Kelechi related: Samuel Eto on what Pep does to players

I don't know if this has been posted before, but it's very interesting. Eto'o is the football version of Muhammad Ali--he is a supremely entertaining guy who had the skills to back up his big mouth. :lol: While Eto'o is not talking about Kelechi directly, he may help us understand what went wrong with Kelechi's confidence. By the way, Eto'o is not the only player to complain about Pep's rigid approach to players, trying to force square pegs into round holes--Zlatan, Ronaldinho, Yaya, the list is long. Enjoy. If you wish, start from 4.19 where he says it is inconceivable for such a group of talented players to lose to Arsenal :rotf: (talking about the 2006 Champs league final)

Re: Kelechi related: Samuel Eto on what Pep does to players

Holy smoke, he undressed Pep.

Good video. Thanks for posting.

Kelechi has been mismanaged... unfortunate not to have a manager who took time out to find his real position. Then he also had to deal with Guardiola for more than a season.

Na wa for this Eto'o so my beloved he put down as if we are not a club good to beat Barca in CL final after dusting Real Madrid.Chai beloved don suffer sha.
As for Pep as much as i dont like him,he is a decent coach and might win EPL this season

And then there's Kevin De Bruyne whose square peg has been squashed into a round hole, the result, one of the most commanding centre-mids the Premiership has seen in eons. Comfortably the standout player thus far. Guardiola views the game in a particular way, to think that one of the cusp of becoming City's all time record scorer was at the threshold of departure, is the perfect paradigm of Pepism. Aguero, old dog, acquired the elusive new trick. In the slender opportunities given, Iheanacho could've applied himself better, moved more, pressed harder, played the game rather than the moments. Is it Pep that has overseen his, as yet, irrelevance at Leicester? Why is Okazaki benching him? Granted no two players are the same, but if Iheanacho insists upon playing the game at his pace, he'll fast find himself peperemped at the King Power. Youthful exuberance should have him flying up and down the field. Contrast his displays with that of Marcus Rashford, different players entirely, but seldom does one need to search the screen to know Marcus is playing. Is it beyond the DNA inscriptions, the codons and ribosomal translations for Kelechi to move? To engage in the game within the game?

Arguably Aguero's heir apparent at City, a goalscorer, but in so short a measure of time, the ever changing specification of the centre-forward/striker has changed once more. Look at Harry Kane, as pure a goal scorer as the Premier league has seen, look at the work rate, the effort expended...this from a 30 goal a season forward. The Aiyegbenics are no longer acceptable to modern managers. Whoever comes in at Leicester will more than likely endorse a team pressing ethic and if Kelechi doesn't embrace that clockwork mouse mentality, he'll be Guardiola'd by another manager. He's young enough to evolve into whatever is asked. May his terrific talent not be squandered.

Not sure if Etoo is the best opinion on Pep. It is no secret that for all his talent he had a horrible attitude. And I not sure why Pep is being blamed for Kelechi's challenges at City

This was posted years ago.

Eto'o left Pep at Barça and won a double.
Kelechi left Pep at ManCity and ....?
We're still waiting....

Different strokes for different folks. Pep's approach works for some and it doesn't work for others, it is what it is.

Coach wrote:And then there's Kevin De Bruyne whose square peg has been squashed into a round hole, the result, one of the most commanding centre-mids the Premiership has seen in eons. Comfortably the standout player thus far. Guardiola views the game in a particular way, to think that one of the cusp of becoming City's all time record scorer was at the threshold of departure, is the perfect paradigm of Pepism. Aguero, old dog, acquired the elusive new trick. In the slender opportunities given, Iheanacho could've applied himself better, moved more, pressed harder, played the game rather than the moments. Is it Pep that has overseen his, as yet, irrelevance at Leicester? Why is Okazaki benching him? Granted no two players are the same, but if Iheanacho insists upon playing the game at his pace, he'll fast find himself peperemped at the King Power. Youthful exuberance should have him flying up and down the field. Contrast his displays with that of Marcus Rashford, different players entirely, but seldom does one need to search the screen to know Marcus is playing. Is it beyond the DNA inscriptions, the codons and ribosomal translations for Kelechi to move? To engage in the game within the game?

Arguably Aguero's heir apparent at City, a goalscorer, but in so short a measure of time, the ever changing specification of the centre-forward/striker has changed once more. Look at Harry Kane, as pure a goal scorer as the Premier league has seen, look at the work rate, the effort expended...this from a 30 goal a season forward. The Aiyegbenics are no longer acceptable to modern managers. Whoever comes in at Leicester will more than likely endorse a team pressing ethic and if Kelechi doesn't embrace that clockwork mouse mentality, he'll be Guardiola'd by another manager. He's young enough to evolve into whatever is asked. May his terrific talent not be squandered.
I agree.

Coming from one of Kelechi's biggest fans I'll say that he hasn't done much to prove himself tbh.

Mr. Piffington wrote:Different strokes for different folks. Pep's approach works for some and it doesn't work for others, it is what it is.
Is it about working? How many players actually like Messi? Even those who succeeded with him?

and BTW Eto'o did succeed with Pep! So what do you mean by approach?

I don't think many people like Pep! Just because they play for him, doesn't mean they like the man. Everywhere he went, he created enemies! Everywhere! I am sure when he leaves City, we will also hear stories. Look at the Bayern Camp, who BTW he won with as well. So this isn't a case of people who were not in Pep's plans revolting. His main players at Bayern did not like him.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Oh please let's stop being emotional about this. Kelechi needs to prove himself. This is his opportunity, some will say Leicester doesn't fit his style of play. Bullcrap! Didn't he have offers from Hoffenheim and Monaco???...Why didn't he go to a club that suits his style? Being a good footballer requires you to make good decisions on and off the pitch! We Nigerians are just too emotional, I remember people claiming he was better than Gabriel Jesus,well Gabriel jesus is showing how take advantage of a rare opportunity by playing with confidence and scoring! Just like Mikel he settled for the minimum and basic job of just trying to be a finisher but unfortunately as striker these days you are expected to do more. You don't go to a club like mancity to play "no be me spoil ball" that will not take you far.

Why is everything always binary with some people?

Is it possible that Kele needs to work harder AND Pep is a terrible human being?

Geesh, not everything is a yes or no question.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Ohsee

Wow!! Awesome. Loved it!!! Nothing new though on Pep's personality but we get insight on some notable events. I feel that Samuel expected Pep to be who he is not -- extroverted.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

YUJAM wrote:Not sure if Etoo is the best opinion on Pep. It is no secret that for all his talent he had a horrible attitude. And I not sure why Pep is being blamed for Kelechi's challenges at City
Chief, it is not only Eto'o. See Marca report below.
http://www.marca.com/en/football/intern ... b4598.html
Why are so many former players criticising Guardiola?

CAMILLE BATCHIR
@Camille_Batchir
ADAPTED BY EUAN MCTEAR

While many consider Pep Guardiola the best coach in the world, not all of his former players have enjoyed his way of working, including Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Samuel Eto'o, Cesc Fabregas and the others on this list:
For the comments and list, go to site.
As for Kelechi, if it is indeed true that Pep comes to a team and has already made his decision about who will be on his team and who will not, and does not communicate properly what he wants to a player who has been automatically excluded, don't you think it may affect a young player who is still trying to find his feet? Why was Kelechi being compared to Rashford when Pellegrini was around, then suddenly becomes rubbish when Pep shows up? Don't you think such a spectacular loss of form is due to loss in confidence? A loss of confidence from the way he was treated and spoken to by the manager? My good friend, it is very easy to damage a youngster. Most managers are aware of this, and shield and nurture talented youngsters.

Kabalega wrote:This was posted years ago.

Eto'o left Pep at Barça and won a double.
Kelechi left Pep at ManCity and ....?
We're still waiting....
Chief,
Is this a serious question? The brash and super confident Eto'o left Barca a legend, a skilled goalscorer, and with a reputation as one of Europe's most lethal finishers. He was on the downward slope of his fabled career when he joined Mourinho at Inter. This is whom you are comparing to a young man at the beginning of his career, brimming with hope that he can impress this legend coach, but now facing crushing disappointment? Come on now....

Enugu II wrote:Ohsee

Wow!! Awesome. Loved it!!! Nothing new though on Pep's personality but we get insight on some notable events. I feel that Samuel expected Pep to be who he is not -- extroverted.
Chief,
I thoroughly enjoyed it too. It's too bad Eto'o is not an English speaking North American--he would be a favorite TV personality if he were, especially if he played a North American sport.

I think Eto'o was getting at something more than Pep's introverted personality. For instance, he spoke about how Pep berated him after a game in which he made a run to open space for Messi to score, asking Eto'o why he did not run in Pep's preferred pattern. While Pep is clearly a winner, he may suffer from a certain kind of rigidity about things that can be troubling when it is not working either for the team or for specific players.

Chief isn't this to be expected though? Pep's system requires discipline and adherence to detail and I am certain he does not get these things from his players by being a nice guy, not always at least. Also one has to note that Etoo and Ibra, two of Pep's biggest critics, are notorious head cases who've had problems with other coaches. Perhaps it may just be that Pep thought their personalities would not work with his team.

In Kelechi being a young man that needed development, let's not forget that Pep has made a lot of players much better footballers. Pep worked with Kelechi for a year before he decided to sell him. Could the reason for this be that the boy lacked some of the traits that Pep likes? I think to blame Pep for Kekechi's shortcoming at this stage in his career is unfair.
ohsee wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Not sure if Etoo is the best opinion on Pep. It is no secret that for all his talent he had a horrible attitude. And I not sure why Pep is being blamed for Kelechi's challenges at City
Chief, it is not only Eto'o. See Marca report below.
http://www.marca.com/en/football/intern ... b4598.html
Why are so many former players criticising Guardiola?

CAMILLE BATCHIR
@Camille_Batchir
ADAPTED BY EUAN MCTEAR

While many consider Pep Guardiola the best coach in the world, not all of his former players have enjoyed his way of working, including Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Samuel Eto'o, Cesc Fabregas and the others on this list:
For the comments and list, go to site.
As for Kelechi, if it is indeed true that Pep comes to a team and has already made his decision about who will be on his team and who will not, and does not communicate properly what he wants to a player who has been automatically excluded, don't you think it may affect a young player who is still trying to find his feet? Why was Kelechi being compared to Rashford when Pellegrini was around, then suddenly becomes rubbish when Pep shows up? Don't you think such a spectacular loss of form is due to loss in confidence? A loss of confidence from the way he was treated and spoken to by the manager? My good friend, it is very easy to damage a youngster. Most managers are aware of this, and shield and nurture talented youngsters.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
lionga

Post by lionga »

I think Eto'o was getting at something more than Pep's introverted personality. For instance, he spoke about how Pep berated him after a game in which he made a run to open space for Messi to score, asking Eto'o why he did not run in Pep's preferred pattern. While Pep is clearly a winner, he may suffer from a certain kind of rigidity about things that can be troubling when it is not working either for the team or for specific players.
Pep is infamously prissy about players adhering to his vision regardless of outcome, this is well known to anyone who has watched his teams in the past decade. On MNF a couple years ago Thierry Henry recalled how Pep once yanked him off at HT for positional indiscipline even though he scored the breakout goal (watch from 5:15:)

I can recall other instances like Victor Valdes saying how Barca initially struggled with playing out of the back and conceeded goals, but Pep would get mad if they reacted by booting the ball forward.

But again, much of this is well known especially after Pep's time at Bayern. He's not quite the horse whisperer, and compulsively overthinks things which can confuse his players. But truth be told, Kelechi's issue with Pep is that he is simply not the latter's type. Coach's excellent post nails it, but there are other things Pep craves in his players (football intelligence, technique) which aren't Kele's strong points. Chief Enugu I know you're being supportive, but given how things have started at Leicester Kele needs to be MORE than himself and figure out what is required of him on the field or God forbid in a couple of years only CEs wil remember him :(.
icee

Post by icee »

lionga wrote:
Pep is infamously prissy about players adhering to his vision regardless of outcome, this is well known to anyone who has watched his teams in the past decade. On MNF a couple years ago Thierry Henry recalled how Pep once yanked him off at HT for positional indiscipline even though he scored the breakout goal (watch from 5:15:)

I can recall other instances like Victor Valdes saying how Barca initially struggled with playing out of the back and conceeded goals, but Pep would get mad if they reacted by booting the ball forward.

But again, much of this is well known especially after Pep's time at Bayern. He's not quite the horse whisperer, and compulsively overthinks things which can confuse his players. But truth be told, Kelechi's issue with Pep is that he is simply not the latter's type. Coach's excellent post nails it, but there are other things Pep craves in his players (football intelligence, technique) which aren't Kele's strong points. Chief Enugu I know you're being supportive, but given how things have started at Leicester Kele needs to be MORE than himself and figure out what is required of him on the field or God forbid in a couple of years only CEs wil remember him :(.
Kelechi in my view is highest on intelligence and technique (reason for his high conversation rate). Not sure which Kele you've been watching. Physicality, tackle, track back ...those are different BUT IQ and technqie...please dont question!

IQ and technique is exactly why he succeeded in the first place... Second to none.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

It's not intelligence that Pep was upset with Kele over, he needed more running and pressing.
Interesting Interview with The Great Samuel Etoo

I stumbled into this and was shocked at what happened between Etoo and Guardiola's disrepect for him at Barca.
Enjoy