Ighalo on Success

Re: Ighalo on Success

vancity eagle wrote:Success has something which we lack

A powerful strong forward with pace and technique.

Rohr likes big strong strikers and as of now, only Ighalo fits the bill.

He has tried with the likes of Samuel
, Nwakaeme, but they are clearly not good enough, and the only reason they got a look in in the first place is precicely because Rohr likes these type of physical players.
Has Rohr actually tried Aaron Samuel?
Yes. He's been tried out in training and Nwakaeme is preferred over him which says a lot. He's a talent, No doubt, but his development has not gone according to plan. He's in awful form right now. Should never have moved to China in my opinion. Hopefully he can improve but he hasn't impressed at CSKA Moscow.

Forget success, he is no more than an oxymoron. Rather than establish a career at the Vicarage, he's eating devil's pie at The Grove. Marco Silva is an astute manager from whom he could learn a lot, instead he's playing spin the bottle with prostitutes. He doesn't deserve to be mentioned in the same sentence as the Super Eagles.

Coach wrote:Forget success, he is no more than an oxymoron. Rather than establish a career at the Vicarage, he's eating devil's pie at The Grove. Marco Silva is an astute manager from whom he could learn a lot, instead he's playing spin the bottle with prostitutes. He doesn't deserve to be mentioned in the same sentence as the Super Eagles.
Reading some of the posts on this thread one would think some of you have made perfect decisions and choices all your lives.

^Not at all, but to consider someone more interested in tip drilling with escort girls than plying his trade, in contention for the national side, is quite ridiculous. There are scores of players working their socks off week in, week out, Success should be considered on what grounds?

Coach wrote:Forget success, he is no more than an oxymoron. Rather than establish a career at the Vicarage, he's eating devil's pie at The Grove. Marco Silva is an astute manager from whom he could learn a lot, instead he's playing spin the bottle with prostitutes. He doesn't deserve to be mentioned in the same sentence as the Super Eagles.
Reading some of the posts on this thread one would think some of you have made perfect decisions and choices all your lives.
We have all made wrong career choices and have often paid for them. If Success wanted a career where his choices are not scrutinized daily then professional football is not for him. He could have, for instance, chosen to become a Houston cab driver.

aruako1 wrote:
We have all made wrong career choices and have often paid for them. If Success wanted a career where his choices are not scrutinized daily then professional football is not for him. He could have, for instance, chosen to become a Houston cab driver.
Ouch :rotf:

It's a pity you arrive at that conclusion. The keys to success - determination, discipline and self control. The first has gotten him a career. How he forced his way into Manu's team is a testament. He needs the other two to be a success as well. He can be mentored, advised, tutored but bottom line is he'll have to apply himself to his profession.

And how did you come to the conclussion that he lacks discipline and control? Because he tried to hire a prostitute? Newsflash, most Nigerian men do the same thing, espepecially in Nigeria. You may deceive yourself and call it "transport" , but it's same shait.

No one has excused Success' poor judgement, but you all need to spare us the sanctimonious bullcrap. I bet you made some poor judgements at 21 years old also. Heck at 21 many of you were still loafing off your parents but here you are passing uninformed judgement on one that is not only taking care of himself but perhaps a shitload of dependents. The point is don't be too judgemental because at 21 you probaly demonstrated zero of the 3 qualities you listed above.
Last edited by 1naija on Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aruako1 wrote:
The worst judgement of them all is going through life not comprending what one reads. How can a 60 something year old man read through the posts on this thread and come to the conclussion that anyone is saying Isaac Success' choices should not be scrutinized? And the same person is berating a 21 yeat old for poor judgement?

aruako1 wrote:
The worst judgement of them all is going through life not comprending what one reads. How can a 60 something year old man read through the posts on this thread and come to the conclussion that anyone is saying Isaac Success' choices should not be scrutinized? And the same person is berating a 21 yeat old for poor judgement?
Was it a long shift last night? Sorry oh! Your post clearly suggests that we should hold back on our scrutiny because we have made mistakes. What else could you have meant?

I'll only judge Success on his football, not on his private life.

Coach wrote:^Not at all, but to consider someone more interested in tip drilling with escort girls than plying his trade, in contention for the national side, is quite ridiculous. There are scores of players working their socks off week in, week out, Success should be considered on what grounds?

All sentiments aside, that is the koko of the matter.... Great 'potential' but has no business in the SE 'right now'...
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

The boy NEEDS serious prayers and help. What Ighalo is diplomatically
referring to as 'lifestyle' is a dangerous addiction that will take him on
a downward spiral if it is not addressed successfully.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

aruako1 wrote:
Was it a long shift last night? Sorry oh! Your post clearly suggests that we should hold back on our scrutiny because we have made mistakes. What else could you have meant?
Saying a 21 year old needs guidance and mentoring is NOT the same as saying his choices should not be scrutinized. Seems you made poor judgment of not paying attention in English comprehension class when you were 21 and now it's showing at 62. Seems you too need mentoring.

aruako1 wrote:
Saying a 21 year old needs guidance and mentoring is NOT the same as saying his choices should not be scrutinized. Seems you made poor judgment of not paying attention in English comprehension class when you were 21 and now it's showing at 62. Seems you too need mentoring.
In case you have been too high on JW to see the post I responded to. "Reading some of the posts on this thread one would think some of you have made perfect decisions and choices all your lives." My response was to that statement. If you agree that he should not escape scrutiny then why the fuss. Did I say he should not be mentored. Abeg slow down with the apkuru achia.

aruako1 wrote:
In case you have been too high on JW to see the post I responded to. "Reading some of the posts on this thread one would think some of you have made perfect decisions and choices all your lives." My response was to that statement. If you agree that he should not escape scrutiny then why the fuss. Did I say he should not be mentored. Abeg slow down with the apkuru achia.

That's why you should not jump into discussions without understanding the premise of the discussion. Go back and read from page one so you can understand better.

DIMKA76 wrote:I'll only judge Success on his football, not on his private life.

Unfortunately his private life has a huge impact on his football. Read between the lines of what Ighalo said:
Football is beyond playing on the pitch alone” Ighalo said on LagosTalks913

“There is a lifestyle you live and things you do that go together with football

^His private life will become his public personna and the rate limiting step as far as his playing time be concerned. What Success has failed to grasp, is the concept of collective identity. Yes, he is a young 21 year old and thus at the mercy of the foolishness that befalls men at such precarious checkpoints. Unfortunately, where most 21 year olds represent ko more than themselves, Success is a purchase of and thus product of the establishment to which he is bound. There is, in the eyes of the establishment, no Isaac Success the 21 year old, "let him make his mistakes", rather Isaac Success xyz millions, xyz thousands per week, of Watford FC, sponsored by..., endorsed by..., whose major shareholders include... T'is the price paid for the fortune he's afforded. If he wants to spend his time soliciting prostitutes, he brings the institution he represents into disrepute. Granted many have done likewise, it would be foolish to dismiss the marsupaulian bounce of the court. Success is a black man signed for milions, paid a fortune, they want him to do what he's doing. And sadly, he's doing just that.

This is what the Manager Silva said about the incident and Isaac's future.

He is currently out with a knee injury, but Silva said: “What we are talking about is one situation in September....

“The player has not played one minute in the Premier League but I’m really happy with his improvement....

Young players in a different culture need to be shown the right way.
“Everyone at the club knows the rules. They know their obligations.
Everything we will do, and the details we will keep inside the club.”

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football ... rco-silva/
Yet, self righteous ITKs on this board make it sound like the boy is out romping with prostitutes everyday. The team know he made a mistake and have plans to address it as they should.

From the pictures, Isaac's problem was not hanging with prostitutes, but dealing with seasoned professional hardcore scammers like those in the pictures. I think they went to rip the boy off knowing he was naïve.

1naija wrote:This is what the Manager Silva said about the incident and Isaac's future.

He is currently out with a knee injury, but Silva said: “What we are talking about is one situation in September....

“The player has not played one minute in the Premier League but I’m really happy with his improvement....

Yet, self righteous ITKs on this board make it sound like the boy is out romping with prostitutes everyday. The team know he made a mistake and have plans to address it as they should.

From the pictures, Isaac's problem was not hanging with prostitutes, but dealing with seasoned professional hardcore scammers like those in the pictures. I think they went to rip the boy off knowing he was naïve.
1 naija give it a rest. You're talking like an air head now. What his manager says is probably what he knows. Do you know what it takes to gather the courage to go rent a room? And not only that, to then incite 2 young ladies and then proceed to fight them for your money back? Then you come here and try to tell us this is the first time Success is up to this? You're either under 2 or stupid. Most newbies would want to get the experience over quickly with minimum fuss. Sometime mes you think we are talking because we haven't seen and partaken in the world. All I can say is thank you Jesus :tic:

1naija wrote:This is what the Manager Silva said about the incident and Isaac's future.

Wow, young players in a different culture? Wow. So it is a cultural problem. :blink: :blink: :blink:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

That's why you should not jump into discussions without understanding the premise of the discussion. Go back and read from page one so you can understand better.
I read from page 1 and responded to your specific post. You have not disputed anything I said. I said that he should be open to scrutiny and apparently you agree. I can assure you that the reference to a Houston cab driver is purely coincidental. :D

1 naija give it a rest. You're talking like an air head now. What his manager says is probably what he knows. Do you know what it takes to gather the courage to go rent a room? And not only that, to then incite 2 young ladies and then proceed to fight them for your money back? Then you come here and try to tell us this is the first time Success is up to this? You're either under 2 or stupid. Most newbies would want to get the experience over quickly with minimum fuss. Sometime mes you think we are talking because we haven't seen and partaken in the world. All I can say is thank you Jesus :tic:
How many times does it take? Because you seem to have loads of experience on the subject. Kindly post the articles from the other times he has been caught with a prostitute since you know it's more than once. Also post the other disciplinary and lack of control issues that Isaac has had in his career.