAF (under Hayatou) from hosting the CAF U17. It was that stripping that brought CECAFA together and the 2019 Cameroon hosting right was in danger from that moment. CAF will go through the motions of planned inspections, etc but the results are already known. Only President Biya can save Cameroon's rights and he will have to work hard and at the higher political level to push back on this issue.

Forcing the 24-team tourney to start in 2019 is a way to point to Cameroon's unpreparedness. Moreover moving the tourney to June will be too risky to have Cameroon as host because of the rain forest belt issue. Why fail with your first attempt to host in June? Better to take it to Morocco or Ethiopia where the June climate is going to be far more favorable.
Come on now Ahmad, Chiyangwa and the southern crew made this known long before Ahmad became tne head honcho.

Our man Ahmad is working hard and will leave the federation better than he met it :clap: Soon Afcon will come to Zim, Botswana, Mozambique or even Namibia. We might have little cha ce of winning the damn thing but we will do a bloody good job hosting it. Certainly better than than those who routinely host it. I want an afcon hosted between the three of Bots, Zim and Namibia/Zambia or Moza :thumbs:

Expanded Format, Facilities Raise Concerns for Cameroon 2019
http://www.sportsvillagesquare.com/2017 ... roon-2019/
54 MINS AGO
Twitter Facebook Google + Linkedin Comments
BY KUNLE SOLAJA.

There is palpable fear in Cameroon that the hosting rights for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations may be forfeited.

Even before the expanded format which the Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced last month after a symposium in Rabat, Morocco, there had been fears of an in-built mechanism to make Cameroon fail in the excellent delivery of the tournament.

A Cameroon newspaper, Cameroon Post, had enunciated analysts’ views and summed that the decision to increase the number of teams from 16 to 24 beginning with the 2019 edition is a step towards telling Cameroon that they cannot host the competition.

Another publication, Bamenda Online, reported that “Cameroon may crack with expanded format”. In another edition of the publication, it reported that Algeria had submitted a request to replace Cameroon as the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON, host, if CAF, decided to take away the hosting rights from Cameroon.

Proposed Paul Biya Stadium, Yaounde
Citing an undisclosed source, Bemenda Online has it that a leader of Southern African regional football body, COSAFA, Phillip Chiyangwa, claimed that Cameroon’s hosting rights for AFCON tournaments were corruptly awarded under the regime of Issa Hayatou.

According to reports, the current CAF executive committee was said to be reviewing the manner in which the right to host the 2019, 2021 and 2023 Africa Cup of Nations tournaments were awarded to Cameroon and other West Africa nations by the previous CAF administration.

After those allegations faded out, the problem of doubts over Cameroon readiness to host the 2019 soccer jamboree erupted.

Cameroon Post quoted a sports journalist as saying that “Cameroon should sue CAF for changing the rules while the competition is ongoing. That is breach of the rules of the game. Anywhere, if the worst comes to the worse, the 2019 AFCON should be co-hosted.”

Perhaps it is along that line that Tombi A Roko Sidiki, the president of Cameroon Football Federation (FECAFOOT), is thinking. Shortly after returning from the Rabat, Morocco symposium organized by CAF, he told the press in Cameroon: “to me, the 2019 AFCON is underway and the playoffs of the competition have started. We are in a world of law and we are not going to change the rules of the game along the way.”

A senior journalist in Cameroon that Sports Village Square spoke with was of the opinion that the country was determined to meet the new demands imposed by the expanded cup format “knowing well that we are victims of the anti-Hayatou atmosphere in CAF today.

“It’s a sort of trap to take the hosting rights for us…but if they change the rules to eight stadia, we will give 10. The government and people of Cameroon are ready for the challenge and we will go the extra mile to welcome the continent in 2019”, remarked the experienced former sports journalist.

But situation on ground may be more than just a determination to deliver an excellent tournament. Stadium construction and upgrading of facilities are reportedly behind schedule.

In fact, Cameroon Post reported that FECAFOOT had terminated partnership agreements with a US-based company, Prime Potomac, which was saddled with the construction of Bemenda Olympic Stadium, one of the venues of the 2019 competition that is barely 18 months away.

Major concerns have been about facilities in Yaoundé and Douala which are being stalled by low funding. Under the previous 18-team format, Cameroon proposed to host the tournament in five cities of Douala, Yaoundé, Bafoussam, Garoua and Limbe.

It will now need six stadiums to host the competition. Sports Village Square gathered from Bamenda online that only the town of Limbe looks completely ready for the event.

The newspaper however quoted the country’s sports and physical education minister, Ismeal Bidoung Mkpatt as reassuring that the government was putting everything together for Cameroon to host Africa come 2019.

The upgrading of facilities is going at a very slow pace. According to Cameroon Post, work is yet to start on the Garoua Roumd Adjia Ominisport Stadium where the 16,000 seats need to be increased to 20,000.

Other works to be done there include refurbishment of dressing rooms, lightings, and the annexing of the nearby Lamido Hayatou de Poupoumre Stadium.

According to the reports, the works have been handed over to Chinese and Portuguese companies.

Other proposed sites are Bafoussam Ominisport Stadium, Paul Biya Stadium in Yaounde and the Japoma Stadium in Douala.

According to Cameroon Post, facilities in Douala and Yaounde pose the greatest problems. Construction works are yet to begin. “The Turkish firm contracted for Paul Biya Stadium and its two annexes in Yaounde has opted to import pre-fabricated parts to speed up the project.” The report has it that work recently began at Japoma Stadium in Douala.

Proposed Japoma Stadium, Douala

Cameroon are parading proposed stadia with two years to go,ok!

This guy might be worse than Hayatou.

Samora Machel wrote:
Ohenhen1,

It isn't official yet but all signs point to it. I believe the driving force is retribution for Madagascar being stripped by CAF (under Hayatou) from hosting the CAF U17. It was that stripping that brought CECAFA together and the 2019 Cameroon hosting right was in danger from that moment. CAF will go through the motions of planned inspections, etc but the results are already known. Only President Biya can save Cameroon's rights and he will have to work hard and at the higher political level to push back on this issue.

Come on now Ahmad, Chiyangwa and the southern crew made this known long before Ahmad became tne head honcho.

Our man Ahmad is working hard and will leave the federation better than he met it :clap: Soon Afcon will come to Zim, Botswana, Mozambique or even Namibia. We might have little cha ce of winning the damn thing but we will do a bloody good job hosting it. Certainly better than than those who routinely host it. I want an afcon hosted between the three of Bots, Zim and Namibia/Zambia or Moza :thumbs:
Ahmad should work for the whole of Africa, not just Southern Africa or he will be a one term President of CAF.

Let the North African host it.

Samora Machel wrote:
Ohenhen1,

Ahmad should work for the whole of Africa, not just Southern Africa or he will be a one term President of CAF.
Chief Pinnick and co will keep him honest if he tries any regionalism. Chiyangwa explicitly belaboured the point that Ahmad seeks to unite all of Africa and won't just be pro southern region. Remember Pinnick and co were part of the coup so he owes them favours too and they won't just sit idly by if he tries to embark on openly biased administration

I support it. It's high time other countries get to host it. Ethiopia, Zambia, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique can all host th AFCOn.Sick and tired of the same regions hosting it.Cameroon will be the 3rd country from central africa region in a row to host the AFCON.Why? And no North African country should host it either for the time being.

bret- hart wrote:I support it. It's high time other countries get to host it. Ethiopia, Zambia, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique can all host th AFCOn.Sick and tired of the same regions hosting it.Cameroon will be the 3rd country from central africa region in a row to host the AFCON.Why? And no North African country should host it either for the time being.
I agree, but the moves taken by CAF will prevent countries like Kneya, Zambia, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Mozambique from hosting it.

it will favor the North Africans.

BTW there is a rotational system in place. It was North Africa turn to host before Morocco declined at the last moment. Gabon replaced them. Before that, South Africa hosted it.

CAF honcho Ahmad heads to Ethiopia
By Bonface Osano
http://www.soka25east.com/caf-honcho-ah ... -ethiopia/
onAugust 6, 20171SHARESHARE TWEET SHARE SHARE 0 COMMENTS

Confederation of African Football President Ahmad arrives in Ethiopia tonight from Burkina Faso for an official working visit.

Ahmad has been in the West African country since Thursday last week where he held talks with the Burkina Faso Football Federation Sita Sangare and the Head of State Roch Marc Christian Kabore.

He also graced the final of the Burkina Faso Women’s Cup on Friday.

The tour emphasized the importance of close working relationship between the federation and government.

“We cannot develop the game without a healthy working collaboration with political authorities,” Ahmad said.

Ahmad’s mission in Addis Ababa is still unclear at this point, however, it is widely expected that Ethiopian Football Federation will grab the opportunity to drum up support for their 2015 Afcon bid.

He is scheduled to meet and hold similar talks with Ethiopia President Mulatu Teshome.

The football mad horn of African nation has been on infrastructural overdrive – laying a formidable foundation for their quest to host of the continental showpiece for the second time.

Over five state of the art stadiums have already been built in the country of over 100 million people. Work on 60,000 capacity Addis Ababa Stadium is well on course.

With Cameroon’s preparedness for the staging of the 2019 Afcon doubtful, Ethiopia has become one of the hot favorites to step in as a fall back option.

Ethiopia could also land the hosting of the highly doubtful Guinea 2023 showpiece.

The recent expansion of the Afcon from 16 to 24, which Cameroon has since challenged at FIFA, means only a few countries with the required infrastructure or extra resources to invest can host the Africa’s prime tournament.
Hold a minute! Is it me or what? Did I see 2015 AFCON Bid? Has year 2015 not pas

Ohenhen1,

It isn't official yet but all signs point to it. I believe the driving force is retribution for Madagascar being stripped by CAF (under Hayatou) from hosting the CAF U17. It was that stripping that brought COSAFA together and the 2019 Cameroon hosting right was in danger from that moment. CAF will go through the motions of planned inspections, etc but the results are already known. Only President Biya can save Cameroon's rights and he will have to work hard and at the higher political level to push back on this issue.

Hmm, like - Chief Ohenhen1 - already said, "this is not fair", especially with retribution written all over it

bret- hart wrote:I support it. It's high time other countries get to host it. Ethiopia, Zambia, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique can all host th AFCOn.Sick and tired of the same regions hosting it.Cameroon will be the 3rd country from central africa region in a row to host the AFCON.Why? And no North African country should host it either for the time being.
I agree, but the moves taken by CAF will prevent countries like Kneya, Zambia, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Mozambique from hosting it.

it will favor the North Africans.

BTW there is a rotational system in place. It was North Africa turn to host before Morocco declined at the last moment. Gabon replaced them. Before that, South Africa hosted it.
How so?
Some of those countries have better infrastructure than say Cameroon.

This is not right. We shouldn't behave like the EU or GCC countries.

ohenhen1 wrote:This is not right. We shouldn't behave like the EU or GCC countries.
I don't think you understand all the CAF changes.

1. With the new format, countries like Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania Cape Verde, Burkina Faso, e.t.c can co-host 12 teams or less, instead of 16.

2. Ahmad recently said, "We will send the experts and we will decide at the end of their inspection mission. We have decided that it is no longer the Caf Executive Committee who will inspect the countries selected for the organization of the AFCON."
"It is now experts who will do it and Caf will decide based on their report,"
Source

Ahmad may have ulterior motives regarding Cameroon, but you cannot fault him for sending experts and taking their advice. No more wining and dining CAF executives in the open, to get approval.

3. The rotational system didn't work! Look at how many Central African countries got to host recently. Even without Gabon's rescue, Cameroon had no business winning the rights to host 2019.

Samora Machel wrote:

Zim was supposed to host the event in 2000? wetin happen?

2002 Mali West Africa
2004 Tunisia North Africa
2006 Egypt North Africa
2008 Ghana West Africa
2010 Angola South Africa
2012 Gabon/Equatorial Guinea Central Africa
2013 South Africa
2015 awarded to Morocco North Africa, they declined to host it at the last moment citing Ebola scare. Equatorial Guinea stepped in to host it. This was North Africa
2017. Gabon was already awarded to host the event, Central Africa
2019 Cameroon Central Africa
2021 Ivory Coast West Africa
2023 Guinea West Africa

Where is the Central Africa bias?

In 21 years,

Central Africa would have hosted the Nations cup 3 times. Not including 2015.
West Africa 4 times
North Africa 3 times, if Morocco didn't back out
South Africa 2 times

From 1978 to 2002, Central Africa didn't host the nations cup.

It will be nice for other countries/regions to host the nations cup just not in such a backhanded way.
mlkama

Post by mlkama »

Very strange scenario but we will see how things unfold. Still a good 2 years to go....
Waffiman wrote: PS: Milla couldn't hold a candle to Manga Onguene or Theophile "Docteur" Abega .

East Africa should be upset.

DUE TO SECURITY CONCERNS...

...keep it out of N. Africa.

That region, with the possible exception of Morocco, is in the grips of terrorists.