Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Man Utd about to shell 40 million for Bailly

wiseone wrote:He and Jonesy remind me of old school defensive partnership (block, tackle, head it - put in row Z when the need arises). No faffing about trying to play 2 yard square passes inside your own area. If in doubt - put youfr foot through it.
You just described the purest art of defending ..... :clap: :clap:

danfo driver wrote:Another masterful performance from the Ivorian Oloye. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Jaime Vardy must be terrified at the sight of him. :rotf: :rotf:
That boy makes my head swell with pride!

danfo driver wrote:Another masterful performance from the Ivorian Oloye. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Jaime Vardy must be terrified at the sight of him. :rotf: :rotf:
That boy makes my head swell with pride!

Oloye, do you think the "pure art" of defending is a dying art? These days there is so much emphasis on 'ball playing defenders' that we have a plethora of defenders who are comfortable on the ball but are really shaky and error prone defensively (yes, defenders who cannot defend!). People forget that some of the best defenders of recent eras were not that great in possession but were as difficult to avoid as a mountain range (Vidic, Godin, Puyol, Cannavaro, Nesta, Terry, Carvalho, Stam, Kohler, Adams, Keown, Campbell). You never saw those guys trying to dribble the ball on the edge of their own area. You did see them put strikers in the stands if the need ever arose though.
wiseone wrote:He and Jonesy remind me of old school defensive partnership (block, tackle, head it - put in row Z when the need arises). No faffing about trying to play 2 yard square passes inside your own area. If in doubt - put your foot through it.

wiseone wrote:Oloye, do you think the "pure art" of defending is a dying art? These days there is so much emphasis on 'ball playing defenders' that we have a plethora of defenders who are comfortable on the ball but are really shaky and error prone defensively (yes, defenders who cannot defend!). People forget that some of the best defenders of recent eras were not that great in possession but were as difficult to avoid as a mountain range (Vidic, Godin, Puyol, Cannavaro, Nesta, Terry, Carvalho, Stam, Kohler, Adams, Keown, Campbell). You never saw those guys trying to dribble the ball on the edge of their own area. You did see them put strikers in the stands if the need ever arose though.
wiseone wrote:He and Jonesy remind me of old school defensive partnership (block, tackle, head it - put in row Z when the need arises). No faffing about trying to play 2 yard square passes inside your own area. If in doubt - put your foot through it.
I dont mind defenders playing with the ball...the likes of Maldini, Baresi , Costacurta, Desaily, Thuram, Keshi and heck even Eboigbe...but they must first and foremost know how to put attackers in check. Look at the way they stole the ball from Belerin and he was escorting Sala like a cheap escort hired to keep an old hag company...tufiakwa. Look at Holding like a kitty cat cat allowing rats to have a field day. Kai give me Keown Salah would have ended up as an sallah goat.

Kai General Baily is the deal..as soon as the papers are signed he is gonna be co-opted as one of my boys. These would be Mbappe, Rashford and the latest acquisition General Baily.

By the way Vidic is the only one in that list who does not know what to do with the ball other than either hoof it or give it back to the keeper.

wiseone wrote:Oloye, do you think the "pure art" of defending is a dying art? These days there is so much emphasis on 'ball playing defenders' that we have a plethora of defenders who are comfortable on the ball but are really shaky and error prone defensively (yes, defenders who cannot defend!). People forget that some of the best defenders of recent eras were not that great in possession but were as difficult to avoid as a mountain range (Vidic, Godin, Puyol, Cannavaro, Nesta, Terry, Carvalho, Stam, Kohler, Adams, Keown, Campbell). You never saw those guys trying to dribble the ball on the edge of their own area. You did see them put strikers in the stands if the need ever arose though.
I dont mind defenders playing with the ball...the likes of Maldini, Baresi , Costacurta, Desaily, Thuram, Keshi and heck even Eboigbe...but they must first and foremost know how to put attackers in check. Look at the way they stole the ball from Belerin and he was escorting Sala like a cheap escort hired to keep an old hag company...tufiakwa. Look at Holding like a kitty cat cat allowing rats to have a field day. Kai give me Keown Salah would have ended up as an sallah goat.

Kai General Baily is the deal..as soon as the papers are signed he is gonna be co-opted as one of my boys. These would be Mbappe, Rashford and the latest acquisition General Baily
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

When I want to laugh, i scroll back to page one and re-read this thread. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

danfo driver wrote:The Ivorian Oloye :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

The Ivorian Oloye :rotf: :rotf:

realtrouble wrote:
danfo driver wrote:The Ivorian Oloye :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

The Ivorian Oloye :rotf: :rotf:
have you seen bailly tackle. When bailly tackles, he has the same mission as Oloye used to have -- "win the ball, and make sure the man knows you are there." its psychological. if a striker knows you are there, the striker begins to second-guess himself. I didnt play professionally, but I was a right back for my high school and for one year in college. My nickname in high school was "Taribo," and it wasnt because i was ugly. :D Many a left winger, especially during SS2 Tournament, decided to become right wingers, because of me. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Just remember that Untied bought this guy for 30 million. :ohmy:

messi hated him :rotf:

A real defender must have the fear factor...when Taribo first came to europe he instilled the fear of God and defender into all the strikers he came across....he kicked the living lights out of them all. At some point they wanted to even take him to Hague...well when he mellowed down to play, the message had gone across...that although he is a pastor....on the field he is the devil incarnate stay clear.

You are not a defender if attackers do not holld an agm to discuss about you! You are not a defender if attackers do not wear double shin pads the day they are coming against you....heck some would even remember they had an old injury that would not allow them play.

oloye wrote:A real defender must have the fear factor...when Taribo first came to europe he instilled the fear of God and defender into all the strikers he came across....he kicked the living lights out of them all. At some point they wanted to even take him to Hague...well when he mellowed down to play, the message had gone across...that although he is a pastor....on the field he is the devil incarnate stay clear.

You are not a defender if attackers do not holld an agm to discuss about you! You are not a defender if attackers do not wear double shin pads the day they are coming against you....heck some would even remember they had an old injury that would not allow them play.

Chief! it was one winger who started calling me Taribo. This guy was fast and skillful. And damn, could this kid score. I remember before we played them, this guy had scored two goals in the previous match and my useless class SS1B, na so so useless players full am. So they were already talking about us getting beat like road side thieves. Our coach (one of the classmates is usually appointed coach) asked me to man-mark the guy. Not to brag, but man-marking was my forte! kai!!! When match start, my mission was clear "I am going to convert this guy into defensive midfielder. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: The first time he got the ball and attacked my wing, he did one swerve like that and tried to get to the outside of me, near the line. That was the perfect one for me, because i could use sliding tackle to uproot the guy and the ball at the same time out for a throw. much better than having him swerve in the inside of the pitch, were if i made a tackle, the ball will still be on the pitch and the referee will have to make a decision as to whether it was a foul or not. Well, na so i waya this guy, two footed, with the ball and his legs inside bush! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: And you know sey for high school for Benin, we no get better grass.... :rotf: :rotf: After that tackle, the guy literally refused to cross halfway line. Dude was playing like defensive midfielder. :rotf: :rotf: After match, the guy just dey spark "Which kind Taribo tackle be that! Which kind Taribo tackle be that!" :lol: :lol: :lol: From that day, henceforth, na Taribo dem begin call me.

oloye wrote:A real defender must have the fear factor...when Taribo first came to europe he instilled the fear of God and defender into all the strikers he came across....he kicked the living lights out of them all. At some point they wanted to even take him to Hague...well when he mellowed down to play, the message had gone across...that although he is a pastor....on the field he is the devil incarnate stay clear.

Chief! it was one winger who started calling me Taribo. This guy was fast and skillful. And damn, could this kid score. I remember before we played them, this guy had scored two goals in the previous match and my useless class SS1B, na so so useless players full am. So they were already talking about us getting beat like road side thieves. Our coach (one of the classmates is usually appointed coach) asked me to man-mark the guy. Not to brag, but man-marking was my forte! kai!!! When match start, my mission was clear "I am going to convert this guy into defensive midfielder. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: The first time he got the ball and attacked my wing, he did one swerve like that and tried to get to the outside of me, near the line. That was the perfect one for me, because i could use sliding tackle to uproot the guy and the ball at the same time out for a throw. much better than having him swerve in the inside of the pitch, were if i made a tackle, the ball will still be on the pitch and the referee will have to make a decision as to whether it was a foul or not. Well, na so i waya this guy, two footed, with the ball and his legs inside bush! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: And you know sey for high school for Benin, we no get better grass.... :rotf: :rotf: After that tackle, the guy literally refused to cross halfway line. Dude was playing like defensive midfielder. :rotf: :rotf: After match, the guy just dey spark "Which kind Taribo tackle be that! Which kind Taribo tackle be that!" :lol: :lol: :lol: From that day, henceforth, na Taribo dem begin call me.
Good old brutal sliding tackle on naija pitches always gets the message across. :clap:

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Typical Jonesy: starts the new season in flying form. Playing very well and with 3 consecutive clean sheets. He gets recalled to the England team, then promptly gets injured. Typical Jonesy.

Taribo - the man who ended Kanchelskis career as a top flight player. THAT "tackle" on Kanchelskis was deplorable:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7178&p=105625&hilit ... is#p105625

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=192450&p=3073520&hi ... s#p3073520

Shock bid for Arsenal Sanchez, heard from the grapevine

marko wrote:Shock bid for Arsenal Sanchez, heard from the grapevine

This bid should be accepted while some teams are bidding on and being rejected for scrubs.

This will hurt the soul of some people. :lol: :lol: :lol:
"When Mourinho called me in NY, we talked for an hour. I'm now working under the manager I wanted to work with for a long time."
http://thepeoplesperson.com/2017/09/03/ ... ed-188420/

Mourinho raising money for charity

Andreas Pereira has joined the Man Utd loan legion (second successive season on loan in Spain's La Liga).

Tuanzebe should have gone on loan to a Championship team. He is not likely to get much game time with Jonesy, Bailly, Mike, Mark Red, Blind, and Lindelof ahead of him in the queue for a center back spot.

Congrats as well to TFM who became the 114th Man Utd academy graduate to make his international debut. Sorry Ghanaians - you have lost him to Holland.
wiseone wrote:Good to see the youngsters go out on loan:

Andreas Pereira: Valencia

TFM: Crystal Palace
Regan Poole: Northampton Town
Cameron Borthwick-Jackson: Leeds
Sam Johnstone: Aston Villa

I hope they get regular game time. Tuanzebe should go out on loan too (he might be the best of the bunch). Ditto Joe Riley.
TFM going to Palace makes sense - because he will play under a Dutch manager whom he has played under before (at Ajax).

Eric looked uncharacteristically shaky against Stoke. He was slow/lazy pushing up and played Diouf onside for the first goal, then lost Choupo Moting who scored for Stoke. 2 mistakes in 2 seconds, and cost his team a goal. Then Jonesy also lost Choupo Moting at the corner for Stoke's second goal. Mistakes from two dependable CDs who had been playing well this season, and had not conceded a goal before today's game (0 goals conceded in 270 minutes of football before the Stoke game).
Last edited by wiseone on Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

wiseone wrote:Eric looked uncharaterically shaky against Stoke. He was slow/lazy pushing up and played Diouf onside for the first goal, then lost Choupo Moting who scored for Stoke. 2 mistakes in 2 seconds, and cost his team a goal. Then Jonesy also lost Choupo Moting at the corner for Stoke's second goal. Mistakes from two dependable CDs who had been playing well this season, and had not conceded a goal before today's game (o goals conceded in 270 minutes of football before the Stoke game).
The intl break may have something to do with his poor performance today. I watched Ndidi and Mahrex in action today and they both looked lethargic at times. Moses was very good though.

...I was wondering the effect of the international break on these players from far flung places, especially those that played crucial matches on Monday and Tuesday, and have to fly back to their clubs. Except some very rich players (Brazilians for example) who were flown back by private jets.

wiseone wrote:Eric looked uncharaterically shaky against Stoke. He was slow/lazy pushing up and played Diouf onside for the first goal, then lost Choupo Moting who scored for Stoke. 2 mistakes in 2 seconds, and cost his team a goal. Then Jonesy also lost Choupo Moting at the corner for Stoke's second goal. Mistakes from two dependable CDs who had been playing well this season, and had not conceded a goal before today's game (o goals conceded in 270 minutes of football before the Stoke game).
Stokes ATTACKED Man U something the other teams did not really do.

Eric also received a knock that affected his movement. I thought he will be substituted.

If Bailly was injured, why on earth did JM not sub him off? (since he had an international center half sitting on the bench!)
:shock:
Eric also received a knock that affected his movement. I thought he will be substituted.