OFFICIAL LIST OF SE INVITES FROM NFF WEBSITE

Re: OFFICIAL LIST OF SE INVITES FROM NFF WEBSITE

Mr Shows wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:serious why is Akpeyi still in this team?
Based on current form... Or who else would you replace him with?
A cone!
Ezenwa is better than him on matchday (I don't care what he does for his club), when he plays for Nigeria he is always a mess, always shaking in between the posts, always nervous, can't organize his backline, always screaming.

He hasn't proven to be better than Ezenwa in GWG. So our options are simple, it is either a matter of seeing whether the youngsters Uzoho, Daniel and Alampasu can usurp Ezenwa....and if they don't fine, stick with Ezenwa!

What do we need Akpeyi for exactly? Let him keep shining in South Africa, what does that have to do with us?

Either you have what it takes or you don't. Akepyi is not good enough to wear the green shirt, and if he starts for us in the World Cup, all the hardwork we put into qualifying will be wasted! God forbid bad thing.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Rohr names squad of 24 for Algeria and Argentina games with Francis Uzoho topping list of fresh faces - See more at: https://goo.gl/LnVMiU

Tbite wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:serious why is Akpeyi still in this team?
Based on current form... Or who else would you replace him with?
A cone!
Ezenwa is better than him on matchday (I don't care what he does for his club), when he plays for Nigeria he is always a mess, always shaking in between the posts, always nervous, can't organize his backline, always screaming.

He hasn't proven to be better than Ezenwa in GWG. So our options are simple, it is either a matter of seeing whether the youngsters Uzoho, Daniel and Alampasu can usurp Ezenwa....and if they don't fine, stick with Ezenwa!

What do we need Akpeyi for exactly? Let him keep shining in South Africa, what does that have to do with us?

Either you have what it takes or you don't. Akepyi is not good enough to wear the green shirt, and if he starts for us in the World Cup, all the hardwork we put into qualifying will be wasted! God forbid bad thing.
Not always. He had a good game against South Africa in a friendly. He had one or two shaky games.

In the main Rohr's 24-man list is OK but....

[1] I would have had Brian Idowu in the main squad. He is the only natural leftback we have at the moment
[2] There is absolutely no justification for calling up Ahmed Musa. He will be as match rusty as hell
[3] I think Rohr should have called up Dele Alampasu instead of Daniel Akpeyi. How many second chances can you give one man?
[4] I am of the view that Kingsley Madu of Zulte Waregem should also have been given a look-in. He has been doing well in the Belgian league lately
[5] Did Rohr make overtures to Felix Uduokhai and Kelvin Akpoguma? I think the fans demand an explanation as to why they were not called up. Did they refuse the invitation or was the German FA unwilling to release them?
[6] Has Rohr looked at Anderson Esiti at all?
[7] Why was Kelechi Nwakali not invited to camp?
[8] What is the justification for not calling up Olanrewaju Kayode?
[9] Should Victor Osimhen and Taiwo Awoniyi not at least have been on the back-up list?
[10] I dop not think Rohr is taking the "leftback problem" seriously enough. Apart from Kingsley Madu and Brian Idowu, I also think Stanley Amuzie, Deji Beyreuther and Jordan Touranighora should at least have been on the back-up list. If nothing else to view them and make an assessment of their capabilities.
Re: In the main Rohr's 24-man list is OK but....

But it is about building a team. The coach may like Ahmed Musa influence off the pitch. Musa can move in January and get games. Musa when fit is a good asset. He has speed. I actually think he should play more centrally not out wide.

ohenhen1 wrote:But it is about building a team. The coach may like Ahmed Musa influence off the pitch. Musa can move in January and get games. Musa when fit is a good asset. He has speed. I actually think he should play more centrally not out wide.

He should be invited in January when he gets a club and if match fit again. By calling him up now, Rohr has denied an opportunity to some in-form player who deserves to be looked at.

Does it not make more sense to invite say Emmanuel Bonaventure of Brugge or Peter Olayinka of Zulte Waregem than Ahmed Musa? Even if both are deemed not to be good enough, at least they would have been checked out.

[1] Brian Idowu is primarily a left-sided centreback, not a left back. And he's been pretty average in the Russian league. Stop the hype now.
[2] Yes, Musa's call-up cannot be justified any longer. He is also blocking players like Olayinka or Bonaventure from getting a look into.
[3] Agreed. Alampasu or Daniel should be called up ahead of Akpeyi.
[4] Madu has played one game the entire season and wasn't any good. Stop the hype now
[5] Akpoguma and Uduokhai need FIFA clearance. There aren't that great and even so procedures take time.
[6] What does Esiti bring that Ogu or Agu don't? He doesn't even start regularly for his club.
[7] Nwakali needs to start regularly, then he can be called up.
[8] Kayode needs to start regularly, then he can be called up.
[9] Osimhen needs to start regularly, then he can be called up. But yes - Awoniyi warrants a look into.
[10] Left back is obviously the weak spot. Fortunately the same is true for most countries at the World Cup.

marutimon wrote:[1] Brian Idowu is primarily a left-sided centreback, not a left back. And he's been pretty average in the Russian league. Stop the hype now.
[2] Yes, Musa's call-up cannot be justified any longer. He is also blocking players like Olayinka or Bonaventure from getting a look into.
[3] Agreed. Alampasu or Daniel should be called up ahead of Akpeyi.
[4] Madu has played one game the entire season and wasn't any good. Stop the hype now
[5] Akpoguma and Uduokhai need FIFA clearance. There aren't that great and even so procedures take time.
[6] What does Esiti bring that Ogu or Agu don't? He doesn't even start regularly for his club.
[7] Nwakali needs to start regularly, then he can be called up.
[8] Kayode needs to start regularly, then he can be called up.
[9] Osimhen needs to start regularly, then he can be called up. But yes - Awoniyi warrants a look into.
[10] Left back is obviously the weak spot. Fortunately the same is true for most countries at the World Cup.
Please name me one leftback we have who can bomb forward and score goals like this:

...dem get functioning web site :o :shock:

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] I would have had Brian Idowu in the main squad. He is the only natural leftback we have at the moment
[2] There is absolutely no justification for calling up Ahmed Musa. He will be as match rusty as hell
[3] I think Rohr should have called up Dele Alampasu instead of Daniel Akpeyi. How many second chances can you give one man?
[4] I am of the view that Kingsley Madu of Zulte Waregem should also have been given a look-in. He has been doing well in the Belgian league lately
[5] Did Rohr make overtures to Felix Uduokhai and Kelvin Akpoguma? I think the fans demand an explanation as to why they were not called up. Did they refuse the invitation or was the German FA unwilling to release them?
[9] Should Victor Osimhen and Taiwo Awoniyi not at least have been on the back-up list?
[10] I dop not think Rohr is taking the "leftback problem" seriously enough. Apart from Kingsley Madu and Brian Idowu, I also think Stanley Amuzie, Deji Beyreuther and Jordan Touranighora should at least have been on the back-up list. If nothing else to view them and make an assessment of their capabilities.
I believe Idowu has passport issues. It has yet to be sorted out... at least that is what they are reporting.

BTW, the back-to-back games makes it tough to invite a rack of new players. In the new year they will get opportunities to invite players for the alleged Serbia game and England game. Wish to see some of the guys you listed especially on defense.

Kayode is doing well... he will force his way onto the team.

I would like to see a friendly schedule that looks something like this:

November 10 - Algeria (Algiers)
November 14 - Argentina (Moscow)
March 20 - England (London)
March 24 - Australia (London)
May 20 - Serbia (London)
May 25 - Wales (Cardiff)
May 31 - New Zealand (London)
June 4 - Ghana (Abuja)
June 8 - Ukraine (Kiev)
June 12 - Costa Rica (St Petersburg)

Based on our group comprising of one of:

(1) Belgium/Argentina/Brazil/France/Poland/Russia
(2) Spain/Italy/Uruguay/Mexico/Switzerland/Croatia
(3) New Zealand/Saudi Arabia/Japan/Iran/South Korea/Panama

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I would like to see a friendly schedule that looks something like this:

May 20 - Serbia (London)
May 25 - Wales (Cardiff)
June 4 - Ghana (Abuja)
June 8 - Ukraine (Kiev)

Afcon qualifier against Seychelles is in March.

Rohr already said in an interview that he wants to play two friendlies in Nigeria, one in Akwa Ibom and one in Abuja before leaving the country for camping before the start of the world cup.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I would like to see a friendly schedule that looks something like this:

May 20 - Serbia (London)
May 25 - Wales (Cardiff)
June 4 - Ghana (Abuja)
June 8 - Ukraine (Kiev)

Afcon qualifier against Seychelles is in March.

Rohr already said in an interview that he wants to play two friendlies in Nigeria, one in Akwa Ibom and one in Abuja before leaving the country for camping before the start of the world cup.
Pinnick is trying to get the Seychelles came moved until after the World Cup. I am not aware of any Uyo game being planned. i only know of Rohr wanting to play one send off match in Abuja.

Personally, I fail to see the need for an Uyo game. One match in Abuja and then after that the team flies out all dressed up, preferably in agbada as they did in 1994. O would like to see them then fly to Ukraine for a match then maybe drive into Russia in a coach all singing and fired up!

Tbh as much as many of us like Musa and wish him well in sorting out his club situation at leicester... Truth is on the principle of merit, Musa shouldn't be called up to the SE, not only is it unfair to other players who are clocking regular playing time and doing well for their respective clubs, it also questions the wisdom of calling up a player who most likely is rusty and not fit. I hope Rohr realizes every one spot on the SE counts, therefore constantly allowing one player to undeservedly take up a spot some other in-form player out there who is willing and ready to prove his quality is rather absurd.

Donestk in the Ukraine is just 169km from Rostov-on-Don, one of the World Cup venues. If for arguments sake Nigeria is based there, we could easily play a game in Ukraine and travel by coach after the match across the border.

Can you imagine the prestige of being given a miiltary escort on both sides of the border? On the other hand, if we are based at Kaliningrad, we can play Poland and drive across the border too. Kaliningrad is just 124km from Gdansk, although to be fair, Poland will have their own plans as they are a World Cup participant too.
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Brian Idowu is right footed
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

ogasir wrote:Brian Idowu is right footed

Na left me I see am use oooo. He is a full blooded leftback. watch him here:

Ayo,

Here are things you need to consider.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] I would have had Brian Idowu in the main squad. He is the only natural left back we have at the moment.TBH, I think that Idowu's call up is exactly what Cell has already stated. He is, perhaps, only available for the Argentina game because it will be in Russia where he is based. In the Russia game, he will train with the team and will probably be used. Being on standby does not mean you are not available to train with the team.

[2] There is absolutely no justification for calling up Ahmed Musa. He will be as match rusty as hellThese games are not competitive and it is likely Musa will be part of the WC squad and thus keeping him active and will the team is imperative. Musa is a tactical option for this team. The fact that Leicester isn't using him should not detract from that option.

[3] I think Rohr should have called up Dele Alampasu instead of Daniel Akpeyi. How many second chances can you give one man?Has it occurred to you that Rohr prefers those two ahead of Alampasu? Alampasu has been called up several times and has not broken into the starting team and that should tell you something already. Akpeyi may not be so hot in our eyes but Rohr and the technical guys have watched both Akpeyi and Alampasu closely in training and have likely made their decisions. If we do not like it does it then mean we should consider tropology theory in the case of Rohr. Perhaps?

[4] I am of the view that Kingsley Madu of Zulte Waregem should also have been given a look-in. He has been doing well in the Belgian league latelySee comment on Alampasu. Quite similar.

[5] Did Rohr make overtures to Felix Uduokhai and Kelvin Akpoguma? I think the fans demand an explanation as to why they were not called up. Did they refuse the invitation or was the German FA unwilling to release them?Perhaps, Rohr is focused on making as few changes as possible as per personnel. His focus is more about chemistry. He has just two international match windows before the World Cup, you know. BTW, see https://www.aclsports.com/6487-2/

[6] Has Rohr looked at Anderson Esiti at all?See #5 above.

[7] Why was Kelechi Nwakali not invited to camp?He may still be called up but honestly I do not think that he brings anything special to the team with the World Cup less than a year away.If he is called up, he will simply be at the end of the bench.

[8] What is the justification for not calling up Olanrewaju Kayode?This is one surprise for me. I am glad you mentioned it because he was one name that was a surprise omission for me. However, I have not watched the team in training and thus there may be a better reason for his exclusion.

[9] Should Victor Osimhen and Taiwo Awoniyi not at least have been on the back-up list?It appears that you are looking for an overhaul of the team. Frankly, we are not and should not be in a rebuilding mode close to the World Cup. This team is virtually set and there is some VALUE in working on the chemistry of the current squad if you hope to go far at the World Cup. If you are looking to simply be at the World Cup on a jamboree then an overhaul will be the strategy.

[10] I dop not think Rohr is taking the "leftback problem" seriously enough. Apart from Kingsley Madu and Brian Idowu, I also think Stanley Amuzie, Deji Beyreuther and Jordan Touranighora should at least have been on the back-up list. If nothing else to view them and make an assessment of their capabilities.Same theme here.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] I would have had Brian Idowu in the main squad. He is the only natural leftback we have at the moment
I though you and Rorh think alike as you have been promoting the last few weeks. Why is he calling players that are different from the ones you swore up and down he will call?

I trust there is a method to what Rorh is doing and he still has chances to call up more before the World Cup.

Enugu II, our current squad is nowhere near good enough. If we want to go to Russia to compete rather than participate, wholesale changes are needed. We have been to too many tournaments with weak squads and we all know the results.

To effective compete in Russia we need:

[1] A playmaker (Nwakali in my view)
[2] Two energetic wingbacks who can bomb forward all game (Maybe Aina and Idowu)
[3] A good targetman who can hold the ball up and who is lethal in front of goal (Not sure who is best out of Ighalo, Awoniyi, Kayode and Osimhen)
[4] Upfront on the flanks, we need someone to complement what Victor Moses is doing on the other side of the pitch (For now, Henry Onyekuru looks like the man)
[5] Defenders who can distribute the ball well (Which is why I want to see Udokhai and Akpoguma in camp)
[6] A dead ball specialist (Again Nwakali fits the bill)
[7] A long range passer of the ball (We love you Mikel Obi)
[8] A good goalkeeper (Uzoho you are a God-sent)
[9] One or two good headers of the ball (I know of Balogun who is tops in the air)
[10] Once we have all this, then we can talk of chemistry. If you chemicalise junk raw materials, you will get a junk end product. No matter how well drilled and coached a team made up of Gotti, Waffiman, Sir V, Enugu II, Ohenhen, Cellular, Tobi17, Cito, Ogasir, Pa Jimoh, etc is, with Oloye as their skipper, it will never win anything in a thousand years. We only have the March window to look at new players, so I am concerned that Rohr is wasting this opportunity. What is it that Rohr wants to see in Ahmed Musa that he has not already seen?

I knew it was coming, Ayo's tactics push his agenda say the coach is on board and he knows he's going to pick so so and so, if that happens he looks like a genius, if it doesn't he starts attacking the coach, will start saying he's compromised etc etc...this guy sef lol

maceo4 wrote:I knew it was coming, Ayo's tactics push his agenda say the coach is on board and he knows he's going to pick so so and so, if that happens he looks like a genius, if it doesn't he starts attacking the coach, will start saying he's compromised etc etc...this guy sef lol
I think Ayo forgets that some of us have been reading his pre-tournament rants on CE for decades and it has never ever come close to reality. I remember when he was pushing Ejiofor as the answer in central defense, the rest is history as they say. Best way to respond is to just treat his posts as entertainment.

Ayo,

To make the type of change you are advocating is to go into the World Cup hopeless. No team going into the World Cup will EVER contemplate or let alone make the type of changes you are advocating.
It is simply impossible and illogical at this time. Rohr, certainly, will not dare to make those types of changes at this time. The most important thing for the team is a few changes and then focusing on making the TEAM stronger both on the field and off the field.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enugu II, our current squad is nowhere near good enough. If we want to go to Russia to compete rather than participate, wholesale changes are needed. We have been to too many tournaments with weak squads and we all know the results.

To effective compete in Russia we need:

[1] A playmaker (Nwakali in my view)
[2] Two energetic wingbacks who can bomb forward all game (Maybe Aina and Idowu)
[3] A good targetman who can hold the ball up and who is lethal in front of goal (Not sure who is best out of Ighalo, Awoniyi, Kayode and Osimhen)
[4] Upfront on the flanks, we need someone to complement what Victor Moses is doing on the other side of the pitch (For now, Henry Onyekuru looks like the man)
[5] Defenders who can distribute the ball well (Which is why I want to see Udokhai and Akpoguma in camp)
[6] A dead ball specialist (Again Nwakali fits the bill)
[7] A long range passer of the ball (We love you Mikel Obi)
[8] A good goalkeeper (Uzoho you are a God-sent)
[9] One or two good headers of the ball (I know of Balogun who is tops in the air)
[10] Once we have all this, then we can talk of chemistry. If you chemicalise junk raw materials, you will get a junk end product. No matter how well drilled and coached a team made up of Gotti, Waffiman, Sir V, Enugu II, Ohenhen, Cellular, Tobi17, Cito, Ogasir, Pa Jimoh, etc is, with Oloye as their skipper, it will never win anything in a thousand years. We only have the March window to look at new players, so I am concerned that Rohr is wasting this opportunity. What is it that Rohr wants to see in Ahmed Musa that he has not already seen?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics