The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

peron33uk
Re: The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

Post by peron33uk »

Robbynice wrote:Less than 12 hours to kickoff guys still here talking about players that we will most likely not get...Una try...It is a shame though, a damn shame if you ask me...smh
When someone tells me "God bless you", I ask the question, which God?

God - is just a title as there are many (All false).
I do not want to receive blessings from any other but from YHVH. The God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob(Israel), He is my God.

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Barca acquisition of Dembele far more ominous for football then Neymar move to PSG.

Dortmund thought they landed a young star that would shine for 3-4 seasons, a talent that could help challenge Bayern for a few seasons, instead Barca swoops in and Dortmund aspirations with Dembele are kaputt in just one season. No doubt a big windfall for BVB $ wise but if Barca are willing to drop 100 mill on Dembele, it makes buying young elite talent an investment scheme with little benefit on the pitch.

If young Nelson becomes a star this season, the ability to retain such a talent even at that age has become exponentially more difficult.

Completely disagree. If you followed the court case involving Dembele, his former Agent and his current Agent. There can be no doubt about the characters Dortmund were getting themselves involved with. I posted some details of the case on CE. Dembele dumped his previous Agent and mentor for his current Reps. They sought the best financial terms and most clubs avoided them because they did not want to be involved in the scandal that followed. Dortmund did not come out of that case smelling of roses even if it was established they did not wrong. But Dortmund as part of the settlement to the Agents for Dembele included a possible compensation figure for the Agent that lost out. This figure was not enough and a bitter bruising court battle followed.

Dembele new his new Agents were ordered to compensate Dembele's ex-Agent to full compensation he demanded. But they were ready to pay the money and even factored in this possibility as part of the deal.

Dortmund played ball with these guys, they knew what they were dealing in and with. So they cannot complain now the player wants out. These guys are in it for the money, if Dortmund cannot stand the heat, they must get out of the kitchen.

Nelson and Dembele situation are completely different. However, you are right about the difficulty of retaining top talent if you cannot compete financially. We have been through this when we had no money. Today, we can compete with most with the exception of a few clubs.

ohenhen1 wrote:I am not buying the Nzonzi hype. He was not great when he was in England. I would pass on him. We are okay with Coquelin, El neny and Xhaka for now. We need a more creative box to box midfielder.

You clearly never watched him.
Was a great player when he was in England? He wasn't. He has improved immensely at Sevilla and on that basis. I will not argue he is worth a punt. At the Emirates Cup, he showed a quality which I really admired. He was a rock and the leader of that side. That is a quality we need more of in our team.

If we sign him, he will be a water carrier for the likes of Xhaka and Santi. He is not a bad water carrier when you think about it.

You want to debate the term 'great'?

He was on some dubious teams who played a style of footie (esp. Stoke) that didn't lend itself to his style. He still managed to be consistently one of the better players on those teams and do enough to show his quality.

I'm not proclaiming him the savior of Arsenal, he's 28, he'd be an unwise buy BUT give the guy his due credit. Go ask Rovers and Stoke fans how they feel about him.
I have given him his due credit many times on this thread. I have also defined the term great IMHO with examples. Vieira, Gilberto etc. etc.

So will the emirate faithfull makeMike Dean knows we are watching him close if he try to mess the game?
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

One change Gooners hope to see this season is an Arsenal side that does not use the 1st half as warm up exercise.

Last 2 seasons it's been one dire 1st half after another, goals in the last 20 minutes exciting but legit contenders often put inferior opposition away inside of the 1st 30 minutes.

For 2 years the Arsenal sashay their way through the first half. Arsenal players must wake up, Arsenal are not a fire department, should not only respond in emergencies.

It's Infuriating as clubs with PL title aspirations should be innately focused to put teams to bed early and often. Not playing rope a dope for 65 mins.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Your line up for today and what is expected from the boys?
Win and clean sheet must be a must

A comfortable 3 points. 3-4-3 of some sort. Would argue a 3-3-1-3 would offer a more combative Beloved, nevertheless...usual line-up with Ruud Van Lacazette in it to win it.

Opening EPL MATCHDAY THREAD IN AN HOUR ... make una come out in force :mrgreen:

bouncino

Post by bouncino »

anikulapo wrote:Opening EPL MATCHDAY THREAD IN AN HOUR ... make una come out in force :mrgreen:
Go on
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

Coach wrote:A comfortable 3 points. 3-4-3 of some sort. Would argue a 3-3-1-3 would offer a more combative Beloved, nevertheless...usual line-up with Ruud Van Lacazette in it to win it.
You have started again Coach.
Abeg leave this season alone abeg

COYG!
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

EPL SEASON MATCHDAY THREAD OPENED MAKE UNA COME JOIN :thumb:

Arsenal Team: Cech, Holding, Monreal, Kolasinac, Bellerin, Elneny, Xhaka, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Ozil, Welbeck, Lacazette

Subs: Ospina, Mustafa, Coquelin, Ramsey, Iwobi, Walcott, Giroud

:thumbs:

Please please please. Before we ALL go nuts at Arsenal for NOT winning the title this year, let us not forget what has happened in Manchester. I hope we win it, but we have to be realistic and support our team ALL year. COYG.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Who will start the real game thread?

LACAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Lacazeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeette

Danny Welbeck really needs to work on his finishing.

Welbeck again.

Ozil, Welbeck, and Xhaka need to respond.
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

Arsene Wenger is a very poor coach

Ramsey and OG again. Again.

bouncino wrote:
Coach wrote:A comfortable 3 points. 3-4-3 of some sort. Would argue a 3-3-1-3 would offer a more combative Beloved, nevertheless...usual line-up with Ruud Van Lacazette in it to win it.
You have started again Coach.
Abeg leave this season alone abeg
3 points. Money in the bank.