Onazi about to sign for Birmingham City in the Championship?

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/ ... enyi-onazi
Birmingham manager Harry Redknapp says the club are close to signing midfielder Ogenyi Onazi from Trabzonspor.

Reports in Turkey say a £4m fee has been agreed, and the player is due to fly to the Midlands to undergo a medical.

The 24-year-old Nigeria international joined Trabzonspor from Lazio last summer and made 32 league appearances scoring two goals.
Why?
Re: Onazi about to sign for Birmingham City in the Champions

Naija's best going to Division II?
No worries shia, he will be joined by Ghana man
(Birmingham €8m for Acquah)
http://www.football-italia.net/107401/b ... C8m-acquah

Why what? You don't want him to chop pounds? Turkey is too far and he needs to be in the news on a weekly basis. Good luck to him

niyi wrote:http://www.skysports.com/football/news/ ... enyi-onazi
Birmingham manager Harry Redknapp says the club are close to signing midfielder Ogenyi Onazi from Trabzonspor.

Reports in Turkey say a £4m fee has been agreed, and the player is due to fly to the Midlands to undergo a medical.

The 24-year-old Nigeria international joined Trabzonspor from Lazio last summer and made 32 league appearances scoring two goals.
Why?
Why not? The Championship is not a bad place to be. Def more stable for him if he is planning a family than Turkey.

Why?
Harry Redknapp probably wanted to sign him in his previous clubs but Lazio made it hard,there where rumours of Liverpool wanting him a few years ago but he ended up in small club in Istanbul that had problems paying his wages so I believe Birmingham won't hurt! :thumb:
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Why?
Why not? The Championship is not a bad place to be. Def more stable for him if he is planning a family than Turkey.
when the Ghana men (Atsu & Jordan Ayew) were playing in the championship, CE considered that "blasphemy" :winking:

favorites to get prompted , nothing wrong with the championship

Bigpokey24 wrote:favorites to get prompted , nothing wrong with the championship
:rotf: naija man don change tune

Na condition dey mak crayfish bend

Good move for Onazi. :thumb:

IMHO, poor move.

chief nfachairman wrote:IMHO, poor move.
...sure, should have gone NPL where money are paid in billions, and away matches can be a nightmare :biggrin:

Water finds its level (always)
Sheikh

Post by Sheikh »

Water finds its level (always)
I have been saying repeatedly on this forum that Onazi is on the decline and could cost us dearly if we persist in starting him based on past glory.

My advise is that the English league and game is no joke- na real hard work. that if you think premier league is gra-gra football Championship is x2 harder no hiding place. 75% of the football is hustle at highest level- So Onazi must be sure of himself fitness wise - its 2-3 games every week if you include cup games.

Bigpokey24 wrote:favorites to get prompted , nothing wrong with the championship
:rotf: naija man don change tune

Na condition dey mak crayfish bend
Did the illiterate Asamoah Gyan pass or fail his reading test?
papilo

Post by papilo »

Nothing wrong with the move if it happens. He is not as good as many think he is. Also a good move personally for him I would think as he is just starting a new family and the UK is a better place for a naija man to raise a family than Turkey. Good luck to the guy.
yes o

....but he probably has limited choices. Good luck to him.

“I don’t believe in crime, violence or things that are not right. Those are things that irritate me. When I see it happening close to me, I will react,” Onazi told FourFourTwo.

The man who regularly partners multiple Premier League winner John Obi Mikel in Nigeria’s midfield caught the robber and dragged him back to the police station.

“I guess as a midfielder I’m always aware of my surroundings and it was the same when I saw the guy," Onazi added. "I knew I was faster than him too!”

Onazi has also had interest from Spanish side Sevilla during this transfer window and has three years remaining on the four-year contract he signed with Trabzonspor last summer.

Unfortunate move. Really had high hopes for Onazi after the WC. Easily our best player...but I have not seen that WC Onazi since the Matuidi tackle. I also wish he had fully embraced the defensive mid role....this box to box thing he likes to play does him no favors and confuses suitors..he's not that good of a dedicated attacking threat, so when he starts to fight for such roles, it really doesn't work. He's better off as a full defensive mid that can get you 3-5 goals per season (like Oliseh was later in his career).

He could easily have been a Kante type ...and I hope he still gets to be that. I hold out hope

...sure, should have gone NPL where money are paid in billions, and away matches can be a nightmare :biggrin:
Was NPL an option? :?

He will definitely get his salary!!

....but he probably has limited choices. Good luck to him.
Yes. I guess as much. Would have been better he stayed at Trabzonspor but i guess they cant match 2-% of what he'll be getting at Birmingham