ONYEKURU AND AJAGUN HANG

In the Belgian league game today between Kortrijk (at home) and Anderlecht, which ended in a 2-2 draw...
Ajagun tied the scores at 1-1 for Kortrijk, while Onyekuru (who came on about the 65th min) tied it at 2-2 for Anderlecht.
Last edited by Gotti on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: ONYEKURU AND AJAGUN HANG

Meanwhile, Awaziem is back in the starting lineup today for Nantes - and playing at CB....

:clap:

That's 3 goals in 2 games for onyekuru and he's still on the bench. Hes the highest goal scorer for Anderlecht but the rubbish coach is still playing that big striker ahead of him.

The way I see before long Awaziem will be the mainstay of Super Eagles defense

Awaziem with the assist for the lone Nantes goal.

As for Kortrijk and Anderlecht - Ajagun and Onyekuru with a goal, but its Ajagun's assist on the second goal that is worth special notice. What a pass! (Talking about world class passes - check out Naby Keita's pass for Augustin's debut goal vs Borussia today; Naby Keita might just be the best DM in the world).

bully12 wrote:The way I see before long Awaziem will be the mainstay of Super Eagles defense
How So?

bully12 wrote:The way I see before long Awaziem will be the mainstay of Super Eagles defense
How So?
How many 19 year old Nigerians do you see playing in the first team of a top 5 league?
It's early days, but save for the unwarranted red card Awaziem received, he's had one assist and only conceeded one goal during the 240 minutes he's been on the field.

All in all nice to see both him and Troost Ekong doing well at their clubs.

BTW Even Balogun, despite losing 4:0 to Bayern, got very high rating on Whoscored for todays performance.

We just need a 4th CD to complete the quartet needed in a squad. I am happy for Awaziem, he ticks all the right boxes, i.e. good in the air, strong in the tackle, reads the game and passes the ball out of defence. Liverpool have him on their radar and have been monitoring his progress.

Dammy wrote:We just need a 4th CD to complete the quartet needed in a squad. I am happy for Awaziem, he ticks all the right boxes, i.e. good in the air, strong in the tackle, reads the game and passes the ball out of defence. Liverpool have him on their radar and have been monitoring his progress.
Omeruo is better than Otigba by far

Dammy wrote:We just need a 4th CD to complete the quartet needed in a squad. I am happy for Awaziem, he ticks all the right boxes, i.e. good in the air, strong in the tackle, reads the game and passes the ball out of defence. Liverpool have him on their radar and have been monitoring his progress.
TBH, I had paid little attention to the guy (Awaziem) until the south African game. In that game, in spite of few errors, I was impressed and I believe he is one for the future. Right now he is better than any of our CDs in bringing the ball out of the defense with a pass.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Udokhai is a starter for Wolfsburg! Why arent we hearing any clamour for him? Is he one of those who want to wait for Germany?

Yes! The guy has never even been to Nigeria.
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

At 1860 Munich, they called him the next great thing. Seems to be on course for a German call up :!:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:That's 3 goals in 2 games for onyekuru and he's still on the bench. Hes the highest goal scorer for Anderlecht but the rubbish coach is still playing that big striker ahead of him.
Maybe coming off the bench might be the reason why he's the highest goal scorer hmm?

icee

Post by icee »

i have written about Ajagun a few times on the forum. In my view, he should be the AM competing and relieving Mikel. Very intelligent player, goalscoring midfielder.

No he shouldn't. Iwobi is the rightful successor for JOM

john12 wrote:No he shouldn't. Iwobi is the rightful successor for JOM
May the best man win. All the better for Naija.

There is only one natural successor and thats Kelechi Nwakali.
I expect him to start from the next game, he has been that good when coming on.

I watched this game. Very happy for both players. Their game needs refinement though and they need to leave Belgium to improve their game. At times their final ball was really poor. Onyekuru is a livewire. Very good prospect.
Gotti wrote:In the Belgian league game today between Kortrijk (at home) and Anderlecht, which ended in a 2-2 draw...
Ajagun tied the scores at 1-1 for Kortrijk, while Onyekuru (who came on about the 65th min) tied it at 2-2 for Anderlecht.

wiseone wrote:I watched this game. Very happy for both players. Their game needs refinement though and they need to leave Belgium to improve their game. At times their final ball was really poor. Onyekuru is a livewire. Very good prospect.
Gotti wrote:In the Belgian league game today between Kortrijk (at home) and Anderlecht, which ended in a 2-2 draw...
Yup! Ajagun needs to storm camp at Bayern and onyekuru should just catch a flight to Barca tonite. :roll:

You make very astute points. Bayern and Barca are the only clubs in the world outside Belgium.
wiseone wrote:I watched this game. Very happy for both players. Their game needs refinement though and they need to leave Belgium to improve their game. At times their final ball was really poor. Onyekuru is a livewire. Very good prospect.
Yup! Ajagun needs to storm camp at Bayern and onyekuru should just catch a flight to Barca tonite. :roll: