The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

azuka
Re: The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

Post by azuka »

Skylolo wrote:
tolahs wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:season started end of august.....arsenal out of the title race by the end of oct.......progress
Please tell us the teams that are in the title race this season.

We're probably the most rested of the top 6 - yet we're struggling - huge problem. 8/9 starters on Sunday for ManC also started against Napoli - what are our targets?
We did not start well, the uncertainty around likes of Sanchez, Ozil and Oxlade did not help at the start of the season. We have now recovered from that looking at the league table.

We have played the most difficult fixtures of the top teams this season: Liverpool (Away), Chelsea (Away), Citeh (Away). Yes we can do better but let us not forget the atrocities away refs have committed against us so far this season. Penalties not given at Stoke, Lacazette goal, outright dive at Watford, 2 players offside at Citeh.

Our target is to finish as high up as we can, unfortunately I do not think we can win the league because the team is not strong enough. I personally do not believe 2nd place is beyond this team, especially if something can be added to this team in January. I don't look at Chelsea, Manure, Spurs and Liverpool and think they will be better than us over 38 games.

Yes we are the best rested of the top 6, however we may not Cash in on that advantage until much later in the season. There is a long way to go.... Some good things are happening at Arsenal, look for example how our B team have qualified for the next stage of the Europa league, unearthing some very good young players who can add some depth to the team. Look at the return of Jack Wilshere, Cazorla may return next year....it is not easy for us as it is for Man City and Chelsea, fans should stop complaining and get behind the team.

Well said. And by the way when is the EPL won in November. Man City with this much gap may not win the league at the end of the day. They are currently playing with an intensity that's hard to retain from now till May.

realtrouble wrote:

When Francis Coquelin was announced in the Arsenal starting XI to take on Manchester City this afternoon the presumption was he would be lining up as part of a midfield three with Granit Xhaka and Aaron Ramsey.

Even the lineup Arsenal announced on social media had the Frenchman playing in midfield in front of a back four, which had Laurent Koscielny and Nacho Monreal as the centrebacks.

So there was a sense of disbelief in the press box at the Etihad, as well as on social media, when Coquelin lined up in the centre of a back three, with Koscielny and Monreal either side.

Initially it was unclear whether he had been tasked with a man to man marking job on Sergio Aguero, as within a couple of minutes of the game kicking off he had tracked the Argentine a good 30 yards into his own half.

But as the contest settled down it was clear he was playing as the central point of the back three, a role that we have seen Mohamed Elneny operating in during the Europa League and Carabao Cup this season.

But while Elneny is comfortable with the ball at his feet, something which is usually a key ingredient of someone playing in that role, Coquelin certainly isn’t - as he demonstrated during a poor display against Red Star Belgrade on Thursday night.

Wenger’s thinking behind Coquelin’s inclusion was clearly to give the defence a little bit more pace and mobility and he did show that on more than one occasion, with one piece of fine recovery work robbing Leroy Sane of the ball midway through the half as the German threatened.
But it was obvious throughout the first 45 minutes that Coquelin was far from comfortable in his new position, with the 26-year-old constantly edging forward and losing his shape.

The early charge out of defence to track Aguero was not a one off, there were several occasions when Coquelin set off before having to stop himself in his tracks and quickly get back into position.

http://www.football.london/arsenal-fc/f ... y-13860942
There are only 2 people in the universe who think Walcott and Coq are footballers, Waffi and Wenger.

[/quote][/quote]
There are only 2 people in the universe who think Walcott and Coq are footballers, Waffi and Wenger.[/quote]

realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Skylolo wrote:
tolahs wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:season started end of august.....arsenal out of the title race by the end of oct.......progress

We're probably the most rested of the top 6 - yet we're struggling - huge problem. 8/9 starters on Sunday for ManC also started against Napoli - what are our targets?
We did not start well, the uncertainty around likes of Sanchez, Ozil and Oxlade did not help at the start of the season. We have now recovered from that looking at the league table.
Why did you miss out Arsene Wenger? There was uncertainty over AW signing his contract last year, if the leader is not committed, what do you expect from the followers.
Blukyt

Post by Blukyt »

realtrouble wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
tolahs wrote:
Skylolo wrote:

Why did you miss out Arsene Wenger? There was uncertainty over AW signing his contract last year, if the leader is not committed, what do you expect from the followers.
FOH with all that sense you're making! :rotf:
Blukyt

Post by Blukyt »

azuka wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
tolahs wrote:
Skylolo wrote:

We have played the most difficult fixtures of the top teams this season: Liverpool (Away), Chelsea (Away), Citeh (Away). Yes we can do better but let us not forget the atrocities away refs have committed against us so far this season. Penalties not given at Stoke, Lacazette goal, outright dive at Watford, 2 players offside at Citeh.

Our target is to finish as high up as we can, unfortunately I do not think we can win the league because the team is not strong enough. I personally do not believe 2nd place is beyond this team, especially if something can be added to this team in January. I don't look at Chelsea, Manure, Spurs and Liverpool and think they will be better than us over 38 games.

Yes we are the best rested of the top 6, however we may not Cash in on that advantage until much later in the season. There is a long way to go.... Some good things are happening at Arsenal, look for example how our B team have qualified for the next stage of the Europa league, unearthing some very good young players who can add some depth to the team. Look at the return of Jack Wilshere, Cazorla may return next year....it is not easy for us as it is for Man City and Chelsea, fans should stop complaining and get behind the team.

Well said. And by the way when is the EPL won in November. Man City with this much gap may not win the league at the end of the day. They are currently playing with an intensity that's hard to retain from now till May.
Man City showed that they can change gears against us. They weren't at their best against us and were still able to put us away. Fine they got the offside goal, but let's not forget the amount of times they opened us up at will. Man City and Pep have found the pocket he was looking to get to, and they still have a lot of room for improvement.

Skylolo wrote:
True but the difference is what they do going forward. Man U and Chelsea (both of whom have won multiple titles recently) will make changes so try to win next season. Arsenal will stick with the same and hope for a different outcome.

tolahs wrote:
platinum wrote:I don't necessarily agree with the position argument however he leads the league in chances created, is that not enough? The issue most fans seem to have with Ozil is this perceived lack of effort. England is the wrong place for the German, the league where effort is valued the most.

When you call him 'well paid', you're joking around obviously...his mates at other clubs earn far more. Have you not seen that he and Alexis want to leave and go earn more? :lol:
Siddonlook11 wrote:this is true ..however we as fans expect that when he is played out of position as a "well paid consummate professional " he plays the "out of position excellently" and the issue with most of us is that he has not done that.

Heck Danny was bought as a striker but has only ever played in the wing position and while the guy cant score to save his life no one ..i repeat no one will ever complain about his effort !!

Oh by the way Walcott is not in the same boat o ..that one na proper Akpa !!

Here's a quote from that article above:
In games against the traditional top six away from home, Arsene Wenger has increasingly set up in a defensive manner, demanding that his players relinquish possession, sit deep, and protect their shape and structure without the ball. That is not Ozil’s strength. So his going missing in these sort of games is not necessarily his fault; the style that he plays with, what he offers the team, the type of player that he is, does not suit that the strategy that Wenger tends to employ.
I guess you turn a blind eye to that quote. And honestly i am tired of this Ozil KDB argument. Here we have 2 players playing in different position in teams differently setup. While KDB plays in his natural position and Ozil is sent out right, people close their eyes to that basic fact. Above all, KDB plays within a platform provided by Fernadinho where as Ozil isn't afforded that luxury.

Guys chill, Russia is around the corner and let's pray Belgium meets Germany along the way. That will be a better match to analyze the two players. Let's see how KDB compares to Ozil then since both will be played in their natural positions and given the same platform to perform too.
I watched ManC away to Napoli - KDB was subbed late & was tired - on sunday he logged more km than most of our team - it's a serious problem - The way he went for the 1st goal was putting a marker on the pitch - not Ozil or any of our guys played like they wanted it enough. I've seen Ozil play with hustle & hunger for Germany.[/quote]

I agree with you.

^He knows he has a chance at major honours with Die Mannshcaft. The best he'll get with Beloved is an FA Cup fast losing its allure. Why bother? It won't be FA Cups he'll tell his goggle-eyed grandchildren about.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Interesting Match Analysis

Siddonlook11 wrote:
[/quote]
There are only 2 people in the universe who think Walcott and Coq are footballers, Waffi and Wenger.[/quote]

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:[/quote]

Walcott has scored over 100 goals for the club. I admit he has been underwhelming since the formation change.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

realtrouble wrote:Interesting Match Analysis

I know they are both forwards, but both Shearer and Wright are smoking hashish! How can that be a penalty. Yes Man city played better and deserved to win, but they ONLY won thanks to 2 ojoro goals.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

THANK God Lacazette and his agent didn’t take the bait from theee bosses and crooked journalists who have done everything to make him say something negative about being left on the bench against City.

These people are so twisted sha .... is this all because Wenger is French? Smh

ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

anikulapo wrote:THANK God Lacazette and his agent didn’t take the bait from theee bosses and crooked journalists who have done everything to make him say something negative about being left on the bench against City.

Bro you are just getting it. They have something bad against that man to them he is too principle to deal with. He has to be bent like crooked Redknapp or twisted Alardunce.

anikulapo wrote:THANK God Lacazette and his agent didn’t take the bait from theee bosses and crooked journalists who have done everything to make him say something negative about being left on the bench against City.

It has nothing to do with been French,Wenger brought all this to himself,you have defend this man here for how long before you give up?
You start insult him because what he does cant be explain,what kind of reason can Wenger tell beloved faithful why he bench his most price asset on the bench and play likes of Ozil and worst play them in wrong position?What was the used of Ozil in the game?He help set the guy up for failure,it was best to bench Ozil as Wenger tactics has no reason to even carry Ozil to the city game.What used was Xhaka when Jack was on the bench?What was COQ even doing in that team and worst start in CD when the player he name captain of Arsenal football club is fit and he dropped him.I mean why change the team in a bad way?
I don't know why guys like Henry can not call him and beg him to listen.I am not even gonna bother against Spurs as I don't know if Wenger has ever beat Spurs in league under their new manager.Just hope for a victory as a defeat will just bring more pains and put us way back from top 4 finish.

realtrouble wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
tolahs wrote:
Skylolo wrote:

So you think he does not know why?Wenger is like God to some people here.They will blame everyone but not the man.Some are even saying the day he leave Arsenal we will regret and cry and no other manager is as good as him to lead the line.So you have to understand their point as they are more Wenger fan than beloved.Did not Ozil at one point said he will only sign if Wenger stays?How come the team is never ready as season start yet clubs with new manager end up more prepared for the season than Wenger?
We have a well rested team compare to the likes of Chelsea,Spurs,the two Manchester clubs but we are way behind them not only in the league but even physically.
Some one was saying if we had sign Kante we would have won the league forget that we paid more for Xhaka than Chelsea paid Leicester for Kante,How come Walcott is on same salary as Kante of Chelsea?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... nners.html

Is Steve Rowley about to join d#$% Law out the door

Arsenal stars past and present came together on Wednesday to celebrate the most glorious night in the club's history.

It was one of the most dramatic moments in English football history when Michael Thomas scored the last minute goal that saw the Gunners snatch the Division One title out of Liverpool's hands - at Anfield.

That May evening 28 years ago has now been immortalised in film, and club legends were present at the world premiere of 89 in north London

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... z4xt3IebqY
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Arsenal star Mesut Ozil could sign new deal at the Emirates 'if Arsene Wenger gives him Jack Wilshere's No 10 shirt'
Arsenal playmaker Mesut Ozil currently wears the No 11 jersey
The Germany international wants to take Jack Wilshere's No 10 squad number
Ozil wore 10 at Real Madird and currently dons the number for Germany
The 29-year-old's contract is up next summer and has many potential suitors

By Glen Williams For Mailonline

Published: 05:05 EST, 8 November 2017 | Updated: 06:12 EST, 8 November 2017

shares

View
comments

Mesut Ozil could pen a new deal at Arsenal if Arsene Wenger allows him to step into the No 10 jersey which is currently filled by Jack Wilshere.

The German, who currently wears the No 11 shirt, is out of contract next summer and is seeking a £300,000-a-week deal to stay at the Emirates Stadium.

And, according to The Sun, Ozil would be prepared to put pen to paper if Wilshere relinquishes his squad number in order to boost his brand.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... z4xt43ZuUc

Arsenal's Laurent Koscielny swaps SHORTS with Manchester City star David Silva after clash at the Etihad
Manchester City defeated Arsenal 3-1 at home on Sunday in the Premier League
After the game at the Etihad, Laurent Koscielny and David Silva swapped shorts
Sunday's result has left City eight points clear at the top of the English top flight

By Jonathan Spencer For Mailonline

Published: 15:33 EST, 7 November 2017 | Updated: 05:57 EST, 8 November 2017

shares

View
comments

Laurent Koscielny and David Silva opted to grab a unique memento off each other after Manchester City beat Arsenal on Sunday.

Following City's 3-1 victory in the Premier League, the Arsenal defender and the City midfielder decided to swap shorts with each other. Yes you heard that correct. Shorts not shirts.

The Premier League duo were left to hand over their shorts after they had already given away their shirts on the weekend.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... z4xt4yfVAG

Uncle Aniks abeg ask your uncle Wenger to extend this boy contract biko.
I think he is the only one still bleeding beloved blood.

Wenger biko beg Sanchez to stay.Hoping this is how we are going to celebrate Europa by God grace.

Last edited by kajifu on Thu Nov 09, 2017 2:25 am, edited 1 time in total.