FALCONS GET NEW FOREIGN COACH

The NFF executive board meeting yesterday announced the appointment of American Randy Waldrum as the new coach (officially the ‘Technical Adviser’) of the Super Falcons.

Prior to his Nigerian appointment, Waldrum was head of coach of the Trinidad and Tabago women’s national team for about 2 years until he was fired in 2016, and also the head coach of the Houston Dash of the National Women’s Soccer League until he was fired in May following a poor run of results.

ikemba
Re: FALCONS GET NEW FOREIGN COACH

Post by ikemba »

No surprises here. Picnic only like foreign stuff!
Olayemi14

Post by Olayemi14 »

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randy_Waldrum

Waldrum led the Notre Dame women's soccer team to two national championships, in 2004 and 2010
Active member of the JOM & JM Fan Clubs. Baba Eleran of Chelsea FC.
Gadfly

Post by Gadfly »

And he will get paid on time!

Olayemi14 wrote:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randy_Waldrum

Waldrum led the Notre Dame women's soccer team to two national championships, in 2004 and 2010
Better info...
The TV announcements and news reports did not mention Notre Dame.

https://theeagleonline.com.ng/super-fal ... ign-coach/

http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/randy-wa ... 37b610b7vr

https://www.naijanews.com/sports/26242- ... er-falcons

Gotti wrote:The NFF executive board meeting yesterday announced the appointment of American Randy Waldrum as the new coach (officially the ‘Technical Adviser’) of the Super Falcons.

Prior to his Nigerian appointment, Waldrum was head of coach of the Trinidad and Tabago women’s national team for about 2 years until he was fired in 2016, and also the head coach of the Houston Dash of the National Women’s Soccer League until he was fired in May following a poor run of results.

Gotti,

He has not been officially hired yet. What happened is that the NFF Executive Committee approved the Technical Committee's request to negotiate with Waldrum with the hope of reaching financial agreement at which point he will be officially hired. That is my understanding.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Olayemi14

Post by Olayemi14 »

Olayemi14 wrote:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randy_Waldrum

Better info...
The TV announcements and news reports did not mention Notre Dame.

https://theeagleonline.com.ng/super-fal ... ign-coach/

http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/randy-wa ... 37b610b7vr

https://www.naijanews.com/sports/26242- ... er-falcons
US Collegiate sports na serious business especially Female footy. It generally involves long term planning and stability. This guy will age faster than an outgoing POTUS.

waste of money

Rawlings wrote:waste of money
if those Ghanaians are black queens where are the Kings; did they all die from looking at ugly faces every morning

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Gadfly wrote:And he will get paid on time!
I think he will be fired soon like in other clubs/nations he has worked for, or this time, he will quit for nonpayment of salaries :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by Odas on Tue Oct 06, 2020 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Gadfly wrote:And he will get paid on time!
I think we will be fired soon like in other clubs/nations he has worked for, or this time, he will quit for nonpayment of salaries :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Mods?
This man is disrespecting Naija. Suspend him for 3.5 hours
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

He is not appointed. One Naija person recommended him.

He was recently fired by the Houston dash for poor performance.

ohenhen1 wrote:He was recently fired by the Houston dash for poor performance.

Do you think if he was any good, he'll come to Africa?
we take the junk from the west

One of Ghana's national team coaches was a PE teacher in Serbia
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Women college soccer in US is crap.
The Dash were in the last position in the just concluded women's league; I watched all the 10 last finals matches played as well as most of the matches played by the Spirit.

Oguleftie wrote:Women college soccer in US is crap.
The Dash were in the last position in the just concluded women's league; I watched all the 10 last finals matches played as well as most of the matches played by the Spirit.
Medicine deemed unfit for animals in the USA, was found in Edo state, a couple of years ago

This is just soccer ..no big deal
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

I think he will do fine. By the way, some American coaches have a love for Nigeria, if not for VISA wahala we would see MORE Thomson Usiyans - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thompson_Usiyan

<
Olayemi14

Post by Olayemi14 »

Are you serious about Women’s collegiate soccer? Name three US Female internationals that did not pass through the college program. He coached a major program i.e. Fighting Irish. They are as competitive as STanford, NC or Duke.

If Japan can win the world cup. Nigeria can also win it. The women's game is not as competitive as the men's game. Our problem is we spend basically nothing on it. Our women league is not even on TV. Look at England, they are quietly building a strong women's national team program. The Dutch is now dominating Europe. Both England and Holland will soon challenge the US.

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

That's crazyily strange. I remember after the 94 world cup, the female college games were the most organized female soccer league in the whole world. That's why they were that good, even better than their male counterpart.

I would have preferred Finidi or Ugbade given the job.
Bobo Dan

Post by Bobo Dan »

Rawlings wrote:waste of money
if those Ghanaians are black queens where are the Kings; did they all die from looking at ugly faces every morning
LMAO
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :D :D :D :D
If I can't express my opinion, I have no reason to be part of this union."
Co Adriaanse - AZ Coach

We’re not rated on the Continent,” said Toshack. “British managers are not, coaches are not, players are not. It’s all 4-4-2, hit the front man, get on the second ball. It hasn’t changed. It frustrates me at times, it really does.”
- John Toshack (British Wales Coach viewtopic.php?t=111511 ).

A foreign coach for a team that doesn't play a friendlies?