OFFICIAL LIST OF SE INVITES FROM NFF WEBSITE

Re: OFFICIAL LIST OF SE INVITES FROM NFF WEBSITE

Tbite wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:serious why is Akpeyi still in this team?
Based on current form... Or who else would you replace him with?
A cone!
Ezenwa is better than him on matchday (I don't care what he does for his club), when he plays for Nigeria he is always a mess, always shaking in between the posts, always nervous, can't organize his backline, always screaming.

He hasn't proven to be better than Ezenwa in GWG. So our options are simple, it is either a matter of seeing whether the youngsters Uzoho, Daniel and Alampasu can usurp Ezenwa....and if they don't fine, stick with Ezenwa!

What do we need Akpeyi for exactly? Let him keep shining in South Africa, what does that have to do with us?

Either you have what it takes or you don't. Akepyi is not good enough to wear the green shirt, and if he starts for us in the World Cup, all the hardwork we put into qualifying will be wasted! God forbid bad thing.
Not always. He had a good game against South Africa in a friendly. He had one or two shaky games.
He was shaky against

Luxembourg
Algeria
SouthAfrica

I have seen enough. Wastepipe.
Re: In the main Rohr's 24-man list is OK but....

Enugu II wrote:Ayo,

To make the type of change you are advocating is to go into the World Cup hopeless. No team going into the World Cup will EVER contemplate or let alone make the type of changes you are advocating.
It is simply impossible and illogical at this time. Rohr, certainly, will not dare to make those types of changes at this time. The most important thing for the team is a few changes and then focusing on making the TEAM stronger both on the field and off the field.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enugu II, our current squad is nowhere near good enough. If we want to go to Russia to compete rather than participate, wholesale changes are needed. We have been to too many tournaments with weak squads and we all know the results.

To effective compete in Russia we need:

[1] A playmaker (Nwakali in my view)
[2] Two energetic wingbacks who can bomb forward all game (Maybe Aina and Idowu)
[3] A good targetman who can hold the ball up and who is lethal in front of goal (Not sure who is best out of Ighalo, Awoniyi, Kayode and Osimhen)
[4] Upfront on the flanks, we need someone to complement what Victor Moses is doing on the other side of the pitch (For now, Henry Onyekuru looks like the man)
[5] Defenders who can distribute the ball well (Which is why I want to see Udokhai and Akpoguma in camp)
[6] A dead ball specialist (Again Nwakali fits the bill)
[7] A long range passer of the ball (We love you Mikel Obi)
[8] A good goalkeeper (Uzoho you are a God-sent)
[9] One or two good headers of the ball (I know of Balogun who is tops in the air)
[10] Once we have all this, then we can talk of chemistry. If you chemicalise junk raw materials, you will get a junk end product. No matter how well drilled and coached a team made up of Gotti, Waffiman, Sir V, Enugu II, Ohenhen, Cellular, Tobi17, Cito, Ogasir, Pa Jimoh, etc is, with Oloye as their skipper, it will never win anything in a thousand years. We only have the March window to look at new players, so I am concerned that Rohr is wasting this opportunity. What is it that Rohr wants to see in Ahmed Musa that he has not already seen?
We have eight months to go Enugu II. I take it you are aware of the fact that Marco Van Basten did this with the Netherlands in 2006.

On 29 July 2004,Van Basten was named the new manager of the Netherlands national team. As a manager, he soon established himself as a man of strong principles.

Van Basten famously dropped regulars like Clarence Seedorf, Patrick Kluivert, Edgar Davids and Roy Makaay and benched Mark van Bommel, because he believed that they were either past their prime or constantly underachieving. For probably the first time in decades, none of the "Big Three" clubs (Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord) provided the backbone for the national team. Instead, newcomer AZ led the way with players such as Denny Landzaat, Barry Opdam, Barry van Galen, Ron Vlaar, Jan Kromkamp and Joris Mathijsen

Also this SE is far ahead of any previous SE going into a WC in terms of consistency, chemistry, team building, tangiable bench options.

There is no need to be as rigid and tight as Rohr is being. That is the hallmark of somebody who is not truly ambitious. Rather a pragmatist who has lower expectations.

Akpeyi's continued presence in that team is a real mystery. I do not think Nigeria should field a second string. At most 3 new players (Aina, Onyekuru, Ebuehi). If we get thumped 0-4, the fans will go berserk, pressure will build on the coach and squad, and the NFF will do something brainless like firing the coach just before the World Cup.
dhoney
Re: In the main Rohr's 24-man list is OK but....

Post by dhoney »

Enugu II wrote:Ayo,

To make the type of change you are advocating is to go into the World Cup hopeless. No team going into the World Cup will EVER contemplate or let alone make the type of changes you are advocating.
It is simply impossible and illogical at this time. Rohr, certainly, will not dare to make those types of changes at this time. The most important thing for the team is a few changes and then focusing on making the TEAM stronger both on the field and off the field.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enugu II, our current squad is nowhere near good enough. If we want to go to Russia to compete rather than participate, wholesale changes are needed. We have been to too many tournaments with weak squads and we all know the results.

To effective compete in Russia we need:

[1] A playmaker (Nwakali in my view)
[2] Two energetic wingbacks who can bomb forward all game (Maybe Aina and Idowu)
[3] A good targetman who can hold the ball up and who is lethal in front of goal (Not sure who is best out of Ighalo, Awoniyi, Kayode and Osimhen)
[4] Upfront on the flanks, we need someone to complement what Victor Moses is doing on the other side of the pitch (For now, Henry Onyekuru looks like the man)
[5] Defenders who can distribute the ball well (Which is why I want to see Udokhai and Akpoguma in camp)
[6] A dead ball specialist (Again Nwakali fits the bill)
[7] A long range passer of the ball (We love you Mikel Obi)
[8] A good goalkeeper (Uzoho you are a God-sent)
[9] One or two good headers of the ball (I know of Balogun who is tops in the air)
[10] Once we have all this, then we can talk of chemistry. If you chemicalise junk raw materials, you will get a junk end product. No matter how well drilled and coached a team made up of Gotti, Waffiman, Sir V, Enugu II, Ohenhen, Cellular, Tobi17, Cito, Ogasir, Pa Jimoh, etc is, with Oloye as their skipper, it will never win anything in a thousand years. We only have the March window to look at new players, so I am concerned that Rohr is wasting this opportunity. What is it that Rohr wants to see in Ahmed Musa that he has not already seen?
@EII, I actually wanted to respond to Ayo but I just saw your post. Explaining stuffs like this to Ayo is like talking to a wall. Trust me, he will still open another thread about this.
Thank God once again , he is not the Coach
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
dhoney

Post by dhoney »

[quote="wiseone"]Akpeyi's continued presence in that team is a real mystery. I do not think Nigeria should field a second string. At most 3 new players (Aina, Onyekuru, Ebuehi). If we get thumped 0-4, the fans will go berserk, pressure will build on the coach and squad, and the NFF will do something brainless like firing the coach just before the World Cup.[/quote

@wiseone I wish you could borrow VE and Ayo 1% of your wisdom... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

When you come to see the way people want things done on CE, you would understand why Nigeria has not made any significant headway since independence..smh
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".

vancity eagle wrote:Also this SE is far ahead of any previous SE going into a WC in terms of consistency, chemistry, team building, tangiable bench options.

There is no need to be as rigid and tight as Rohr is being. That is the hallmark of somebody who is not truly ambitious. Rather a pragmatist who has lower expectations.
Shouldn't the fact that we are 'ahead' (whatever that means) give you confidence that this particular coach knows what he's doing?

vancity eagle wrote:Also this SE is far ahead of any previous SE going into a WC in terms of consistency, chemistry, team building, tangiable bench options.

Shouldn't the fact that we are 'ahead' (whatever that means) give you confidence that this particular coach knows what he's doing?

I am confident he knows what he is doing more than Keshi, SSS, or Oliseh, but frankly that is a poor standard to begin with.

Anyways I kind of hope we get exposed in these matches so it becomes clear that some players simply are not good enough.

It is good that we don not have Moses to bail out the attack.

Hopefully the likes of

Akpeyi, Musa, Nwakaeme, Ogu play themselves out of the team.

I am confident he knows what he is doing more than Keshi, SSS, or Oliseh, but frankly that is a poor standard to begin with.

Anyways I kind of hope we get exposed in these matches so it becomes clear that some players simply are not good enough.

Hopefully the likes of

Same Musa that scored two against them? :taunt:

I hope you realize that its not Musa, but actually Onyekuru that will NEED this chance to stake his claim on the team. Especially as you say, with Moses not there to 'bail out the attack', Rohr already knows what Musa brings and was comfortable having him as sub, its Onyekuru that he was unwilling to gamble on in the qualifiers, this is probably going to be his only chance to play himself on the team. If he doesn't show something he probably won't get a third look in.

Hopefully the likes of

I hope you realize that its not Musa, but actually Onyekuru that will NEED this chance to stake his claim on the team. Especially as you say, with Moses not there to 'bail out the attack', Rohr already knows what Musa brings and was comfortable having him as sub, its Onyekuru that he was unwilling to gamble on in the qualifiers, this is probably going to be his only chance to play himself on the team. If he doesn't show something he probably won't get a third look in.
'

Against who? Is this the same Argentina? or is this 2014? Please stop behaving like yourself!

Hopefully the likes of

'

Against who? Is this the same Argentina? or is this 2014? Please stop behaving like yourself!
I know you have some hatred for Musa, but I'm sure even you saw the tongue wagging there to know I was just teasing...gosh you are thick at times!

vancity eagle wrote:Anyways I kind of hope we get exposed in these matches so it becomes clear that some players simply are not good enough.
So you will be rooting for Algeria and Argentina like you were rooting for Ivory Coast at ANC 2013. :D

Mr Shows wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:serious why is Akpeyi still in this team?
Based on current form... Or who else would you replace him with?
A cone!
:P

vancity eagle wrote:Anyways I kind of hope we get exposed in these matches so it becomes clear that some players simply are not good enough.
So you will be rooting for Algeria and Argentina like you were rooting for Ivory Coast at ANC 2013. :D
He failed as usual :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: