Ambode moves to renovate National Stadium Lagos

Re: Ambode moves to renovate National Stadium Lagos

Gotti wrote:They (via PPP) are building an entertainment complex in the new reclaimed Oworonshoki...
Gotti, is this a complex meant to service the entertainment needs of the local community there, or is it more a project aimed at attracting patronage from far and wide?
The latter. They want to develop the waterfront...

goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

States like Enugu took over Nnamdi Azikwe, Kaduna took over Ahmadu Bello, therefore is making a case for Agbole in Surulere.

osita wrote:Handover the stadium to lagos State.
Goldenera94
folem

Post by folem »

goldenera94 wrote:States like Enugu took over Nnamdi Azikwe, Kaduna took over Ahmadu Bello, therefore is making a case for Agbole in Surulere.

Lagos is due to host African Senior Athletics Championship in 2018 so there is a neccessity for a grass Olympic stadium. Time is running out.

pajimoh wrote:Chopping time. Another renovation exercise only to be left to rot again. I'd like to see how much to renovate a relic and compare to the cost of new stadiums all over the place?
In a way, I think you are right, but like you said, let's wait and see what the price of the renovation will be, before we assume it is "choppies time."

Tbite wrote:They should knock it down and build a new one.
:agree: :agree: :agree: Just knock the place down and start from scratch. I think no amount of renovation will bring the stadium to current status of several "world stadiums."
folem

Post by folem »

goldenera94 wrote:States like Enugu took over Nnamdi Azikwe, Kaduna took over Ahmadu Bello, therefore is making a case for Agbole in Surulere.

Lagos is due to host African Senior Athletics Championship in 2018 so there is a neccessity for a grass Olympic stadium. Time is running out.

folem wrote:

If that's the case they need to step down and let a worthy host take the responsibility,its time to own up they and most cities in Nigeria are not up to the task!
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

The real deal wrote:This will classically become another whining thread for Nigerians to bash Govt, make wild unsubstantiable allegations, self hating comments etc.......I will not go down that lane. I believe again that Nigeria populace are more guilty than the Govt we blame 24/7....Its self explanatory. Having said that I will proffer solution than continue to complain. I will urge any entrepreneural Nigerian out there to form a consultancy company and negotiate with the Govt to manage the stadium for next 5 years....Give Govt a guarantee that you will make em a profit of $1M dollar a year and you will maintain the stadium......Now, go out there and bring clubs to play there; local league teams......friendlies....bring Athletics, bring music concerts, organize interhouse sports even a few owambe parties, wrestling, boxing.....this is the idea of capitalism....This is what is needed......
People don't understand that GOVT are not supposed to do all these but smart citizens...All we do is sit down and expect Govt to do it all
The Nigerian populace isnt doing its part...we are asleep!!!

A more practical/workable proposal...
Until you actually try to execute it in Nigeria - witness the National Theatre. :oops:

I have no doubt that my proposal isnt perfect and it will like ly have its problems. Besides, Nigeria is unique. AS someone put it one time, we can snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. There isnt anything thats perfect. As to your comment on healthcare, I assume you're commenting on my view on US healthcare system. It isnt perfect either but I WILL NEVER REPLACE IT WITH A SOCAILIZED medicine as in England and elsewhere. IT IS THE BEST in the world. I've been blessed to have worked in a few countries btw. A GREAT system like this is never going to be affordable, lets be honest. Without the distraction of US healthcare, I know of Nigerian companies " Sponsoring events/games" but not running stadia, please tell us what you mean by Private stadia in Nigeria
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos

folem wrote:

Can always install natural grass at the Teslim Balogun stadium.

The real deal wrote:I have no doubt that my proposal isnt perfect and it will like ly have its problems. Besides, Nigeria is unique. AS someone put it one time, we can snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. There isnt anything thats perfect. As to your comment on healthcare, I assume you're commenting on my view on US healthcare system. It isnt perfect either but I WILL NEVER REPLACE IT WITH A SOCAILIZED medicine as in England and elsewhere. IT IS THE BEST in the world. I've been blessed to have worked in a few countries btw. A GREAT system like this is never going to be affordable, lets be honest. Without the distraction of US healthcare, I know of Nigerian companies " Sponsoring events/games" but not running stadia, please tell us what you mean by Private stadia in Nigeria
Interesting coincidence, as I have NEVER EVER read anything at all that you wrote about healthcare...
Nonetheless, it is substantively irrelevant for anything to supposedly be the “best” if you cannot afford it!

While at it, can you please enlighten the rest of us exactly how a drug like Daraprim became “better” when Martin Shkreli jacked up it price 5000% overnight from $13.50 to $750? Did its medical properties change and improve 5000% (or even 1%) overnight as a result of a capitalist’s determination to maximize his profits? Abegi, let’s not insult folks’ intelligence and belittle ourselves by mindlessly regurgitating the tired and obtuse pablum of so-called “socialized” healthcare being peddled by paid lobbyists and paid-for politicians. Do you know what real “socialized” healthcare is? It is the fact that PUBLIC FUNDING pays for a sizable chunk of medical research (up to 60% about a decade, and more than 70% in the 1980s) in the US, mostly through the National Institutes of Health and other public sources.

Only 25%? Don Tinubu must have mellowed in his old(er) age... :lol:

The real deal

Post by The real deal »

The real deal wrote:I have no doubt that my proposal isnt perfect and it will like ly have its problems. Besides, Nigeria is unique. AS someone put it one time, we can snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. There isnt anything thats perfect. As to your comment on healthcare, I assume you're commenting on my view on US healthcare system. It isnt perfect either but I WILL NEVER REPLACE IT WITH A SOCAILIZED medicine as in England and elsewhere. IT IS THE BEST in the world. I've been blessed to have worked in a few countries btw. A GREAT system like this is never going to be affordable, lets be honest. Without the distraction of US healthcare, I know of Nigerian companies " Sponsoring events/games" but not running stadia, please tell us what you mean by Private stadia in Nigeria
Interesting coincidence, as I have NEVER EVER read anything at all that you wrote about healthcare...
Nonetheless, it is substantively irrelevant for anything to supposedly be the “best” if you cannot afford it!

While at it, can you please enlighten the rest of us exactly how a drug like Daraprim became “better” when Martin Shkreli jacked up it price 5000% overnight from $13.50 to $750? Did its medical properties change and improve 5000% (or even 1%) overnight as a result of a capitalist’s determination to maximize his profits? Abegi, let’s not insult folks’ intelligence and belittle ourselves by mindlessly regurgitating the tired and obtuse pablum of so-called “socialized” healthcare being peddled by paid lobbyists and paid-for politicians. Do you know what real “socialized” healthcare is? It is the fact that PUBLIC FUNDING pays for a sizable chunk of medical research (up to 60% about a decade, and more than 70% in the 1980s) in the US, mostly through the National Institutes of Health and other public sources.
Using an individual's greed in trying to overprice a drug to castigate a whole system is more than a bit of overreach wouldn't you agree? I could mention 10,000 medicines that aren't overpriced. Public funding and research? Gotti, with due respect your knowledge about medical reserch and its funding to the end product @ best is incomplete. For the point, you're trying to make, there's no doubt that innovation, productivity are best outside of state control. The wealth that the Govt spends is from taxes from productive entrepreneurs....... I know what Socialized healthcare is Gotti. I hope we won't try to bring back a debate about an ideology destined to end in misery, failure and strife......Soup wey sweet, na money kill am....Anything worth something that you own has a price. I like an exchange of ideas, of wisdom, presenting a superior argument than just spewing grammar to insult each other.....nobody is too old to learn new things

How Daraprim take enter isai National Stadium?
Somebody get malaria? :blink: :blink: :blink:

The real deal wrote:Using an individual's greed in trying to overprice a drug to castigate a whole system is more than a bit of overreach wouldn't you agree? I could mention 10,000 medicines that aren't overpriced. Public funding and research? Gotti, with due respect your knowledge about medical reserch and its funding to the end product @ best is incomplete. For the point, you're trying to make, there's no doubt that innovation, productivity are best outside of state control. The wealth that the Govt spends is from taxes from productive entrepreneurs....... I know what Socialized healthcare is Gotti. I hope we won't try to bring back a debate about an ideology destined to end in misery, failure and strife......Soup wey sweet, na money kill am....Anything worth something that you own has a price. I like an exchange of ideas, of wisdom, presenting a superior argument than just spewing grammar to insult each other.....nobody is too old to learn new things
It’s not just one drug, but Daraprim is one very visible example...

Why do you think the many drugs cost significantly much more in the US than the same drugs just across the border in Canada? You think they get “worse” or “better” once they cross the border either way? And yes, I know about healthcare funding in the US, asca large part of the more than 25 years that I spent on Wall Street involved financing pharmaceutical corporates, with Schering-Plough being one of my biggest clients from 2004-2010, and Pfizer being one of my longest relationships in any industry. So trust me when I ask you not to insult our collective intelligence and blow smoke up our backsides. More money is collectively spent on sales, advertisement, sponsorships, entertaining doctors and sundry procurers, paying lobbyists and politicians, buying corporate jets and paying huge bonuses, etc, than on privately-funded R&D for most drugs and devices. That’s substantively why drugs and healthcare costs (add medical insurance costs) are so much more higher in the US than in other advanced economies and not because it is so much more “better”!

Damunk wrote:How Daraprim take enter isai National Stadium?
Somebody get malaria? :blink: :blink: :blink:

My apologies for the diversion, but some have apparently been swallowing hook line and sinker the politically hallucinogenic drugs served up by K Street lobbyists. There’s a reason that Congress employs a “socialized” single-payer health insurance system that keeps its own healthcare costs down - and it ain’t because healthcare for the rest of us are “better” than theirs.

Now (hopefully), back to football-related discourse. :D

:lol: :lol: :lol: Wonders upon wonderment!! I never thought I'd live to see the day in which Gotti is dropping "socialised" knowledge! :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs:

As Nixon's domestic adviser John D. Ehrlichman told him on the "health business": "the less care they give them, the more money they make.”

Aluta continua Comrade Gotti, or in Ambo and Bobo Chicago Tinubu's case, aloota continua! :lol:
folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:
gohttps://www.dailytrust.com.ng/news/sports/gac-motors-backs-2018-african-senior-athletics-championships-with-n800m/204493.htmldenera94 wrote:States like Enugu took over Nnamdi Azikwe, Kaduna took over Ahmadu Bello, therefore is making a case for Agbole in Surulere.

Can always install natural grass at the Teslim Balogun stadium.
It looks like CAA already moved it to Asaba.

https://www.dailytrust.com.ng/news/spor ... 04493.html

http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/20 ... ast-times/

Has LASG refurbished Onikan Stadium that they now want to graduate to the National Stadium? I guess when you look at land values, it might make economic sense to take over the National Stadium and sell off Onikan to the 'connected'.
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

The real deal wrote:Using an individual's greed in trying to overprice a drug to castigate a whole system is more than a bit of overreach wouldn't you agree? I could mention 10,000 medicines that aren't overpriced. Public funding and research? Gotti, with due respect your knowledge about medical reserch and its funding to the end product @ best is incomplete. For the point, you're trying to make, there's no doubt that innovation, productivity are best outside of state control. The wealth that the Govt spends is from taxes from productive entrepreneurs....... I know what Socialized healthcare is Gotti. I hope we won't try to bring back a debate about an ideology destined to end in misery, failure and strife......Soup wey sweet, na money kill am....Anything worth something that you own has a price. I like an exchange of ideas, of wisdom, presenting a superior argument than just spewing grammar to insult each other.....nobody is too old to learn new things
It’s not just one drug, but Daraprim is one very visible example...

Why do you think the many drugs cost significantly much more in the US than the same drugs just across the border in Canada? You think they get “worse” or “better” once they cross the border either way? And yes, I know about healthcare funding in the US, asca large part of the more than 25 years that I spent on Wall Street involved financing pharmaceutical corporates, with Schering-Plough being one of my biggest clients from 2004-2010, and Pfizer being one of my longest relationships in any industry. So trust me when I ask you not to insult our collective intelligence and blow smoke up our backsides. More money is collectively spent on sales, advertisement, sponsorships, entertaining doctors and sundry procurers, paying lobbyists and politicians, buying corporate jets and paying huge bonuses, etc, than on privately-funded R&D for most drugs and devices. That’s substantively why drugs and healthcare costs (add medical insurance costs) are so much more higher in the US than in other advanced economies and not because it is so much more “better”!

I was hoping you'd be above the fray of what's considered 3rd world " Temperament" that stifles intellectual debates and exchange of reasonable information. Too often, 3rd world literates start to showboat, speak complicated English, embellish and exagerate experiences in attempt to win/humiliate/denigrate anyone that holds opposing opinion. Its main reason why politics is so bitter. You are so guilty of generalization. just cos you've entered a couple of offices on wall street doesn't mean you know everything and you generalize.......Broadly, I'm sure you can understand why a drug will cost more in the US than it will cost in Cape Verde or Serbia....no rocket science.......Back in Nigeria, I remember folks asking why hospital bills will be 5K, when they cd buy CQ, Tylenol for less than 2o naira...... I leave it to your imagination. There's no country in the world that offers what the US system does in quality and quantity bar none......all the left propaganda is BS
Some important stats and info........If you think US system isnt all that, next time youve a headache or brain tumor, go to Greece/kuwait/ Cuba or Poland

http://fda.complianceexpert.com/2.5318/ ... ns-1.93280

https://www.cia.gov/library/publication ... 3rank.html

The real deal wrote:I was hoping you'd be above the fray of what's considered 3rd world " Temperament" that stifles intellectual debates and exchange of reasonable information. Too often, 3rd world literates start to showboat, speak complicated English, embellish and exagerate experiences in attempt to win/humiliate/denigrate anyone that holds opposing opinion. Its main reason why po}litics is so bitter. You are so guilty of generalization. just cos you've entered a couple of offices on wall street doesn't mean you know everything and you generalize.......Broadly, I'm sure you can understand why a drug will cost more in the US than it will cost in Cape Verde or Serbia....no rocket science.......Back in Nigeria, I remember folks asking why hospital bills will be 5K, when they cd buy CQ, Tylenol for less than 2o naira...... I leave it to your imagination. There's no country in the world that offers what the US system does in quality and quantity bar none......all the left propaganda is BS
Some important stats and info........If you think US system isnt all that, next time youve a headache or brain tumor, go to Greece/kuwait/ Cuba or Poland

Thanks First World Literate for acknowledging that I cleaned toilets (do those count as ‘offices’?) on Wall Street...

But exactly what substantive difference does it make if I go to Timbuktu (noticed you did not list Canada - or Japan, Sweden, the UK or Germany) for treatment or die on the sidewalk in the US from the same ailment simply because I am not rich enough to afford its supposedly “best” healthcare?! SMDH
Last edited by Gotti on Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:47 pm, edited 4 times in total.

cic old boy wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: Wonders upon wonderment!! I never thought I'd live to see the day in which Gotti is dropping "socialised" knowledge! :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs:

As Nixon's domestic adviser John D. Ehrlichman told him on the "health business": "the less care they give them, the more money they make.”

Aluta continua Comrade Gotti, or in Ambo and Bobo Chicago Tinubu's case, aloota continua! :lol:

Comrade CIC, bros, wonders never end! One would think that any rational person would be compelled to ponder why Congress subscribes to a “socialized” (single-payer) system of health insurance but denies the same to the generality of the populace.

The real deal

Post by The real deal »

The real deal wrote:I was hoping you'd be above the fray of what's considered 3rd world " Temperament" that stifles intellectual debates and exchange of reasonable information. Too often, 3rd world literates start to showboat, speak complicated English, embellish and exagerate experiences in attempt to win/humiliate/denigrate anyone that holds opposing opinion. Its main reason why po}litics is so bitter. You are so guilty of generalization. just cos you've entered a couple of offices on wall street doesn't mean you know everything and you generalize.......Broadly, I'm sure you can understand why a drug will cost more in the US than it will cost in Cape Verde or Serbia....no rocket science.......Back in Nigeria, I remember folks asking why hospital bills will be 5K, when they cd buy CQ, Tylenol for less than 2o naira...... I leave it to your imagination. There's no country in the world that offers what the US system does in quality and quantity bar none......all the left propaganda is BS

Thanks First World Literate for acknowledging that I cleaned toilets (do those count as ‘offices’?) on Wall Street...

But exactly what substantive difference does it make if I go to Timbuktu (noticed you did not list Canada - or Japan, Sweden, the UK or Germany) for treatment or die on the sidewalk in the US from the same ailment simply because I am not rich enough to afford its supposedly “best” healthcare?! SMDH
Never said or implied you cleaned toilets. No, I did not
Gotti, whatever you see on CNN and other similar outlets arent true. There's no other country that can offer you what US syatem will give you @ the snap of a finger.....SPECIALIST in every field!! None! What you will get from the smallest US city snapping your finger, you'll have to wait 3-6 months in all those countries you mentioned........ The Illegals and the uninsured get EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING...Its not true....we even send them home with breathing machines...Its so untrue.....Anyways, walk into any hospital and find out the info i just told you...