We cannot keep hyping players after a game

We need to learn how to under hype players after any decent match. There should be consistent good performances by players before we deem them as the great one. Sometimes, our players perform great at one game then horrible at the next game. The hyping must be reduced. Consistency is key! Look at how balogun our best dm at wcq was reduced to nonsense
Re: We cannot keep hyping players after a game

john12 wrote:We need to learn how to under hype players after any decent match. There should be consistent good performances by players before we deem them as the great one. Sometimes, our players perform great at one game then horrible at the next game. The hyping must be reduced. Consistency is key! Look at how balogun our best dm at wcq was reduced to nonsense
Akpeyi has been consistently rubbish...

john12 wrote:We need to learn how to under hype players after any decent match. There should be consistent good performances by players before we deem them as the great one. Sometimes, our players perform great at one game then horrible at the next game. The hyping must be reduced. Consistency is key! Look at how balogun our best dm at wcq was reduced to nonsense
What about mascharano and otamendi that iwobi and kele reduced to junk players? You uninformed folks just type without using your brain, please try to make sense abeg. Balogun played his part and did extremely well. No footballer is above error

Akpeyi has been rubish. I don’t think anyone doubts that. Balogun performance has been poor and this is is because his very uncomfortable with the ball, no pace etc. defenders get dribbled all the time

9jaMan wrote:
What about mascharano and otamendi that iwobi and kele reduced to junk players? You uninformed folks just type without using your brain, please try to make sense abeg. Balogun played his part and did extremely well. No footballer is above error
Stop hyping :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

john12,

Welcome to CE. Hyping after just a game is what you see here. Go back and look at hyping of Ezenwa after the first Cameroon game. So what is the verdict on him now? Fact is that having watched him over multiple games it is easier to see who he is. My advice? Ignore these one game hypes. We will find out more when they play multiple games.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

john12,

Welcome to CE. Hyping after just a game is what you see here. Go back and look at hyping of Ezenwa after the first Cameroon game. So what is the verdict on him now? Fact is that having watched him over multiple games it is easier to see who he is. My advice? Ignore these one game hypes. We will find out more when they play multiple games.
Prof., we didn't hype Ezenwa o. We said he was better dan Akpeyi. Infact, I said that a cone was better dan Akpeyi.

We hype the guys who played well and we criticize the ones who don't.

john12,

Prof., we didn't hype Ezenwa o. We said he was better dan Akpeyi. Infact, I said that a cone was better dan Akpeyi.

KPOM. It was all relative!

john12,

KPOM. It was all relative!
Kpom! Exactly. Relativity. It's like when Cellular shrined Ameobi ten times a day but Okocha never. It doesn't mean Ameobi is better than Okocha only that hyping is relative to those who need it.

John12, you may be on to something here

Its one thing to commend a player, but its another to hype him today and dump him tomorrow,

I always look at players in the context of their contribution to the team on a consistent basis

By all indcations the second keeper did well but lets test him a few times to see his consistency

I think this behavior has a lot to do with why we have not had a player since Yekini with over 30 goals for the national team

I agree, but we should also not overreact after one game if a player plays bad in one game. I remember CE asking for Iwobi to be dropped after the friendly performance in London.

You dey mind the mugu